We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend to my friends”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
A Western Rose Motel
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I liked the old school motel feeling; one story, park in front off your door, a real key. As others have said, the room was basic but very clean. Exactly what I'm looking for in a low cost motel.
The owners seem nice and take an actual interest in their guests. I arrived later than expected, without being able to call. I found the key waiting, and the heat and a light on, with a note.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank grottologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda O, Manager at A Western Rose Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Yes, A REAL KEY!! Guests arriving after office hours (if after 10PM, please call me 307-587-4258) will find the key waiting for them in the door with a light on and heat/AC if needed. If I have your cell, I'll give you a call to see where you are, but most web site do not provide me that info.
YOUR ROOM IS ALWAYS GUARENTEED here, regardless of when you arrive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (397)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 397 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2013

This clean and basic place to stay is what you want when searching in this price range. The room was simple but spotless and the linens were fresh. I chose this place because I was just "dashing through" town and wanted convenience and a low price. It turned out to be more than that. The owner/proprietor obviously has a personal stake in the business and it shows. She was very helpful with food locations etc and even offered to store my luggage between my checkout and my actual departure from Cody. I like that it is right on the main street of shops and restaurants but down at the end so it is remarkably quiet. All the food/drink/shopping is an easy walk. If you are in need of inexpensive and convenient, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: This is a small "old style" motel so you will be parking in front of your door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rocky14er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda O, Manager at A Western Rose Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Thank you for your compliment. You never realize how convienent it is to park outside your door until you're at another property, forget something and have to travel down the hall, a few flights of stairs, across the parking lot only to forget what you went there for by the time you get there!!

Everything you need is right here. Another guest liked our "sense of community". Guests sitting outside their doors or inside with the doors open, chatting away. You are our friend as soon as you arrive and even after you leave!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay here! The owners are great, the room was clean and comfortable, loved the mattress and we were able to walk to almost everything we wanted to see or do and to most restaurants. Wish we had stayed there longer!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane4Pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda O, Manager at A Western Rose Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

We always say, "you'll wish you had stayed another night!" It's not a slogan, it's the truth. Guests are surprised how much there is to do here besides going to Yellowstone. Besides the Buffalo Bill Historical Center and Rodeo, there's also Old Trail Town, Buffalo Bill Damn, Heart Mountain, Wild Mustangs, River Rides, oh my!!

Thank you for your compliment it means so much to all of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I just returned from a trip to Yellowstone and stayed 2 nights here. The bed was comfy, the room was exceptionally clean and smelled nice. This is an older establishment, but don't let that put you off; it's well maintained by the owners, Brenda and Mark. They are both very pleasant people and very helpful with dining suggestions in Cody. This was a quick trip for me so I wanted to hit all the highlights in Yellowstone. Brenda helped me figure out the best route in order to see everything on my list. The hotel isn't in the heart of downtown Cody, but so close that you can walk to most of the restaurants in town.
I'm a single female that was traveling alone; I always felt safe in my hotel room and while walking to dinner at the Irma (around 8:30pm). (BTW - the Irma Hotel is a must see. Ask Brenda, she'll tell you all about it!!)
I marked Swimming Pool and Fitness Center really low because they have neither of these onsite. This is a great place to crash during your stay in Cody or a trip to Yellowstone. If you're more into hanging out at the pool and running on a treadmill instead of going out to see the sites, this place is not for you!!
One travel tip: if you're a light sleeper, bring earplugs. I never travel without them whether it's loud neighbors or a travel companion that snores!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelChick417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolishous, Manager at A Western Rose Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Thank you Travel Chick! Your compliment made our day! With so little time in Cody, we want to point you in the right direction. Atttractions like Old Trail Town, the gunfight (every night except Sundays outside of Buffalo Bills hotel) and the Rodeo and the beautiful scenic roads taking you to Yellowstone are just some of our "insider tips". Call with us directly, we're booking up fast. If we're full, we'll send you over to our friends and fellow business owners.
Someday, I'm going to make it out to TX!! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed here on May 17 th, 2013 enroute to Yellowstone. After a 12 hour drive, all you really wan't is a clean room and a comfortable bed which we found waiting for us when we checked in. Brenda and her husband (Owners) are friendly and helpful. They suggested sights to see and places to dine. Definitely the place to stay the next time we head west.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rand S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolishous, General Manager at A Western Rose Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thank you, GOF, for your compliment, you made our day!
Considering your name, it means even more!
With only a certain amount of time in town, we'll lead you in the right direction.
Have a great summer and hopefully we'll see you again someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

My son and I stayed here for 11 nights last fall, near the end of the season. We were given fantastic rates and excellent service. We were treated as not just customers, but more like guests in their home. The owners are bringing new life to this motel in the way they care about it and about their guests. We will stay here again, should the opportunity arise.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank murrellmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolishous, Manager at A Western Rose Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Thank you for your compliment and for staying with us!
Our goal is to provide our guests with safe, clean, comfortable, quiet and affordable rooms, close to downtown.
Hopefully the Cobra Mustang took you safely home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I stayed here for two nights, good room, friendly owners, extremely helpful with local attractions, close enough to main street to walk to the historic Irma Hotel, would definitely recommend, and would stay here again

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank devilman17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolishous, Manager at A Western Rose Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Thank you for your compliment and for staying with us, it means so much to me and my coworkers.

Located just a few miles from the Cody Airport, we'll even pick/drop you off!

The property is on the quiet end of Sheridan Ave (which is the main street in town).
You can walk to all the best shops and restaurants from here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cody hotels
1.1 mi away
Best Western Sunset Inn
2.7 mi away
The Cody Hotel
The Cody Hotel
#4 of 29 in Cody
1,070 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buffalo Bill Cabin Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cody at Buffalo Bill Village
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Buffalo Bill Village Resort
1.3 mi away
A Wyoming Inn
A Wyoming Inn
#23 of 29 in Cody
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Western Rose Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Western Rose Motel

Address: 1807 Sheridan Ave, Cody, WY 82414-3886
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cody
#11 Family Hotel in Cody
Price Range: $104 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — A Western Rose Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Western Rose Motel, an upscale economy 1 level property, LOCATED DOWNTOWN is a 100%, NO PET and NON smoking motel offering FREE WIFI, coffee makers, Flat Screen TV's, mini fridges and guest laundry. Although no food is served on the property our DOWNTOWN location on the quiet end Sheridan Avenue is within walking distance to the most popular shops, restaurants, live music, trolley tour and just 10 blocks from the Buffalo Bill Historical Center. Our goal is to provide clean, comfortable, quiet rooms close to the best Cody has to offer. Cody, Wyoming, the eastern gateway to Yellowstone National Park (about an hour away. We are a small western town with a big city attitude! During the summer, a re-enactment of a wild-west shoot-out takes place in Cody. Rodeo is important in the culture in Cody, which calls itself the "Rodeo Capital of the World". The Cody Nite Rodeo is an amateur rodeo every night from June 1 through August 31. Cody is also is host to the Cody Stampede Rodeo. The Stampede is a Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association rodeo and is one of the largest rodeos in the nation that is held over the Independence Day Holiday. Many of the top cowboys in the country attend. The stampede has been held from July 1-4 every year since 1919. The Cody Firearms Museum has a large collection of American firearms. Cody, also offers outdoor activities as golf, bicycling, rock-climbing, horseback riding, hunting, spectacular trout stream fishing and river-rafting.Budget Host is located less than 3 miles from Yellowstone International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your A Western Rose Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Hotel Cody

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing