We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
A Western Rose Motel
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed at this hotel it was excellent value for the money. It wasn't the nicest property in Cody, but it was the best bang for your buck. Rooms were very clean, you can tell they are slowly upgrading. They have new flat screen TV's. The pillows were flat but the housekeeper brought us extra pillows. Hopefully the next upgrade will be new mattresses. But again, the bathroom was spotless, as well as the room, there was no odors in the room, no smell of smoke.
But it was by far the best Value for your dollar in Cody if you are not looking to spend $150 a night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolishous, Manager at A Western Rose Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thank you for the compliment and suggestions. We appreciate your business and value your opinions!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (389)
There are newer reviews for A Western Rose Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 389 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2012

We were planning a quick trip through Cody and had difficulty reserving a room for our visit at a price we considered reasonable for this location when we chanced upon the Budget Host Inn. The biggest attraction was its location just off the main street through Cody but within walking distance of the better resturants. This is an older facility that has been reasonably maintained. Our room was sufficiently roomy, neat and clean and contained fridge, micro and coffe maker. Parking is a bit cramped but tolerable. The owners (new) were pleasnt and businesslike. We felt the price was ----- well pricey for the character ot the facility but compared to the general price level in Cody, certainly acceptable. Would we stay here again, yes. Particulalry if the same motorcycle group was there. Great compnay.

Room Tip: Rooms further from the street might be quieter. We were in the back so can't be sure but ours w...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buf0rdT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolishous, Manager at A Western Rose Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Thank you for your compliments. Clean, comfortable, quiet and affordable. 100% Non Smoking and within walking distance of all the best shops and restaurants. You've made our day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We booked on line with this hotel and then called to confirm with in one hour. At that time they told us no cats. I told them to then cancle. I found out this evening that they went ahead and charged my CC for the two nights. The person at the front desk said no refunds unless made with in 24 hours. So they will not give me the room for two night because we have our cat with us. It's 24 hours before the second night and they will not refund that night either

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank RayMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolishous, Manager at A Western Rose Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Sir, you booked a motel that is not pet friendly and never has been.
You failed to cancel within 24 hours (3PM the day before arrival).
If you reservation has been made after that time, it does not mean this and other property policies do not apply to you.

Threatening (I don't know who I'm dealing with), cursing(BS AHole, etc), lie to me(I'll just come there anyway with my CAT) and my staff after you chose to book through a 3rd party website is not the way to handle the situation. The last of several call backs (try threatening the airlines like that) that evening only to ask if we knew of a pet friendly place?

To show you we may not be pet friendly, but we are pet lovers as you are, a portion of your rate has been donated to the local animal shelter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

ONLY negative is the air fresheners in the room as I hav asthma and allergies. I put it in the bathroom when we got here and all is good. The desk staff gave us some restaurant suggestions and they were SPOT ON! We had a great experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolishous, Manager at A Western Rose Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Thank you for your compliments. Happy to hear you enjoyed our restaurant suggestions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

On August 18th, 2012, we called the Budget Host inn in Cody, Wy. and made reservations for August 25th and 26th. The next day, August 19, we decided to leave for Yellowstone a day early so we called them and asked them to move our reservations up one day to the 24th and 25th. We were advised at that time, they couldn't accommodate us for those two nights, so we cancelled and made other provisions.

After arriving back home, we received a bill from Mastercharge for a 50.00 cancellation fee for Budget Inn..
We called the motel and owner, Brenda, quite curtly advised us that the fee was appropriate, and she wouldn't budge from the penalty fee. Although, tecnically it wasn't due to any fault of ours that they couldn't reserve both the 24th and 25th for us, and at the most, they should have charged us only a one night fee of 25.00. However, customer service is not one of their attributes at the Budget Inn.

Owner Brenda accused my wife of "yelling" at her. Not true, I was listening to the conversation and there's a difference between yelling and being firm in a conversation. We had to call three times before we could get closure on this problem.
I am of retirement age, and have been in customer service most of my life, and I know how to give a little for the sake of Public relations; this poor woman doesn't have a clue.
Our stay at the Skyline Motel was most enjoyable. See our review.

John Rayburn
Granger, In.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolishous, Manager at A Western Rose Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Our cancellation policy is a $25 fee, per room, per night. Should you fail to cancel within 24 hours prior to arrival (3PM the day before), you are charged the entire rate, per room, per night.

There are "rules of the road" that you don't want applied to you. If you were speeding down the road and the police pulled you over, should you not be given the ticket because of the circumstance or your age.

You don't want to take the responsibility for your change of plans or our policies. We are a small business working extremely hard for our guests. It was YOUR choice to change your reservation (we couldn't accommodate you because we were already SOLD OUT). It was YOUR choice not to stay with us the night you could have. You didn't because you didn't want to. If it's of no fault of your own, who's is it? You are aware of our policies, however, you feel they shouldn't apply to you.

This is the third separate reason as to why you didn't stay with us. When I respond to your bashing, you advise me that I'm trying to "just make myself look better" and that "I'm the problem with this country".

Does being of retirement age make you more privileged and not have to adhere to our policies?

Since you are not getting "your way" you are bashing me on various websites.

Hopefully that makes you feel better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Ok, let's face it: this is a motel. Like a lot of motels, it is a little old and a little worn. Add to that that is a budget motel and I would tell you not to expect the same level of quality as, say, a Holiday Inn. So, here is what you get for about $75/night. First, the motel is located at the far end of Sheridan Avenue, so downtown Cody is about a 5-10 block walk for dinner or shopping. Road noise is noticeable, mostly because though the U-shaped motel directly faces the street. If that is a concern, then request a room toward the back of the hotel, behind the office. Parking spaces are located right in front of each room, which is convenient for carrying your luggage to the room. The room is very simple, with a bed, small table with a coffee maker, small refrigerator and a TV. The room was clean, although the decor is a little dated. The bathroom was basic, but clean, with a small plastic counter and standing shower. The sheets and towels were clean and presentable. The bed was stiff and I could feel the coils below because the padding is fairly thin. One positive are the owners, who are very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about Cody and the local area. Overall, this place will do if you are looking for a reasonable low-cost option in Cody. Just remember to keep your expectations in check if you are comparing it to a chain hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EisBaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolishous, Manager at A Western Rose Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Thank you for your review and compliments. As the new owners of the motel, we are working hard to provide you with the most comfortable, clean, quiet and affordable rooms we can provide during a busy season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is a pretty clean place. We walked in and quickly viewed, decided it was clean and left to see town. When we got back and pulled sheets back, there were two hairs. These could have been from housekeeper, don't know, but not fun to find when your tired and ready for bed. Got clean sheets and put on. Great powerful shower. Take adapter with you; had to use outlet in bathroom for computer. Cool to have mule deer right out front door!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank usgirl101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolishous, Manager at A Western Rose Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Thank you for your response. I've spoken with housekeeping to keep a closer eye out. We had adapters in the rooms, but they disappeared so fast, we relocated them to the front desk for guests to borrow (along with the hairdryers).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cody hotels
1.1 mi away
Best Western Sunset Inn
2.7 mi away
The Cody Hotel
The Cody Hotel
#4 of 29 in Cody
1,057 reviews
0.2 mi away
Buffalo Bill Cabin Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cody at Buffalo Bill Village
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Buffalo Bill Village Resort
1.4 mi away
A Wyoming Inn
A Wyoming Inn
#22 of 29 in Cody
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Western Rose Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Western Rose Motel

Address: 1807 Sheridan Ave, Cody, WY 82414-3886
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cody
#11 Family Hotel in Cody
Price Range: $101 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — A Western Rose Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Western Rose Motel, an upscale economy 1 level property, LOCATED DOWNTOWN is a 100%, NO PET and NON smoking motel offering FREE WIFI, coffee makers, Flat Screen TV's, mini fridges and guest laundry. Although no food is served on the property our DOWNTOWN location on the quiet end Sheridan Avenue is within walking distance to the most popular shops, restaurants, live music, trolley tour and just 10 blocks from the Buffalo Bill Historical Center. Our goal is to provide clean, comfortable, quiet rooms close to the best Cody has to offer. Cody, Wyoming, the eastern gateway to Yellowstone National Park (about an hour away. We are a small western town with a big city attitude! During the summer, a re-enactment of a wild-west shoot-out takes place in Cody. Rodeo is important in the culture in Cody, which calls itself the "Rodeo Capital of the World". The Cody Nite Rodeo is an amateur rodeo every night from June 1 through August 31. Cody is also is host to the Cody Stampede Rodeo. The Stampede is a Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association rodeo and is one of the largest rodeos in the nation that is held over the Independence Day Holiday. Many of the top cowboys in the country attend. The stampede has been held from July 1-4 every year since 1919. The Cody Firearms Museum has a large collection of American firearms. Cody, also offers outdoor activities as golf, bicycling, rock-climbing, horseback riding, hunting, spectacular trout stream fishing and river-rafting.Budget Host is located less than 3 miles from Yellowstone International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your A Western Rose Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Hotel Cody

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing