We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Home Cooking and wonderful desserts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wild Horse Cafe

Wild Horse Cafe
Ranked #52 of 87 Restaurants in Cody
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Cody WY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great Home Cooking and wonderful desserts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

We love the peach cobbler, but the chocolate pie is great as well. They have REAL Southern Style cream gravy, not the 'sausage powder' that everyone else uses. We really like the homemade, hand-dipped chicken fried chicken breast. The wait time can be filled by doing a little shopping the surrounding store; they cook to order so you know the meal is freshly made. The wait staff is fantastic. They have sweet tea and unsweet tea so you don't have to wait for the sugar to dissolve. We haven't done breakfast yet, but we will this fall. (We have a Bed & Breakfast of our own to take care of.)

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Codite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    9
    3
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Longmont, Colorado
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

We had lunch here on our way to Yellowstone. Food was great, but the best part was the friendly staff.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Jelnovick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cody, Wyoming
Level Contributor
73 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good home cooking.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

Dining in a western memoribila atmosphere. The dining room is part of what used to be the display floor in this extablishment. Dining decor is in keeping with the western atmosphere. Menu is limited but the food is good.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Just_Plain_Ornery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stopped in this little cafe across from the rodeo grounds on our way to the park, there store was adorable. The highlight of our breakfast was the chef with the bandanna on!! He came out to our table and visited with us and made our experience there really really fun, very charming we will make a trip back to cody just to visit the wild horse cafe, the food was great also.
Folks from Indiana

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank johnlovestoeat37209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cody
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome home cooked western food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

My wife and have dined there 5 times now and the food and service have very good. The consistentcy meal to meal have well done. Wait staff are checking for every need. The owners are always out to check on you, and let you know they appreciate your business.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lovetodineCody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Horse Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Wild Horse Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing