We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunset House

Sunset House
Ranked #13 of 87 Restaurants in Cody
Price range: $7 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Since April 1987, The Sunset House Restaurant has been privileged to serve the Cody community. Our management and staff will continue to strive to provide you with an enjoyable combination of great, home-style cooking reasonable prices, excellent, friendly service and comfortable atmosphere. Sunset House offers numerous choices with all budgets in mind. We have large spacious dining areas, great for families and groups. Please call us with additional questions and availability. We would be happy to get our space booked for you!
East Meadow, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Breakfast Gem”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Enjoyed a great country breakfast twice while in Cody. Great food, excellent service, and a great value.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    147
    62
    22
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level Contributor
129 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Brunch buffet”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Had the Sunday brunch buffet. There was a good variety of food of good quality (even had cheese crepes). It was not fancy, but was an inexpensive buffet with lots of food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rjs15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilroy, CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great fried chicken dinner”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

This family restaurant is a favorite of locals. Filled with families of all ages, friendly staff, great menu, generous portions, appropriately priced.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nicely average”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

I had selected this restaurant based on Tripadvisor reviews, and was a tad disappointed when we ate there for dinner one night at the end of June. It *is* within easy walking distance of the Ponderosa Campground, so was super convenient. My grandson and I both opted for the buffet, something around $17/adult, less for kids or seniors. The fried chicken was heavily battered and dry; the huge bbq beef ribs tasted great but were so tough they were difficult to eat. I saw no fresh vegetables on the hot tray, although O'Brien potatoes and mashed/gravy were present. Neither of us tried the ravioli. The salad bar was fine but nothing really special. Desserts consisted of about 3 kinds of pies (horrible crusts) or soft-serve ice cream. I expected a little better, based on the reviews. We waited about 15 minutes to be seated at 6 p.m., although there were quite a few empty tables. Service was cordial and prompt; the decor is comfortable. In total, a bit disappointing. If I went back, I think I'd try something off the menu rather than the dinner buffet.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ColoScotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brush, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“You won't be disappointed!”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

The food will blow you away!! Try their Cinnamon Roll French toast - you will think you are in heaven! My whole family would not go anywhere else for breakfast because their menu catered to every one of us, and the food never disappointed! The staff were busy, but never missed a beat when we needed anything.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shawna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunset House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing