We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern Hospitality in the West”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blackwater Creek Ranch
Ranked #13 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Cody
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We chose this place because of the location (15 miles from the East entrance of Yellowstone) and the rustic feel of the cabins. We would come back because of the hospitality of the owners and staff. You are treated just like family and THIS family is from Virginia....so they have that old-fashioned southern hospitality thing going for them. The food was great. The horseback riding was fabulous. A two and a half hour ride takes you to a ridge where you feel like you are on top of the mountain (and you ARE!!). The horses were great...very safe. Our little cabin was very sweet (the Honeymooner). It was close to Blackwater Creek, so we could listen to the "babbling brook" all night long. If you are looking for a place to get away from the hustle and bustle, this is the place. It was like stepping back in time. Simple life. NO TV. (YEA!!!) Sharing stories around the campfire with the other guests and staff. We loved our stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
There are newer reviews for Blackwater Creek Ranch
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 98 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2012

Convenient to east entrance to yellowstone national park. Very friendly staff, like family. Excellent breakfast buffet and dinner prepared by a chef. Beautiful scenery and creek on property. Rustic cabins were clean and comfortable. A good place to stay while visiting yellowstone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank steven g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The staff made us feel like family and accomodated all of our needs. The buffet breakfast and waitstaff were excellent. The kids enjoyed the pool and liked hiking along the creek. Stayed in the Bighorn cabin next to the creek and listening to the water all night was relaxing.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marcia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

My family and I went on a ten day vacation to Yellowstone. We stayed at 4 different hotels and this place was by far our favorite. The friendly staff made you feel so welcome. The dogs and cat running around the ranch made you feel like you were home... the cat and one of the dogs slept in our cabin:). The cabins were all beautiful, and the campfire with s'mores at the end of the day was a major plus. They have a heated swimming pool with water guns, and they also have a hot tub. It was very relaxing to sit in the hot tub after a long day in the park. The chef was fabulous, creating beautiful dishes that you felt bad destroying.... but it was delicious:) The horse back ride was beautiful. The things you see here you would not be able to see anywhere else. The wrangler that we had, Chance, was so kind and brought water bottles up to the top of the trail. We drank them up at the top and enjoyed the scenery. The horses were great too. We only stayed one night, but it was no doubt the best part of the vacation and we will be going back. I recommend this to anyone with children, there is so much to do including a game room with a pool table! You really get to know everyone here, even if you are only spending one night. My whole family recommend this beautiful ranch a 20/10 :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank mmollyh22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

My family of four recently booked a 2 hour trail ride at the Ranch. Upon arrival we were warmly greeted by everyone at the facility. We found out that the owners were originally from Virginia like us. After some small talk we were talked into going ahead with the 2 1/2 ride. TRUST ME....It was well worth it. Our horses were being prepared as we were taken to the corrals. Our wrangler, Chance, introduced himself as well as the rest of the crew and we were off. Being very novice horse riders this was the perfect ride for us. It had great views and mostly stable ground and horses that were well broke, except my youngest still thinks that her horse "Hollywood" wanted to try and lead the rest of the pack the whole trip. But he kept her engaged the whole trip. The view of the Wapiti valley at the 2 1/2 hour ride is well worth the time. But then again I think the views and scenery along the whole trip were phenominal. Do yourself a favor and just book your ride with these folks.... We did the internet research, price shopped, etc... They all run about the same price and have the same ride times, but Blackwater Creek Ranch just has the other beat hands down with the overall experience and scenery.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank Todd R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed with our kids for 4 nights, and we will probably go again next year. The staff was friendly and warm, the kids loved the campfire and the marshmallows every night, the dogs and the horses.
getting back from the park every evening felt like getting back home.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shlomo d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Three of us went on the hour trail ride which was very beautiful and peaceful. The staff for the whole ranch made us all feel very welcome. Has a great family feel when you get there, it felt like home! The restaurant was superb, great food accompanied by great prices. If you are looking for a great escape for the day or more don't think twice make Blackwater Creek Ranch your first and only choice!! The best mountian getaway around, horses, dining, swimming, and lodging its the full package don't miss out on this opportunity

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jennielilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cody hotels
33.4 mi away
Best Western Sunset Inn
1.5 mi away
The Historic UXU Ranch
3.7 mi away
Creekside Lodge at Yellowstone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Pahaska Teepee Resort
16.4 mi away
Yellowstone Valley Inn
32.0 mi away
Cody Cowboy Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackwater Creek Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackwater Creek Ranch

Address: 1516 N Fork Hwy, Cody, WY 82414-7879
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Cody
Price Range: $143 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Blackwater Creek Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing