We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Reviewed August 14, 2014

We only stayed one night and took in as much as possible. The front desk people were nice but they need more help. The room was on the corner and I think it was the Simpson Room on the second floor. It was spacious and clean. It was not in the historic part but it did have an old fashion pull toilet and period looking decor. It looked out on the Main Street. There were no bell people, but the parking was right by the back door so it was easy to bring in the luggage. We went to the gunfight which was right outside the hotel. It was fun and for a good cause. The hotel is very conveniently located for shopping and entertainment. I would recommend it especially if you are into history. We are in our mid 60's and stay at historic hotels and B&B's all over the US. We did eat at the restaurant but I will review that separately.

Room Tip: You can choose between the historic rooms or the not so historic. The historic cost more. I know t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flseagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (531)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 531 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

We took a family trip to Yellowstone and I was looking for something within a reasonable drive. Loving old things we decided to stay in a historic building. We stayed in the original part of the hotel and found the room well appointed. Even with the large dining room downstairs we didn't hear anything once the door was closed. The internet was quick and the staff was very attentive. Also, for the area, the price was really reasonable. We'll definitely stay there again.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Pmk2d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Let me first say that this property is history at it's best. The bones of this landmark hotel are charming, historical, and you will want to stay here just for the history. This is not a luxury hotel by any means. What is sad to me is that is hotel does not get a five star rating from me or many others, but has the capability of being the first ranked hotel in Cody and rightfully should be! But it is far from it. With friendlier staff, repairs to the peeling wallpaper, some sort of quality linens, better bath tissue, bath towels, etc. this property could be AMAZING! We were place in a front corner upper story room. The road and bar noise is terrible. I have always wanted to stay at the Irma, and now I have. It is a must stay for one night in your life, but then check out and get some sleep somewhere else.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep, get a room at the center or back of hotel. The road noise is TERRIBLE if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hondasaki_cat_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

The Irma doesn't have the most modernized and comfortable rooms, but they are adequate. The main reason for staying is because you're staying in the Irma! Great historic experience, wonderful restaurant and food. Hotel was quiet, beds were comfortable, and bathrooms were clean. Good showers. Very good location, and FUN.

Room Tip: If possible, stay in the original side of the hotel vs. the add on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank notalota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

This was our second stay at the Irma and we loved it just as much as we did the first time. It has so much history and charm. We stayed in the Buffalo Bill suite which was a 2 bedroom suite. The bathroom had a claw foot bathtub with a shower, toilet and sink. The bedroom had a king size bed and a flat screen TV. The living room had a couch, a plush chair, a flat screen TV and a desk. All very comfortable. The room was immaculately clean which I can imagine is not easy to do in such an historic building that gets so much traffic.

The restaurant, bar and patio are gathering spots for locals and tourists alike. There is quite a mix of people at the Irma.

The hotel is right downtown so it is easy to walk to shops, restaurants and nightlife. Parking is free in the hotel's parking lot.

One thing to note: this is an historic building. There is no elevator or bell staff that I could see so if carrying you suitcase upstairs might be a problem, this may not be the place for you. Otherwise this is a memorable place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Frogman71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie R, Director of Sales at Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Thanks so much for your wonderful review.

Just a side note - just ask and we will be happy to provide baggage assistance or we can place you on the ground floor. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Wife and I stayed for 2 nights in a 1st floor room facing the parking lot. The room was large and clean. I would have liked a more comfortable chair to sit in than old chairs which could be used in the restaurant.

The IRMA is in downtown Cody so you can walk all around town without getting back into your car. The restaurant is historic. The place was built early in the 1900's. I loved the photo of the IRMA sitting by itself in Cody.

I would not stay here again for two reasons.

What I did not like is the lack of a sprinkler system in the hotel.....OK so it's historic and the owners probably received a pass because of the IRMA's historical nature. But our safety is #1.

The owner reason for not staying at the IRMA is the lack of security. Our 1st floor room corridor lead directly to a door that led to the street. This door was never secured during our visits. During on 3 days at the IRMA, on two occasions people from the street opened the door to browse the hotel. How do I know this? They asked me. There was another door that led to the parking lot and this door never appeared to be secured.

Come on management, correct this!!

Room Tip: If safety and security is a major concern, then do not stay at the IRMA.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Allan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We watched the street gun fight , that is held at the Irma Hotel. They encourage you to go in and visit the bar and restaurant. I walked upstairs where the rooms are. Very cool. super high ceilings and woodwork was all fantastic. IF you like old places. Proabably would be a cool place to stay. May be alittle noisy as they have live music and a saloon going.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cody hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Ivy Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Cody at Buffalo Bill Village
2.1 mi away
The Cody Hotel
The Cody Hotel
#4 of 29 in Cody
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Sunset Inn
0.6 mi away
A Western Rose Motel
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Buffalo Bill Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel

Address: 1192 Sheridan Ave, Cody, WY 82414-3628
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Price Range: $85 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time...into the old west of today, at the Irma Hotel - a place that Buffalo Bill Cody called "a gem". The historic Irma Hotel hosted Buffalo Bill's Wild West show tryouts and European nobility who headquartered there for hunting trips.The historic section of the hotel offers 15 renovated rooms that housed some of the most famous personalities the world has ever known. You can even stay in Buffalo Bill's private suite, or in a host of other historic or non-historic rooms, all with up-to-date amenities.Enjoy the finest dining in the West, including our famous prime rib or enjoy a drink and friendly camaraderie at the Buffalo Bill Bar or in the Silver Saddle Saloon.The hotel also offers a private meeting room which can accommodate groups up to 70 people.The famed Cody Gunfighters perform nightly in front of the Irma Hotel. Join the crowd on the Irma porch at 6:00 p.m. Monday through Saturday from June through September. Family fun, and it's FREE!The Cody Trolley, headquartered at the Irma, offers live narrated tours of Buffalo Bill's town...you won't want to miss it.The Irma Hotel is centrally located in downtown Cody within walking distance to many area attractions including the Buffalo Bill Historical Center, shopping and the City recreation center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing