We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

May be a historic landmark but the food and service are terrible. There are plenty of other places in Cody with friendlier faster service better quality food and lodging and better prices. Walk on by enjoy the evening gunslinger play but dont bother going inside.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meesh63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (525)
There are newer reviews for Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 525 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2014

I don't think anybody would pretend to go here for the food. It's ok, very average, and a bit expensive for what you get and the quality. There are much better places in Cody if all you want to do is eat. As a tourist just passing through its the historic aspect of the place that's important. The bar presented by Queen Victoria to Buffalo Bill is still as original. There's also a separate bar with local characters in attendance always willing to talk to somebody with a different accent.
Had a great Friday night here with locals trying their Harleys for size. Food was just an add on.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donnygardencity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

My husband and I went for Sunday breakfast. We were seated quickly and then waited….and waited….and waited. Instead of continuing to wait for someone to stop by our table to take our order, we decided it would be faster to go with the buffet. BIG mistake! The hot food was lukewarm. The cold food was lukewarm. The butter wouldn’t melt on the pancakes and a knife had to be used to cut them. The bacon was steamed and limp. Usually most places can do the basics…eggs, bacon, sausage, pancakes, etc. but even the basics seemed to be beyond the Irma.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Perfect location to enjoy and experience Cody. Great food, bar and centrally located.

Also, rooms very reasonably priced.

This is a 110 year old Historic Hotel,therefore, appreciate it is not like a new modern hotel. Enjoy the past and have fun.

Room Tip: Perfect location to loop to Cooke City, Montana, Yellowstone Park and many other sites. Enjoy !
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swiftyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

I've been to this hotel many times over the past decade for dinner, & it is always such a wonderful feeling of nostalgia to walk the same halls that Buffalo Bill Cody did! The bar is gorgeous, & the booths are roomy & the dinner buffet is fairly simple but sumptuous. The bison on the buffet is not to be missed; it is always excellent! The service may be spotty & a bit slow for drinks from time to time, but the atmosphere is pure Cody, the Wild West tamed just a bit to allow for "civilized" dining & reminiscing about the glory days of the West, what one saw in Yellowstone National Park that day, or what exhibits one enjoyed at the Buffalo Bill Historical Center museum complex.

One of my favorite rooms in the entire hotel is the area where Buffalo Bill once held court, smoking cigars & telling true tall tales of his adventures; we've eaten Thanksgiving dinner here at least twice, & we loved it---so unique & so memorable. The shopping inside the hotel is excellent, too, for both men & women; we have bought many unique treasures there.

Linger at this gem of a hotel; even if you're just having dinner or drinks, savor the opportunity to close your eyes & imagine Buffalo Bill walking these halls :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

My Husband and I Stayed in the Irma Suite when we stayed in Cody August 2013. It was very nice and vintage. The western gun fight outside at night was so much fun .We really loved the hotel and town .

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank milestogo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We travelled to Cody in July 2013. The room was vintage but very clean. We had a room facing the street so it was very Noisy (bikers parked right below the window). Overall very good and very nicely located in Cody.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Victoria102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cody hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Ivy Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Cody at Buffalo Bill Village
2.1 mi away
The Cody Hotel
The Cody Hotel
#4 of 29 in Cody
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
A Western Rose Motel
0.6 mi away
Best Western Sunset Inn
0.4 mi away
Buffalo Bill Cabin Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel

Address: 1192 Sheridan Ave, Cody, WY 82414-3628
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Price Range: $85 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time...into the old west of today, at the Irma Hotel - a place that Buffalo Bill Cody called "a gem". The historic Irma Hotel hosted Buffalo Bill's Wild West show tryouts and European nobility who headquartered there for hunting trips.The historic section of the hotel offers 15 renovated rooms that housed some of the most famous personalities the world has ever known. You can even stay in Buffalo Bill's private suite, or in a host of other historic or non-historic rooms, all with up-to-date amenities.Enjoy the finest dining in the West, including our famous prime rib or enjoy a drink and friendly camaraderie at the Buffalo Bill Bar or in the Silver Saddle Saloon.The hotel also offers a private meeting room which can accommodate groups up to 70 people.The famed Cody Gunfighters perform nightly in front of the Irma Hotel. Join the crowd on the Irma porch at 6:00 p.m. Monday through Saturday from June through September. Family fun, and it's FREE!The Cody Trolley, headquartered at the Irma, offers live narrated tours of Buffalo Bill's town...you won't want to miss it.The Irma Hotel is centrally located in downtown Cody within walking distance to many area attractions including the Buffalo Bill Historical Center, shopping and the City recreation center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing