We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room 75 etc”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Cody
trieste
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Room 75 etc”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Don't take this room ,clean and large but the only window is facing a very close brick wall with another room window!
Parking is difficult - no area reserved for hotel guest -and show disappointed me! No booking by web,staff tired for too many visitors,beef around the same you can have at Longhorns or Outbreak .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graal1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    188
    99
    45
    25
See reviews for
145
216
25
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We spent one night in one of the Irma Hotels historic rooms: wow, it is like stepping back in time and expecting to see Wild Bill or Buffalo Bill walk through the corridors.
We occupied room 27, which reminded me a lot of the hotel rooms of Swearinger in the HBO series: Deadwood.
The room was extremely clean and despite furnished with all old style and antique pieces it had all the modern comodities: hair dryer, TV, Alarm clock and coffee maker.
Definitely an experience to do while in Cody!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sabrina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This place feels like an authentic piece of the wild west. Rooms were attractive, clean and functional and in keeping with the historical ambience. We really loved it. The huge dining room has an antique bar that was a gift to Buffalo Bill from Queen Victoria, and usually seems to be filled with Wyoming Cowboys and other locals. The staff and the locals are very gregarious and friendly, and really seem to enjoy sharing the history and tips about local sights with visitors. We stayed 2 nights and ate breakfast, lunch and dinner here for several days. The food was good, and we ended up having interesting conversations with friendly locals at every meal. I'd definitely stay here again if I ever go through Cody again. Also, the Buffalo Bill Museum is fantastic. We spent hours there, and still didn't get to some of the exhibits.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Seachange91362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

I stay at the Irma quite often. I'd say Wyoming people have a greater appreciation for the place compared to the average tourist who thinks this is still the 19th century.

I like the food - big breakfasts, big steaks for a decent price.

The problem with Wyoming, though, is smoking is still allowed most places. The bar is pretty good, but be ready to hold your breath!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlanDOHashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Sorry, I wanted to like this hotel but the room was dark, had no desk, one chair and an awful floral carpet which reminded me of my childhood. The bathroom, however, was lovely and everywhere was very clean. The lady on reception was very off-hand but the rest of the staff were very polite and friendly. We did not eat here, large empty dining room and poor choices. Maybe this hotel is better in the season when the buffets are running. The famous bar was noisy and smoky but just didn't like the atmosphere.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank USfan077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

So enjoyed this place! It is not just the furnishings and the old west feel that makes this a great place to stay, it is the characters that seem to populate the place. Everyone seems to have worked there for years, and they really add to the atmosphere. I was on a tour with Go Native America and it was nice to have an element of real old cowboy life in an all-Indian tour. Great choice by the tour company, and the Irma is a credit to Cody, WY.

Room Tip: Old historic rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RTovi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrington, Wyoming
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Irma was amazing... very elegant and old fashioned... brass fixtures in the bathrooms...handmade soaps...pull mushroomed..deep tubs... very comfy beds!!!! The staff was friendly and very helpful...

Room Tip: Try a suite.... ghosts may visit ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kdmoondancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cody hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Ivy Inn & Suites
2.1 mi away
The Cody Hotel
The Cody Hotel
#3 of 29 in Cody
1,042 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Cody at Buffalo Bill Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Sunset Inn
0.4 mi away
Buffalo Bill Cabin Village
0.6 mi away
A Western Rose Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel

Property: Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel
Address: 1192 Sheridan Ave, Cody, WY 82414-3628
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time...into the old west of today, at the Irma Hotel - a place that Buffalo Bill Cody called "a gem". The historic Irma Hotel hosted Buffalo Bill's Wild West show tryouts and European nobility who headquartered there for hunting trips.The historic section of the hotel offers 15 renovated rooms that housed some of the most famous personalities the world has ever known. You can even stay in Buffalo Bill's private suite, or in a host of other historic or non-historic rooms, all with up-to-date amenities.Enjoy the finest dining in the West, including our famous prime rib or enjoy a drink and friendly camaraderie at the Buffalo Bill Bar or in the Silver Saddle Saloon.The hotel also offers a private meeting room which can accommodate groups up to 70 people.The famed Cody Gunfighters perform nightly in front of the Irma Hotel. Join the crowd on the Irma porch at 6:00 p.m. Monday through Saturday from June through September. Family fun, and it's FREE!The Cody Trolley, headquartered at the Irma, offers live narrated tours of Buffalo Bill's town...you won't want to miss it.The Irma Hotel is centrally located in downtown Cody within walking distance to many area attractions including the Buffalo Bill Historical Center, shopping and the City recreation center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing