We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old West feel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stay at the Irma for one night and I am glad we did. The hotel had a western feel to it and the restaurant was amazing. The original cherry bar in the restaurant was worth the trip. The food was great. Our room was very nice. Old west feel but modern. The only small problem was it was a little noisey, but I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Watergirl2167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (545)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

351 - 357 of 545 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

It isn't the cheapest hotel in Cody, but the location and the historic atmosphere made it worth spending our only night in Cody here. It wasn't as close to the rodeo as we hoped, but after the Cody night rodeo, the location was ideal for wandering home from the bars downtown. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable, we are definitely glad we stopped.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 23ARJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

From top to bottom, you will feel like you have been transported back to the old west if you stay at The Irma. Don't expect modern doo-dads, this is over 100 years old. Floors will creek! The staff is friendly and helpful. You need reservations LONG in advance especially for the summer tourist season. Smack dab in the middle of downtown, the place is BUSY and is part of the tourist groups tours. But don't let that deter you from experiencing all The Irma's atmosphere and charm.

Room Tip: Every room has it's own charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wyomugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed in the historic Irma! Great room with a view of the main street. Excellant staff, restaurant, and especially the bar! Meet many ppls from all over the world, and especialy the locals, just from sitting on the veranda , of course it helps as I am also a Buffalo Bill impersonator! Great place to stay! Will be back again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BuffaloBill1846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We thought it would be great to stay in an historical hotel and get some "wild" atmosphere and the public rooms are definitely superb- enormous, full of character , old items etc. However- the 2 bedrooms our party were given were not quite up to scratch. They were in the very centre of the building, a sort of island, so there were no windows except for large skylights. Large rooms; very airy; old bits of knocked about furniture which could do with a good clean and polish. I realise that atmosphere is no.1 but a little tlc doesn't obviate that. The dark brown paintwork was much chipped/scratched; the carpet in our room had 2 bits of Elastoplast from some previous occupants stuck to it- yuk!! Our genuine old double washbasin...well, yes, marble it may be but there was an ENORMOUS crack in one, so that it may well have leaked if water was in it. The other - the plug seemed to have been rammed down the plughole & into the pipe, so it couldn't be filled. To be fair, there was also a decent settee, which is unusual.
When we first entered the hotel to book in, the attitude of the chap with the Stetson behind the desk was REALLY bad- so much so that we spoke to each other quite loudly about it...and he got the "warning" and became more affable. For a large hotel, there was no help with the luggage, despite our 2 American friends being 80 years old.
We paid $162 for room without breakfast. We ate in the restaurant; a good meal and reasonably priced and of course, in an original setting. Our waitress was good- funny, cheerful and helpful. We very much enjoyed Cody and would stay there again...but in a different lodging and probably eating in the Irma. Parking- fairly plentiful

Room Tip: We chose for obvious reasons to stay in the historic part, in a sort of island in the centre , with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daviesbagrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Have stayed at the Irma several times. It's the kind of hotel that lets you imagine what it was like back in the day. The rooms are clean nice and spacious. Easy to walk around down town, Drift down to the bar and restaurant.

Room Tip: To get a quiet room, ask for one away from main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julywest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Knowing full well that "historic" means old I had some reservations about are stay at the Irma. It is an old building and the smell of cigarettes will about knock you out when you first enter the building if you are not used to it, but it's history and entertaining atmosphere make up for it. You can easily imagine the back part of the inn being a brothel back in Buffalo Bill's day. When we stayed it was visited by many bikers and hunters and lots of locals meet out front for happy hour. The location is prime and the food and staff are very good. You can walk to other fun saloons and restaurants as well as the historic museum, and Sierra Trading Post. Cody is a nice western town and a good stop near Yellowstone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MontanaBones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cody hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Ivy Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Cody at Buffalo Bill Village
0.6 mi away
Best Western Sunset Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cody Legacy Inn
Cody Legacy Inn
#12 of 29 in Cody
354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chamberlin Inn
Chamberlin Inn
#4 of 29 in Cody
359 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Buffalo Bill Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel

Address: 1192 Sheridan Ave, Cody, WY 82414-3628
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Price Range: $85 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time...into the old west of today, at the Irma Hotel - a place that Buffalo Bill Cody called "a gem". The historic Irma Hotel hosted Buffalo Bill's Wild West show tryouts and European nobility who headquartered there for hunting trips.The historic section of the hotel offers 15 renovated rooms that housed some of the most famous personalities the world has ever known. You can even stay in Buffalo Bill's private suite, or in a host of other historic or non-historic rooms, all with up-to-date amenities.Enjoy the finest dining in the West, including our famous prime rib or enjoy a drink and friendly camaraderie at the Buffalo Bill Bar or in the Silver Saddle Saloon.The hotel also offers a private meeting room which can accommodate groups up to 70 people.The famed Cody Gunfighters perform nightly in front of the Irma Hotel. Join the crowd on the Irma porch at 6:00 p.m. Monday through Saturday from June through September. Family fun, and it's FREE!The Cody Trolley, headquartered at the Irma, offers live narrated tours of Buffalo Bill's town...you won't want to miss it.The Irma Hotel is centrally located in downtown Cody within walking distance to many area attractions including the Buffalo Bill Historical Center, shopping and the City recreation center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing