We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic, and in the center of it all.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Reviewed August 12, 2012

The Irma has history---it was owned by Wild Bill Cody--and some famous people stayed here! It is in the center of activities in Cody. The nightly "Gunslinger" show is right outside the entrance. Our kids (ages 8 & 10) loved it. You really feel like you're stepping back in time when you enter. Our hotel room was clean. No complaints. The staff was polite. There is a restaurant and tavern/lounge in the hotel. The food is ok. There is a buffet for breakfast/lunch and dinner or you can order off the menu. The food was average, the prices were a bit high, but not horrible. It was nice not to have to leave the hotel with the kids if we didn't want to. I guess the biggest draw was the history of the place. If you are in Cody, why not stay at Cody's place? We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CherylAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (542)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

363 - 369 of 542 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2012

If you like history, you will love this hotel. Staying at the Irma Hotel was like going back into time. My kids and I loved it. Very nostalgic. They even had the old cash register from 1910. Every one was nice. The prime rib dinner buffet was excellent. My family gives this hotel a 9/10 and would definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed one night at the Irma Hotel on our way home from Yellowstone. Our room was very large and clean. We stayed in the Colonel Cody room with a large sitting and sleeping area. Our only complaint was our room was over the bar area and we could smell cigarette smoke from the bar. However, it didn’t take aware from our enjoyment of the room. The location was great and plenty of street parking. It was right downtown and easy access to the local attractions and restaurants. We didn’t use our car once, after we arrived. I would recommend a stay here anytime. Just be aware the historic building is very old and no elevators. Just a lot of stairs to carry all your luggage up. Those with special needs may find it difficult to get around the building.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for an historic room, they do have a newer wing that doesn't have the same cha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lerikss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed for one night while attending the Cody Rodeo and on our way to Yellowstone. The location is right downtown; easily within walking distance of all the shops and most restaurants. It's an old hotel; very historic. We did not eat in the restaurant. Our room had one of the toilets with the pull chain which my daughter thought was hysterical! All in all, I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chedanemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

A week in the west and this food was the best in the west. The decor of such an old building plus the food was delicious. I had filet, the Irma fries and the garlic bread. My husband had the buffet and loved it all.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank foothillsfaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Great location to shops downtown, gun fight was right out front. Good buffet dinner. Room needed updating and new matresses. Dinning room was really busy, but we were served fast. Stayed in the "newer" part of the hotel. Paint was peeling from shower, it just needed some TLC. Fine for one night to get the feel of the town.
some of the staff acted like they were tired of tourists.

Room Tip: room was quiet but overlooked dumsters. Fine for one night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

On our way to Yellowstone, we stayed in Cody for the evening and ate and watched the show at the Irma Hotel Monday, July 16. The show was entertaining but the food and table service was awful. There were 4 of us at dinner and the service was slow to non existant, and the main courses were delivered to the table at different times, one of which had to be sent back to the kitchen. I ordered peppercorn sauce for my entree and it wasn't brought to the table until I had finished eating. When I complained to the waitress, she in turn complained that this was the way that things usually worked at the restaurant. We spoke to the manager, and she just rolled her eyes and returned to the office. Cody offers much better food, and without the hassel. We will never return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cody hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Ivy Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Cody at Buffalo Bill Village
0.1 mi away
Chamberlin Inn
Chamberlin Inn
#4 of 29 in Cody
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Buffalo Bill Village Resort
0.9 mi away
Cody Legacy Inn
Cody Legacy Inn
#12 of 29 in Cody
354 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Cody Hotel
The Cody Hotel
#3 of 29 in Cody
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel

Address: 1192 Sheridan Ave, Cody, WY 82414-3628
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Price Range: $85 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time...into the old west of today, at the Irma Hotel - a place that Buffalo Bill Cody called "a gem". The historic Irma Hotel hosted Buffalo Bill's Wild West show tryouts and European nobility who headquartered there for hunting trips.The historic section of the hotel offers 15 renovated rooms that housed some of the most famous personalities the world has ever known. You can even stay in Buffalo Bill's private suite, or in a host of other historic or non-historic rooms, all with up-to-date amenities.Enjoy the finest dining in the West, including our famous prime rib or enjoy a drink and friendly camaraderie at the Buffalo Bill Bar or in the Silver Saddle Saloon.The hotel also offers a private meeting room which can accommodate groups up to 70 people.The famed Cody Gunfighters perform nightly in front of the Irma Hotel. Join the crowd on the Irma porch at 6:00 p.m. Monday through Saturday from June through September. Family fun, and it's FREE!The Cody Trolley, headquartered at the Irma, offers live narrated tours of Buffalo Bill's town...you won't want to miss it.The Irma Hotel is centrally located in downtown Cody within walking distance to many area attractions including the Buffalo Bill Historical Center, shopping and the City recreation center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing