We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stayed one night on our way to Rocky Mountain NP after visiting Yellowstone. Absolutely no issues with anything. Rooms clean and comfortable, food is good. Cody gunfighters each evening at 6. Location right in the heart of Cody with free parking. Make sure you take time to look at the bar which is still the original. Worth a visit just for the history.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank United21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (544)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

374 - 380 of 544 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2012

The hotel has a good location but it is really old and dirty. We stayed in the newer side, but the fairly cheaper price comes from facing the dumpsters. You are much better off with a much newer hotel in Cody.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calatoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Clean rooms. Did not eat at the restaurant. They do have bkfst and dinner buffets. Shootouts every eve at 6pm.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nichols96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

This hotel is truly a throwback to the good old days....pull chain toilets, room with two beds that we could have played catch in, skylight letting in the wonderful sunshine. Only bad thing -- location. It is in downtown Cody and the noise from the street left something to be desired. However, the beds were good and so was the food downstairs. Loved it!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeDee277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Loved it !!! We were given an Historic room...The Simon Snyder ....with 2 large queen beds on the corner of the hotel with 5 windows .... The old fashioned pull chain toilet was so in keeping with the hotel ...we ate dinner and breakfast at the hotel and soaked up the atmoshere of a by gone era ..Its right on the main street in the middle of town ......I'm sure there are cheaper hotels around but for us it was fantastic ...

Room Tip: The Historic rooms are excellent but have no experience of the other rooms available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wrightdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

we loved it! We are from Wyoming and this is what you want if you really want to experience our state. If you want wi-fi and sleek new rooms, then I'd try someplace else. This hotel is an experience that I will never forget and I'll have to go back. We had a nice room in the older section. Period furniture, old wallpaper, and love the pull-chain toilets! Our experience with the food wasn't great, but I'm not a buffet fan either, and that's what we had. Don't miss Old Trail Town. It was the cherry on top of a great weekend away from home. For a history buff and a person who would take a dirt road over an interstate anyday, this was awesome. We'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Make sure you know what you want before booking. There is the origional historic hotel, as well as a slightly less historic addition. The origional part is complete with period furniture for a complete historic experiance and all that that entails. The addition is a little newer, but the rooms are small. The hotel has a dining room with great prime rib and fantastic breakfast, but the service is average. The bar is fun for a little while but gets a bit intense late at night. A good deal in the off season, but at peak it is just too crowded.

Room Tip: decide on historic (few amenities) or newer rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wyomingbusdriverjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cody hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Ivy Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Cody at Buffalo Bill Village
0.9 mi away
Cody Legacy Inn
Cody Legacy Inn
#11 of 29 in Cody
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chamberlin Inn
Chamberlin Inn
#4 of 29 in Cody
357 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Sunset Inn
2.1 mi away
The Cody Hotel
The Cody Hotel
#3 of 29 in Cody
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel

Address: 1192 Sheridan Ave, Cody, WY 82414-3628
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Price Range: $85 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time...into the old west of today, at the Irma Hotel - a place that Buffalo Bill Cody called "a gem". The historic Irma Hotel hosted Buffalo Bill's Wild West show tryouts and European nobility who headquartered there for hunting trips.The historic section of the hotel offers 15 renovated rooms that housed some of the most famous personalities the world has ever known. You can even stay in Buffalo Bill's private suite, or in a host of other historic or non-historic rooms, all with up-to-date amenities.Enjoy the finest dining in the West, including our famous prime rib or enjoy a drink and friendly camaraderie at the Buffalo Bill Bar or in the Silver Saddle Saloon.The hotel also offers a private meeting room which can accommodate groups up to 70 people.The famed Cody Gunfighters perform nightly in front of the Irma Hotel. Join the crowd on the Irma porch at 6:00 p.m. Monday through Saturday from June through September. Family fun, and it's FREE!The Cody Trolley, headquartered at the Irma, offers live narrated tours of Buffalo Bill's town...you won't want to miss it.The Irma Hotel is centrally located in downtown Cody within walking distance to many area attractions including the Buffalo Bill Historical Center, shopping and the City recreation center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing