We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B right next to the center of town in Cody!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cody
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Salsbury Avenue Inn
Ranked #2 of 16 Cody B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Terry & Sondra run a great B&B in Cody and we were delighted to stay with them on our way to Yellowstone. The house decor is lovely, the breakfast they made for us was first rate -- complete with a fruit platter, omelet, sausage, potato casserole, toast, orange juice and coffee. We had a lovely run in the morning along the river -- just a few short blocks from the house! There is a nice trail that runs right along the river's edge with some great bird-watching opportunities. All in all, highly recommended! We hope we will have opportunity to return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eze509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 124 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2012

The Inn is actually more bed and breakfast, which is definitely speaking positively about the Salsbury, as the breakfast was excellent, a fantastic start to the day and a complement to the hosts. The 8-10 guests were widely travelled, and a valuable source of information about the area. Terry and Sondra were attentive and interested hosts and made us feel welcome in their home. The front porch was enclosed with seating areas and was very inviting.
The inn is only three blocks from Cody's main street. Every evening at six there is a historical reenactment of a gun fight. There are also the requisite bars and a few good restaurants within a short walking distance.
The Salsbury was a relaxing place and I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GermanyNeedtotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

I don't usually write reviews of places I have stayed, but have been meaning to since my stay at this location in August 2011. I loved my trip to the Cody and the Yellowstone area and the accomodations and hospitality that I encountered at the Salsbury Avenue Inn were fabulous. I was by myself, but was made to feel very welcome by the owners (Terry & Sondra) who allowed me to stand in the kitchen while breakfast was being made each morning and welcomed me each evening to sit outside under the covered patio with them and other guests for casual conversation. They were very genuine people and their mid-western background made me feel right at home.
My room was small, but very comfortable, clean, and extremely reasonable, especially considering the high-quality breakfast I received each day of my stay. If I needed anything, they quickly recommended the appropriate solution and anything I needed during my visit, they made available to me. This sometimes meant sharing their own dishes or refrigerator.
Each morning at breakfast, there were couples from outside of the US which provided a unique feeling. In three days, I met couples from Canada and Switzerland, as well as various locations within the US.
The on-line reviews are glowing and truthful-you won't regret staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Terry, Sondra, and Bob (the dog) make this B&B a wonderful experience. We really enjoyed visiting with them and they were extremely helpful at recommending restaurants and activities. The accommodations are very quaint and cozy. You may have to share a bathroom with another guest or use the bath downstairs, but that didn't seem to be a problem for us. When we got home we had a thank you post card from them, but I felt like I was the one who should have sent the thank you considering the wonderful experience we had there.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mom2Sadie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We spent one night at the Salsbury Inn. It was a nice clean place to stay. Easy walk to downtown. The owners are very nice helpful people. The breakfast was great. We shared a bath but was not a problem. Would stay there again when we are out that way.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onthego1937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Cody was the first stop for my wife and I during our yellowstone vacation. I actually stumbled upon this B&B while researching local hotels to stay in. The reviews didn't have a single negative comment, which convinced me to give them a try. You never go into a place thinking that it'll be perfect, but this house is as close to perfection as I've ever seen. Terry and Sondra don't make you feel like guests. They treat you as if you were longtime friends who happen to be passing through. The house is extremely well kept, including the yard. The beds are comfortable, the rooms decorated with antiques and family heirlooms. The home cooked breakfasts were delicious, but more importantly I walked away full. The hosts were gracious enough to go out of their way to help us get a problem with our car fixed, even shuttled us around to get it to the shop. They gave us advice for the rest of our trip. It's obvious that their goal is for you to thoroughly enjoy yourself while you're under their care. You'd be foolish miss out on this refreshing experience.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve_Michelle20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

The Salsbury Avenue Inn in Cody is a lovely little B&B, very cozy and well-maintained. Terry and Sondra Dishong (and Bob, their dog) were terrific hosts - very warm and welcoming. Breakfast was excellent. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chocochai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cody hotels
0.2 mi away
Chamberlin Inn
Chamberlin Inn
#4 of 29 in Cody
357 reviews
2.7 mi away
K3 Guest Ranch Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Robin's Nest Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Cody Cowboy Village
2.1 mi away
Big Bear Motel
Big Bear Motel
#13 of 29 in Cody
602 reviews
44.8 mi away
Pahaska Teepee Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salsbury Avenue Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salsbury Avenue Inn

Address: 1226 Salsbury Ave, Cody, WY 82414-3005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Cody
Price Range: $50 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing