We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value good access to bear tooth highway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Schmalz's Red Pole Ranch and Motel
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great value good access to bear tooth highway!”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Recommend staying here away from Yellowstone but close to bear tooth highway. Room very nice for money in peak season. Highly recommend the near tooth highway, accessing Yellowstone.not bad from here either

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrGreen21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    28
    6
    3
    12
See reviews for
67
65
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oregon City
2 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The ranch was the best stop on our trip the cabins were clean, confortable, and quite. The beds were a very welcome comfort after stays in several hotels with concrete hard beda and loud cross traffic. The staff and owners were very friendly and made us feel like we were family during checkin. The views that evening was breathtaking and the next morning was just as spectacular.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

The caretakers of the property were very nice and helpful, the room clean and comfortable, however we couldn't get wifi access anywhere on the property which was disappointing since this was one of the main reasons we wanted to stay there. There is no restaurant or store nearby and one must drive to Cody for food and provisions.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerdag60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schmalzie, Owner at Schmalz's Red Pole Ranch and Motel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
These folks from Washington DC-obviously did NOT ask anyone if there were other businesses (like Restaurants, or Convenience stores), near our Ranch/Resort! There is a large Restaurant/Bar etc about two miles from our ranch, and a larger Convenience Store/Gasoline Station a coupla miles further!? Most people who stay here do like to get away from noise and traffic-that's the main reason they book with us! QUIET is what we advertise and the way to get that is to be OFF the Beaten Track (even though there is a beautiful paved road right to our place)!
By the way, this lady (Gerdag60) said that there was no Internet at our ranch!? No-so sorry, we don't have internet in the rooms, but we invite our guests to come up and sit at our large picnic table in the shade beside our office and from there they have all the internet service they need! We probably will even GIVE them a soft drink or a Beer to drink while they are outside-checking emails! We certainly wish that people would "get their facts straight" before they write such responses. My wife-Patty Jo, and her employees do a great job and work SO HARD to make our guests comfortable and happy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florissant, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We booked two rooms here for ourselves and another couple, based on TripAdvisor reviews and we were not disappointed! The cabins, though ordinary looking on the outside, are quite comfortable and nicely furnished, and each one is apparently unique in its own way. Our beds were rather high off the ground for two short people, but soft and comfy and worth the climb! The bathrooms were spotless and roomy; the owners friendly and welcoming. But what really impressed all of us was the location.
Red Pole Ranch is about 15 miles west of Cody, at the end of the Buffalo Bill Reservoir, within the valley of the North Folk of the Shoshone. Bluffs rise up behind the ranch and the owners’ horses grazes high up above us. Below was the Buffalo Bill State Park where we watched a herd of pronghorn come down from the hills every day. Across the valley were more mountains and on our last evening, we sat on lawn chairs outside of our cabin and watched a storm roll across the sky from the west (Yellowstone, where we had stayed before coming here) towards Cody. And while we only felt a few drops over us, we could see rain and lightening to our north. When it was passed, we were gifted with an incredible double rainbow that seemed to begin in the bluffs behind us and end right over the ranch gates at the end of the drive.
This is not your standard chain hotel or motel, but a truly unique place to stay while visiting Cody. And it was a perfect place for the four of us to end our vacation before trekking back home.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Saruman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We wanted to see Yellowstone Park and Cody but were disappointed to see the highly inflated prices that even chain motels were charging. We came across Red Pole Ranch on a booking site and the reviews were stunning. We can only echo what others have to say about it. The welcome is as if you were long lost friends popping in for a coffee. The cabins themselves are fitted out up to the highest standard and so comfortable getting out of bed in the morning is hard. At night the sky can be so clear you can see literally millions of stars. The owners of the ranch have taken that into account and fitted red low power light bulbs outside so as to reduce light pollution, simple and very thoughtful.
Cody is just 10 miles in one direction were they have loads of eateries, and about 3 miles in the other direction is an equally as good restaurant attached to an RV park.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrisx2Leeds_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bountiful, Utah, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Absolutely the best place to stay -- reasonably priced - fantastic location -- my pre-teen daughter loved the horses and my husband loved the convenient fishing locations. We took Patty's recommendation for horse-back riding and had a wonderful time. Would not hesitate to recommend Red Pole to anyone and would love to stay there again!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vedano al Lambro, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
427 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed at the ranch with my family last summer on our way from Wyoming to Yellowstone and we were definitely satisfied with our choice.
The place is aorund 5 miles west of Cody, on the road to Yellowstone, immersed in a wonderful nature where you can experience awesome night skyes full of stars.
The cabins are nice, well equipped with fridge and a water heater.
There is also a nice garden outside with some games for the children.
A great location for a very affordable price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Corrado R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cody hotels
12.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cody - Yellowstone
13.4 mi away
Best Western Sunset Inn
11.8 mi away
The Cody Hotel
The Cody Hotel
#3 of 29 in Cody
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Ivy Inn & Suites
14.3 mi away
Buffalo Bill Cabin Village
11.9 mi away
Cody Cowboy Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schmalz's Red Pole Ranch and Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schmalz's Red Pole Ranch and Motel

Property: Schmalz's Red Pole Ranch and Motel
Address: 574 Stagecoach Trl, Yellowstone Park Highway, Cody, WY 82414-7897
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cody
#10 Family Hotel in Cody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the East Yellowstone Valley between Cody Wyoming and Yellowstone National Park. We specialize in overnight stays with special longer stay rates, Weddings, Family Reunions, and Memorial Services. Lofty snow-capped peaks are visible across the valley from the Ranch! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Schmalz's Red Pole Ranch and Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schmalz`s Red Pole Ranch Hotel Cody

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing