We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful quiet place to rest”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cody
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Schmalz's Red Pole Ranch and Motel
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Luxurious beds and all the amenities and absolute quiet solitude. We had full satellite TV, coffee service, micro and refrig. Heating and cooling superb. The best were thick and bedding heavy and cozy..

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DOCBABE_SCOUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 159 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed in Cody as part of a long weekend trip. Clean, comfortable and quiet cabin. Would not hesitate to stay there again. Seemed like a nice family run business and gave us good recommendations for breakfast.

Room Tip: I'll bet all the cabins are clean and cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreenRiverCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed in cabin #1 on the Red Pole Ranch during our September trip to Cody and Yellowstone NP. Cabin was clean and sufficient for the two of us. Only negative about the room was there was no bathroom fan or window present. Very nice view from the front of the cabin and far enough off the highway so as not to hear the traffic. Located about 11 miles from Cody and 35 miles or so from the east entrance to Yellowstone NP this location worked out well for us during our stay. Cody State Park and reservoir boarder the ranch to the east and north. I would recommend this to couples who want a quiet and peaceful getaway while enjoying all the wonders of the area. I would not suggest these cabins to families with more than one well behaved child as the owners do not appreciate ANY excessive noises at all even though their lawn was being watered by a very noisy lawn sprinkler that they had running 24/7's right out in front of our cabin. Be sure and have good binoculars with you while at the Cabin as the pronghorns and other wildlife in the area will keep you entertained during your stay.

Room Tip: There are about 8 cabins that we saw. I would stay away from cabin #2 as the view is somewhat blocke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vintago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schmalzie, Owner at Schmalz's Red Pole Ranch and Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

These Colorado folks (Vintago) seemed to be plenty nice enough when they were staying with us, and seemed to be very happy with our place. On the morning they were leaving, Patty and I awoke in the very early dawn, to hear a vehicle running, and the headlights shining into our window! Oh well, they are just leaving a bit early I thought! About 40 minutes later, after much door slamming, vehicle engine running, and those headlights shining into other clients windows, I decided to ASK them if they would "please shut off your engine and headlights" and promptly told them "Thank You"! The Quiet that these folks valued so immensely was something I was just trying to extend to the REST of the guests who were staying at our Ranch that day! Wyoming and some surrounding states are going through perhaps the DRIEST Period in history, and with the amount of lawns we have here (two acres) and our quest to keep it all green-requires us to keep sprinklers running day and night! That little sprinkler was at least 50-60 feet from Cabin #1 that morning, I might add!
We have had many many families stay here over the years, and their children don't bother us or our other guests at all. We also have family reunions and Weddings here too, but they don't wake everyone at the "Crack of Dawn"!
Thank you
Don Schmalz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Arrived in the dark, eastbound from Yellowstone. The address is Cody, but look carefully for the sign about 10 miles east of town. Awoke to find a scenic Wyoming valley with mountains beyond. This is a well maintained, old school, cabin-style motel property with all the comforts of home except wifi. Cell service was fine. The cabins are clean but free of cleaning scents - always a plus. The Red Pole is priced right and offers a great, off-the-beaten-path alternative to the big box chains.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmcrochny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Stayed 3 nights in late August 2012, and really enjoyed the view. Nice "clean" cabins with all the needs of home. After visiting around during the day, enjoyable just sitting for the sunset and sunrise enjoying the cool breeze and watching the antelopes feed and play across the road. It is everything all reviews stated, Don & Patty made you feel very welcome and provided information requested. You can't go wrong staying here!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny Ray I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

we have spent many trips ending up at the RED POLE RANCH. its the cleanest, friendliest, spot you can spend a night or week. Don and Patty Jo are the best. ya want some stories, just sit around the campfire with Don and Patty Jo. The Red Pole is the resting spot after leaving the park or just before you enter on the east side. Just far enough from Cody to be out in the wilds.
Great Spot, can't wait to get back there.
Warren Miller

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank warren77_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We had originally booked 2 nights at the Red Pole Ranch and 1 night at a hotel in Cody as a base while exploring Yellowstone. We arrived in the evening and were blown away in the morning by what we saw outside our cabin. Beautiful mountains behind us and antelope grazing in the park across the road. After our 1st night, my 8 and 15 yr. old daughters begged us to cancel our Cody hotel with the pool and extend our stay at the Red Pole. Patty Jo was wonderful in making that happen. The cabins have everything you need, are clean and comfortable. I cannot say enough nice things about the Red Pole and Patty Jo. When I told her we wanted to take a break from all the driving in the park one day and go whitewater rafting, she made our reservation for us and recommended which trip to take. Our whole family had a blast. What a wonderful little place. I highly recommend staying here. Perfect for our family of 4.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraBSt_Louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cody hotels
14.5 mi away
A Western Rose Motel
13.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Ivy Inn & Suites
13.4 mi away
Best Western Sunset Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Cody at Buffalo Bill Village
14.3 mi away
Buffalo Bill Cabin Village
12.0 mi away
Big Bear Motel
Big Bear Motel
#13 of 29 in Cody
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schmalz's Red Pole Ranch and Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schmalz's Red Pole Ranch and Motel

Address: 574 Stagecoach Trl, Yellowstone Park Highway, Cody, WY 82414-7897
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cody
#10 Family Hotel in Cody
Price Range: $89 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the East Yellowstone Valley between Cody Wyoming and Yellowstone National Park. We specialize in overnight stays with special longer stay rates, Weddings, Family Reunions, and Memorial Services. Lofty snow-capped peaks are visible across the valley from the Ranch! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Schmalz`s Red Pole Ranch Hotel Cody

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing