We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of The Cody Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Cody Hotel
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2013

From the time we arrived the people there were very helpful. The room very clean. A very nice breakfast every morning. The dining area very nice as well. Good selection for breakfast, from cereal to sausage and egg omelet or waffles. The hotel has a shuttle to pick up or drop off at the airport or take you to town. You can check out bicycles for a ride. There is a guest laundry. There is a workout room and swimming pool if you so desire. Coffee 24/7 in the lobby. I would stay there again. In fact my wife & I are planning a return trip next year.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,070)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

558 - 564 of 1,070 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Cody with our two Australian Shepherds on July 13 on our way back to our home in Monterey, California from the East Coast. We had been spending between $100 and $125 for a decent motel (usually a La Quinta because they accept dogs without a fee and are usually clean and well maintained), but we decided to spend more in this beautiful Wyoming town ($199 plus taxes after a bit of negotiation and no pet fee!). This hotel was quite new with nice mountain decor. We were given a king room on the first floor (the only floor with pet rooms). The room turned out to be an ADA room which was a small disappointment because there was no bathtub and the counter with only one sink had almost no counter space for toiletries. (I had to put mine on the credenza in front of the TV panel.) But otherwise, it was very nice with lovely bedding, a fridge, TV, plugs for electronics, a big club chair, desk AND a back door that led out to a gravel area to walk the dogs - very handy for walking them before bed and first thing in the morning. The mattress and bedding were sublime - the best we had during our 20 nights on the road to and from the East Coast!
We also used the guest laundry which was very nice and clean (although two of the four dryers were out of order). The breakfast room was very nice and they served a lovely egg fritata along with sausage as well as the other usual fare (cereal, juice, english muffins, bread, etc.) The front desk staff was friendly and helpful and cookies were waiting at check in time.
I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Not sure, but perhaps a non ADA room might have more counter/sink space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We were very pleasantly surprised with The Cody. We had no idea what to expect but it was perfectly clean, had great Western decor, friendly staff, sits in a good location, was quiet, and resonably priced. Our only complaints were that the sink water pressure was very poor and the room really never cooled down to our liking after we checked in and turn down the thermostat. If they know a room is going to be rented, they should not turn up the thermostat so high. The desk clerk suggest a restaurant for us, and it was outstanding (Wyomings Rib & Chop House).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jelh47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Our one night stay at the Cody was perfect:
1. The front desk and check in was helpful, friendly, and easy
2. The room was spacious and extremely clean
3. The beds were very comfortable
4. We noticed a few little things that other hotels rarely think of: Towel hooks near the shower, telephone in the bathroom, 4 big fluffy towels, easy temperature management, two luggage racks with hooks above for easy packing, the wi-fi was easy to access.
5. Breakfast was nice: eggs, sausage, made to order waffles, and other Continental items. The breakfast room was kept clean and food was replaced regularly.

All in all, a great place to stay. One thing that could be improved on: There could be more sound insulation in the room walls. We heard the pitter patter of little feet in the room above us until time for bed as well as in the halls.

Room Tip: Stay on the third floor so there is no noise in the room above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coloradon8v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Beautiful lobby. Very clean. Well appointed rooms although not large, adequate. Nice pool area, nice breakfast area, cookies and coffee in lobby. Friendly staff. Nice beds and bedding. Good location near rodeo. True it is costly (as is everywhere around the park in July) but nice. We also stayed in Jackson and West Yellowstone and this was my wife's favorite hotel. Would recommend and stay again when going back.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank Bert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Our family of four stayed one nicht with our friends from Switzerland and their two teenage daughters. It is very close to the Cody Rodeo on the west side if Cidy. Our room had a balcony with a small waterfall below. The front desk people were very helpful especially in recommending a restaurant. We went to the Geyser brewing company next TJ the rodeo. It was an excellent suggestion. I highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The Cody is located on the far West sdie of Cody by the Rodeo arena. It is a very modern and clean hotel. They serve a very good Continental breakfast from 6-10 AM. We spent two nights and on the day of our departure, we left before 6 AM and they had the coffee ready by 5:30 AM and had everything out. They had an egg casserole, sausage links and waffle making. They also had the normal continental breakfast items, yogurt, bagels, english muffins, etc.

They also have a pool, hot tub, dry sauna and workout facility with two (2) treadmills, an elipticle, a stationary bike and a weight machine. The pool and hot tub did not have restrictive hours. We brought our cooler with water, but I don't think they would bother you if you brought a few beers in as long as they were cans. The place was extremely clean.

We had a standard room with (2) queen beds and it was very nice and clean. It had a small frig which didn't seem real cold. The price was about $220 a night although I can find my receipt.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Huskerfan8080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cody hotels
1.6 mi away
Best Western Sunset Inn
2.7 mi away
A Western Rose Motel
1.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Ivy Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Cody at Buffalo Bill Village
2.6 mi away
Buffalo Bill Cabin Village
1.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cody - Yellowstone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cody Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cody Hotel

Address: 232 W Yellowstone Ave, Cody, WY 82414-8724
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Cody
#5 Family Hotel in Cody
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cody
Price Range: $114 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cody Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cody is the only hotel providing guests in Yellowstone Country with luxury western hospitality. We are conveniently located just 50 miles from the East Entrance to Yellowstone National Park and close to the famous Cody Night Rodeo and Buffalo Bill Historical Center. Plan to spend several days in Cody because there is so much to do including river rafting, horseback riding, wildlife viewing, scenic drives, fly fishing and more. Call us for additional information and expert assistance with completing your vacation plans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cody Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cody Hotel Cody
The Hotel Cody
Cody The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing