We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice property”
Review of The Cody Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cody Hotel
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We enjoyed our one night stay at this hotel. Really nice landscaping and plenty of parking. The public areas are very nice with several nice sitting areas. Travis facilitated our check in and also assisted us later with another matter.
The room has a fridge and microwave nicely tucked away. The flat screen was kind of small but certainly adequate. The roomy vanity is outside of the bathroom. There is a small mirror (and a scale) inside the bathroom area and I used an extension cord to dry my hair in the bathroom so as to not disturb our sleeping toddler. The air conditioning unit required us to make a decision between setting a temp & listening to it cycle on and off all night or running the fan on constant. We chose to run the fan constantly and the room did get a little warmer than we like for sleeping. It was a good thing we had the cover noise because when people began returning from the rodeo between 10:10 and 10:45 it was rather noisy in the first floor hall.
Breakfast area is quite separate from the lobby and nicely decorated. Usual breakfast fare with good coffee. The breakfast is served from one long counter & this did become a little congested with people trying to butter their toast, etc. instead of stepping aside. I know the hotel was not full this night and the breakfast room always had a table available. A few people did not have the courtesy to put their dishes in the tub & the attendant was unsure whether to clear or not.
The fitness room served the need. Did not use the pool but how nice to have 24 hour access. I hope to stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: If you are near the elevators, have some room fan noise to cover the return of late guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Takemeaway79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,078)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

589 - 595 of 1,078 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2013

This was a nice hotel right on the edge of Cody (across from the rodeo). The staff was very friendly and offered great restaurant recommendations. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. I even watched the staff help a young boy put together a breakfast to surprise his mom with breakfast in bed.

I did feel like the hotel was a bit over-hyped though. The hotel's website touts that each room has a patio or balcony, that hot breakfast is served on china, evening refreshments are served in the lobby, and there are s'mores by the fire. Our room did indeed have a balcony. Unfortunately it was unusable because it overlooked the roof of the lobby which was covered with noisy air condition units. China was provided to eat on and parts of the breakfast were hot. However, the breakfast was really no different than what you receive at most hotels that advertise a hot breakfast these days. You could make your own waffles and there was a warming tray of sausage and eggs. While I will give it to them that nothing in the description stated that it would be anything different, when they brag that it is served on china I expected something more like what is provided at Embassy Suites (especially given the price) where your breakfast is made to order on a hot buffet line. The nightly refreshments consisted of a tray of cookies at the lobby front desk and there were no s'mores. The a/c unit in the room was extremely loud (in addition to the fleet of units running on the rooftop). This is a small thing, but when a hotel advertises itself as a luxury hotel, I expect the shower head to be a quality higher than what's found in the standard college dorm.

I was really looking forward to staying at this hotel during our trip. This hotel was going to be a "splurge." Despite the fact that we didn't stay in cheap hotels during our trip, we also stayed in National Park lodges. Unfortunately, I was disappointed with this hotel. I wish I would have stayed at the very nice looking Best Western a mile down the road for what was probably close to half the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't have a balcony that overlooks a roof full of a/c units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Meghan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The hotel is located at the main road. But you can sleep quiet because the place is at the end of town with less traffic. The hotel is in good shape and has a good standart, but it is not luxurious. You can park easy and free in front of the hotel. The big parking lot and the treeless area is not the place, where you like to be for several days. The rooms have a good size and clean comfortable beds. The hotel is decorated with lots of elements and pictures from the old wild west. There are lots of group tourists. Staff is friendly. We can recommend the hotel for a comfortable overnight stay before or after Yellowstone. The price is slightly high enough, but the value is ok.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotbath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I was very impressed with The Cody. The pool is open 24 hours and is very nice. The breakfast is egg casserole, sausage, waffles, fruit, bagels and cereals. The rooms are nice - the housekeeping staff made animal figures out of the towels which was fun for the kids.
The hotel staff is very friendly. Our kids got to make smores...sort of.they were out of chocolate, but they had fun roasting marshmallows by the outdoor fire pit. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShellyE41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stayed at the Cody on 5/22/13. The hotel is wonderful. It was clean, clean, clean! . The staff is friendly. It is very nicely decorated (rustic lodge). We were upgraded to a bigger room which was very much appreciated! The beds were extremely comfy. The comforters were feather beds. The breakfast was above average. The coffee was tasty. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank JJacky_1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stopped here on our way to Yellowstone based on Tripadvisor reviews, and we were not disappointed. Had a king room with a balcony overlooking the mountains. Our room was perfect, bed very comfortable, great amenities. Very nice facility overall, and the staff was very welcoming as well. Travis took time to review a map after husband decided to change our route home. On our return, we visited the Buffalo Bill Cody museum, and we would rank that very high as well, wish we would have had longer than a several hours to spend there. If I had to complain about anything, it would be that the breakfast area is a bit too small, very crowded the morning we ate there. We would definitely return if we ever come back to the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marily21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed the evening of 5/28/13. Came away from a week plus at Glacier and Yellowstone to spent a night and day in Cody, primarily to visit the incredible Buffalo Bill - Plains Indian/Plains Natural History/Western Art/Gun Museum. Great hotel. Not inexpensive but worth an evening in a almost new upscale facility with an attentive staff and great breakfast bar. Highly recommend. We have never slept in a more comfortable bed.

Room Tip: Might have a slightly better view in a West facing room, but largely unimportant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cody hotels
1.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Ivy Inn & Suites
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Cody at Buffalo Bill Village
2.5 mi away
Cody Legacy Inn
Cody Legacy Inn
#12 of 29 in Cody
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western Sunset Inn
2.2 mi away
Chamberlin Inn
Chamberlin Inn
#4 of 29 in Cody
357 reviews
1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cody - Yellowstone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cody Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cody Hotel

Address: 232 W Yellowstone Ave, Cody, WY 82414-8724
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Cody
#4 Family Hotel in Cody
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cody
Price Range: $148 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cody Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cody is the only hotel providing guests in Yellowstone Country with luxury western hospitality. We are conveniently located just 50 miles from the East Entrance to Yellowstone National Park and close to the famous Cody Night Rodeo and Buffalo Bill Historical Center. Plan to spend several days in Cody because there is so much to do including river rafting, horseback riding, wildlife viewing, scenic drives, fly fishing and more. Call us for additional information and expert assistance with completing your vacation plans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Cody Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cody Hotel Cody
The Hotel Cody
Cody The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing