We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History in Miniature”

Old West Miniature Village and Museum
Ranked #25 of 56 things to do in Cody
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Thousands of miniature figures show various stages in the history of the Wyoming Territory from the 1600's to the late 1800's.
Westminster
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“History in Miniature”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Lots of artifacts, great mini display encompassing a lot of history, with voice explanation of what you were looking at. Absolutely take the kids, and learn a lot yourself!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank WJVets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    23
    3
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Navarre, Florida
Level Contributor
336 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Maybe miniature however”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

A museum within a trading post. No fee however donations gratefully accepted. They have a placard that you can use as a guide as you walk through the museum. There is also a recording at various sections of the miniature layout - which is very impressive. Also impressive are the many artifacts from the native Americans that were on the lands in the area. Personally, for us the native artifacts spoke loudly on how they wasted little. A nice exhibit and good for those with chlldren.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank rvtraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“"GREAT" a must see”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

To start off, it's free. You can give a contribution if you would like to help with the upkeep. Usually when leaving an exhibit you exit through the gift shop. Not here. You enter through the gift shop and then visit the museum. Fantastic. If your in Cody you must stop and see because I can't even begin to do it justice.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank J0HN316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A treasure”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were recommended this by American friends and were so glad we had the time to visit, you need at least an hour to take it all in. It gave a great insight into the history of the time, with lots of models and thousands of exhibits in wonderful condition, all beautifully displayed with obvious love and attention to detail. I believe the owner said he had started over 40 years ago as a child - and it just grew! This was free to enter, although we were only too happy to put a donation in the box. There is also a shop at the front, with lots of good things to buy.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank pensy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
112 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Mini BIG History Lesson”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

At first I thought this would be corny, looking at the history of the Old West through miniatures. Wrong! It was an excellent way to witness the purity of the original West, and see how my European ancestors encroached. Much to learn about this in our New West.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank kvportlandoregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old West Miniature Village and Museum also viewed

 

Been to Old West Miniature Village and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing