We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barely ok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Buffalo Bill Cabin Village
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Barely ok”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed in September on a National Parks and Canyons tour. Shocked to find a tiny, tiny cabin that smelled like a musty old caravan that has been locked up for months. Not happy, but on tour, so no choice. Just looked longingly at the Holiday Inn and Comfort Inn - oh well...... We had one queen sixed bed that was jammed up against the wall (my side) so to get out of bed in the middle of the night without climbing over my husband, I had to climb over and get caught up in the comforter on the end of the bed. We are adults! I wouldn't stay here by choice and feel sorry for those who have no choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    84
    66
    28
    16
See reviews for
78
98
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tomahawk, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The cabin we had for our overnight stay had a king bed. This didn't leave much walking around room. There was a large cabinet for clothes which took up more space. We did have enough outlets to plug in our computer and phone charger though. The room and bathroom were both clean and the bed was very comfortable. The air conditioner was high on the wall and blew right onto the bed. It made a lot of noise and the fan blew continually until we were able to shut it down in the middle of the night. Then we were able to use the the ceiling fan which was a nice feature that most places do not have. It was okay for one night, but a longer stay might leave you feeling a little claustrophobic unless there are cabins that are larger.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomahSouth40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
150 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed here just one night on a coach tour of the Nayional parks. Clean, comfortable and within walking distance of most of the town. Cabins reminded me of large dog kennels but were adequate with two large beds and had a decent size bath and plenty of good towels and hot water. Breakfast was buffet and was good enough to get guing for the day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petepenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed at the cabins in September. I reserved the cabin based on the description, photos and reviews online. I was shocked when we got there! Where were the winding garden path, the serenity, the GRASS and TREES? The cabins are lined up along a gravel drive/ alley and a main street/highway is behind the wall. There is an elementary school across the street at the end of the gravel drive. I did not see any grass; there was a lone bedraggled sapling by the soda machine in the middle of the line of cabins. The room was tiny. Two double beds barely fit. One luggage rack that was against the wall by the bathroom door. This required a sideways shuffle to get by a suitcase in order to get into the bathroom. The only good thing was the beds were very comfortable. The room was relatively clean, but as small as it was, a shelf and hangers would have been better than the big cupboard. There was a 2 wide top on the headboard that was covered in dust and since it protruded making it uncomfortable for sitting up in bed, but there was no place else to sit. We arrived early evening & very tired, otherwise I would have demanded a refund. There was nothing quaint or serene about this.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank L0ri101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica R, Public Relations Manager at Buffalo Bill Cabin Village, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback.
We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable accommodations and friendly services. It is distressing to hear that you feel as though you were mislead. The vast majority of our cabins do have some grass and trees around them and I apologize for your disappointment in not receiving one of those. We sincerely hope you will give (name of the hotel and city location) another opportunity when in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cody hotels

Riverton, Wyoming
1 review
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Was such a nice, comfortable place to stay. So cozy. The staff was very friendly and let us know of everything fun to do in town. I would recommend to everyone. Beds were so, so, so, comfortable. Not the usual motel/hotel bed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

This place is OLD and needs a big revamp and brought into the 21st Century. It will still get folk booking (primarily the motorcycle groupies and old folk tours) but they should take heed as this place is falling apart. Our shower almost flooded the bath. About the only plus points are the main office shopping, the 5 pm dip and chip tasting and our beds were comfortable. The Customer Care and treatment was sorely missing! Upon check out no one even bothered to say 'how was your stay' or 'come back again' or anything ... just turn in your keys and that was really the only caring point...in fact, when we checked out the old lady at the computer and her staff had their backs to us the entire time and really couldn't be bothered ... sad in this economic day.

Room Tip: I wouldn't think any of the rooms were good because the entire site is quite OLD!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Englandswings123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica R, Public Relations Manager at Buffalo Bill Cabin Village, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I must assure you that we do care very deeply about how our guests are treated. I am very sorry that you had an experience with our front desk staff that left a bad taste in your mouth. Please be assured that this review will be used as an example of what not to do at our next staff meeting. I am also sorry to hear that your shower was not behaving as it should. I hope that you called our maintenance staff so we knew that it needed to be fixed. You may also be pleased to know that we have plans to renovate the hotel in the near future. We hope that you give us a chance to change your perception of our hotel at some other point in time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
215 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Being a hotel person, I was unsure what to expect when I set up a reservation at the Buffalo Bill Cabin Village. We were pleased to find our cabin was very neat and clean and everything in good working order. The two bedrooms were on either side of the bathroom and both rooms had a wall a/c unit that functioned very well. We appreciated the fact that we could park right beside the cabin as this made it easy to repack our luggage for the flight home a couple days later after two weeks on the road. It should be noted that the bedrooms are not spacious as the beds take up most of the rooms and the only other place to sit is a straight back chair. This would best serve guests who want an overnight stop. I recommend staying here for the experience and go to the Cody Night Rodeo for evening entertainment. This is a neat place to stay for a feeling of being out west but, again, limit this to a fairly short stopover.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SilverStar092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cody hotels
1.0 mi away
Best Western Sunset Inn
2.5 mi away
The Cody Hotel
The Cody Hotel
#3 of 29 in Cody
1,006 reviews
0.2 mi away
A Western Rose Motel
A Western Rose Motel
#11 of 29 in Cody
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cody at Buffalo Bill Village
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Buffalo Bill Village Resort
0.8 mi away
Cody Legacy Inn
Cody Legacy Inn
#10 of 29 in Cody
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffalo Bill Cabin Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Bill Cabin Village

Property: Buffalo Bill Cabin Village
Address: 1701 Sheridan Ave, Cody, WY 82414-3821
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Buffalo Bill Cabin Village 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exteriors are historic hand hewn log; the interior is a full service hotel room with full bath, cable/color TV, coffee makers, etc. 83 individual cabins - they vary in size from one bedroom/one bath with a king or queen bed; a double and twin bed, two doubles or two queen beds; two bedroom/one bath cabins with 2 double beds in one room and one double or one queen in the other. All are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Buffalo Bill Cabin Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Bill Cabin Village Hotel Cody
Cody Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing