We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff and Clean, Comfortable Place To Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Buffalo Lodge Inn and Grill
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chugwater
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Travelling on business and Chugwater was in the right place at the right time. The restaurant was closing up for the night and the owner/hostess asked everyone who came in if they wanted anything and could serve us dinner at the small bar. My meal was very good! They treated every guest I saw there like family. My room was clean and neatly made up. I'll definitely recommend this small family owned place to my friends.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SturgisSoundGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 61 of 61 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2011

The first night they called our room at 11 o'clock at night to see when we were going to check in and pay. We don't know how one might get a key and move in without having checked in and paid. Of course we were sound asleep when they called. The second night they had a band in the parking lot right outside our room that played (off-key) until 2 in the morning. At the very least, they could have put us in a room on the back side. Not a pleasant experience. We were in Chugwater for their annual Chili Cookoff so that might go by the wayside too.

Room Tip: Try Wheatland or Cheyenne
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MaynardSassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

We had to stay in Chugwater for one night on the way home to Denver from Rapid City, SD. Unfortunately, this is the only place in the whole town. While the staff was pleasant and the pricing fair, the room was severly lacking when it comes to cleanliness. The toilet looked similar to a public restroom (almost as bad as a port-o-potty) and the shower had interesting looking stains on its walls. The bed was ok, but not decent and the carpet needed vacuuming. We had a hard time falling asleep due to the fact that noise carried easily in the motel. Overall, it was a last resort for us, but in retrospect we should have kept going to Cheyenne and you should too!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lacey44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2009

Stay there often on trips back & forth to Montana; Quiet place for good sleep, clean, nice staff, check in at 2 am if need to and room held, downfall is no free continental breakfast although the grill has a good breakfast.

Stayed: August 2008
3  Thank 16belfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2008

The Buffalo Lodge & Grill is the only game in town in Chugwater, and they abuse that status. The rooms are reasonably priced, but they understock the towels and under constructed the hotel in general. The door into the room had about a one inch gap under it and while noise was never an issue, I just didn’t feel comfortable with that. The large shower does not have a tall enough step over, and the shower curtain isn’t quite long enough, so the bathroom floor floods easily—not good when you don’t have enough towels anyway. The remote they handed me when they gave me my key did not work on the TV in the room. With only six channels, its not too big a deal, but still! As for the bed, I’ve had worse, but I’m not sure when. While they allowed my traveling terrier, they charged a $9.50 fee for one night.

Most disappointing was breakfast in the “& Grill.” I ordered the chicken fried steak & eggs breakfast, my husband the pancake combo. I have not seen a chicken fried steak like that since the junior high cafeteria. My biscuit was so lard heavy it was sweating grease. Other than salt, the cream gravy lacked flavor. Neither of us finished our meals and we rarely leave food on a plate. We usually tip 20% or better, but the minimal service earned the standard 15% and no more. This breakfast cost us $10 more than a comparable and much more satisfying meal earlier in the week and elsewhere.

If you’re stuck on I-25 on a snowy Saturday night and can’t find other lodging (we couldn’t) this will do. Just don’t expect much. I will only stay/dine here again as a last resort.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank katskil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loic l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Buffalo Lodge Inn and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Lodge Inn and Grill

Address: 100 Buffalo Rd, Chugwater, WY 82210-9656 (Formerly Super 8)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Chugwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chugwater
Price Range: $102 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Buffalo Lodge Inn and Grill 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buffalo Lodge and Grill is a motel, restaurant and bar located right off of I-25 in Chugwater, Wyoming. We offer free Truck and RV Parking as well as partial RV Park. We have 24 beautiful clean rooms in our motel that each have their own design. Our newly renovated restaurant offers delicious home cooked meals. We have a fun bar that opens in the evening as well as a game room upstairs to keep all entertained. We offer sack lunches and laundry service. We are a home away from home for many visitors and contractors. We have a welcome homey atmosphere that is fun for the whole family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Buffalo Lodge Inn and Grill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Lodge Inn And Grill Hotel Chugwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing