We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make sure you find someone to check you out!!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cheyenne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Windy Hills Guest House
Ranked #2 of 13 Cheyenne B&B and Inns
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Make sure you find someone to check you out!!!!”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Our late afternoon arrival to the guest home didn't come soon enough as it is about 45 minutes from Cheyenne where we came from. The sign on the road was down at the highway entrance because of road work. It was very difficult to locate as it was down a hill and not visible from the road. After we found the guest home we were delighted at the beauty of the surroundings and the home itself. We were greeted by the owners son who was very pleasant. He assured us the owner would "come and see us when she returns". The home was very clean and nice. It seemed recently renovated. A short walk down to the lake was a pleasant surprise but we found it on our own. No pool or fitness center. A note was left on the counter top in the kitchen warning us to watch the running toilet in the bathroom. No problem, but that was the only instructions or information of any kind in the room.
Our party had 4 adults and 2 children. We had two rooms and the kitchen area. The beds in the bedrooms were only queen beds but the kids loved the Murphy bed in the dining area. We paid about $375.00 for one night.
We woke the next morning with a flat tire on our car. We called the owner and asked her if she had a compressor that we could use. She was very accommodating and she had it brought up for our use. We still had never met her. Back on the road we went and the phone rang and it was the owner. She was very agitated that we didn't come and find her to check out. It seemed she never recorded our credit card number that we gave her upfront for the deposit she requested. We assumed that she would put the remaining balance of what we owed on that card. This was not so. We gave her our debit card and security code number over the phone and all seemed OK until she called us back a few minutes later and said the card wouldn't go through. The communication of our credit card number was somehow confused. We cleared this up and thought all was good and she said she would email us the final bill. She did. At our next stop in Denver we went to pay for lunch and our debit card got declined. After a phone call to the bank, (took a while as it was Memorial Day) I went online and found out that the guest house had billed us (3) separate times. We called them back, she wasn't sorry at all and told us it was our banks fault. We had to go to our bank when we got home and an inquiry had to be placed. We ended up getting this settled with no help from Windy Hills. This really could of been a nice experience with a little better help from the management...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ebbenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    3
    1
    4
    0
See reviews for
10
16
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Laramie, Wyoming
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This place is the perfect place to get away for a few days if you live in Cheyenne or Laramie. My wife and I went rented a spa house for our wedding night because we didn't have the time to get very far from Laramie. The place was clean and cozy and the hot tub was lots of fun. In the morning we woke up to the most amazing view of the lake. We just stumbled onto this place and I am so glad that we did. Next time we go we're taking all of our outdoor gear so we could spend the whole day outside. We've found a place to go back to again and again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eric q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 29, 2010

I'm shocked by negative reviews by obvious "spoiled & pampered" folks! Windy Hills is not supposed to be perfect. Cookie & her husband were as accommodating as possible. The place was fantastic and it was the peace and quiet we wanted. They, like all of us, are trying to survive this touch recession. Enjoy their dream with them..... Stay at the Marriott if you must have every amenity! Thank you Cookie and Rick for a wonderful 8-day stay in your log cabin this past Sept.(2010). We won't forget it and we will be back.
Allan & Edna. Georgia

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allanpf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estes park Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2010

My wife and I got away for 2 nights at this b and b and stayed in 1 of the spa houses, the other one was not occuppied so we had the area to ourselves. This over looks the lake in Curt Gowdey state park. A lovely setting in the hills of southern Wyoming half way between Laramie and Cheyenne. It is a drive to get anything you need so pick it up on the way there.
The spa house is very nice, roomy, clean and comfortable with a fridge and microwave in the small kitchen. The room is open except for the bathroom which has a nice tiled shower. The bed was comfortable, the pellet stove was not available without asking the owner to start it for you, not very convenient. The satellite T.V. had no instructions for it or to use the DVD player, we rented a movie and had to ask the owner to come over to show us how to use it, not very convient. The sauna was not available for use, the lounge chairs were not available either, too many excuses for things that should have been available.

The breakfast was very nice and brought to your room, the only problem is it cost $20.00 for a couple, not a good thing for a " Bed and Breakfast", this is the only time we have ever had to pay for breakfast at a B and B, not really a good thing.

I am not a rocket scientist, but I beleive this business could do better by reducing the rate and providing a breakfast as part of the cost, in this economy you need to provide more and not charge more for things that should be included in the price.

Overall this is a nice place, the owners are nice and friendly and the room is very comfortable and clean with nice views. Fortunately there was no one in the other spa house so we had the hot tub and grill for ourselves and did not have to share with someone else.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eparkco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, ct
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2010

We stayed at Windy Hills with our extended family for 3 days. We were the only guests. It is a beautiful location, with a view of the lake, and a nice waterfall /patio area. Many of the other amenities we were looking forward to using were not made available to us: boating,kayaking, canoeing, volleyball, steam room, on-site laundry. The fold out couch in the spa room was too uncomfortable even for kids. The water heater wasn't big enough in the guest house to fill that beautiful jaccuzzi in the master bedroom. The service for the TV went out and we were finally allowed to use the meeting room TV on our last night. We had a mouse problem in both the spa room, and the guest house, from the first night. We were told the mice were a problem and they had a population explosion recently. What was really lacking was service, and communication. All this-at a very high-end price!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sneakers086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Ridge, FL
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2009

We met friends there for the Texas-Wyoming football game and stayed in the Log House. The husbands went brought their fly-fishing gear and caught trout in the beautiful lake. Windy Hills is located between Laramie and Cheyenne, so we were a little remote--which is what we wanted. Cookie and Rick saw to everything we needed. Breakfasts were fantastic--for example: honeyed pear on English muffin, fresh fruit, sausages... The house was beautiful and very well furnished, and the views from it were just postcard-like. I read the negative review and our experience was nothing like that. We hope to meet our friends there again!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lifesabeach24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater Florida
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2009

We were pleasantly delighted on our arrival at Windy Hills B&B. Chipmunks, birds, and deer greeted us each morning as we gazed across beautiful Curt Gowdy Lake. The cabin was magnificent and extremely clean.Cookie gave us places to visit to view area wild life and breathtaking scenery.Snowy Range road was spectacular-building a snow man on July 14 was great for us since we are from Florida.We plan to return and would not think abut staying at any other place. THANKS COOKIE!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bearcatbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheyenne
21.1 mi away
The Historic Plains Hotel
The Historic Plains Hotel
#14 of 33 in Cheyenne
710 reviews
21.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 33 in Cheyenne
332 reviews
20.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Laramie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Cheyenne
Staybridge Suites Cheyenne
#6 of 33 in Cheyenne
51 reviews
20.0 mi away
My Place Hotel-Cheyenne, WY
20.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites Cheyenne Southwest/Downtown Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windy Hills Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windy Hills Guest House

Property: Windy Hills Guest House
Address: 393 Happy Jack Rd, Cheyenne, WY 82009-8243
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cheyenne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Cheyenne
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windy Hills Guest House is a bed and breakfast featuring breathtaking views of the Laramie Mountains and Granite Lake. Curl up next to a private fireplace, enjoy a quiet night in the hot tub, or explore our 67 acres of Wyoming beauty. Just next to Curt Gowdy State Park, Windy Hills's newly renovated accommodations are perfect for all group sizes, from intimate honeymoons to large family reunions. Enjoy breakfast in our dining hall, alongside our serene waterfall and brook, or have it delivered to your room at your convenience. Windy Hills is a place like no other--This Is Wyoming. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing