We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old but not creepy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nagle Warren Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 13 Cheyenne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Kilbride, Scotland
Level Contributor
156 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Old but not creepy”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

When you pull up in front of the mansion, the first thing you spot is that the garden wall has fallen down. This is a bad start, but get over it! The rooms are museum pieces but everything you need is there, including wi-fi, and they are very comfortable and roomy. Jim, the owner, is a very nice man and likes a blether. He is also an excellent cook and does a mean breakfast. It's not an hotel, so don't expect hotel buffet breakfasts - just leave Jim to look after you. Guests are welcome to take soft drinks from the fridge and cookies from the jar, but it's the kind of place that you wouldn't take advantage of that.
Go on - try the Nagle Warren Mansion - it's refreshingly different and better for it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theneills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfoz, Owner at Nagle Warren Mansion Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. After 125 years the wall came tumbling down. We've engineered the replacement, have a great contractor lined up, and the stone is being quarried and cut to the correct size. I'm hoping that we will have it finished before winter. We will be able to reuse the historic cap stone and fence. I was amazed at the scope of the job. Thanks Jim PS Inn keeping always requires a good sense of humor, add a historic building and it best be real good.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    33
    6
    4
    12
See reviews for
29
121
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chittenango NY
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I had the opportunity to stay here for two weeks while relocating to Cheyenne so I had plenty of time to experience the property. I would stay here again and again! The rooms are very comfortable and elegantly decorated. You really do feel as if you are visiting in the glory days of the mansion. With 12 rooms often occupied I never heard noise from another guest. In fact I was often surprised to come down to breakfast and find that there were several other people in the house.
Speaking of breakfast, wow...just wow. In the two week I stayed, breakfast was different every day. Always starting out with a bowl of fresh fruit, I was served everything from pancakes to omelets to quiche and even a deep fried egg. The sausage and bacon are top notch and the service is phenomenal.
If coming to Cheyenne for business, romance, extended stay this property should be on your list of places to stay.

Room Tip: Room Frannie has a fireplace and king bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimwalter23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfoz, Owner at Nagle Warren Mansion Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thanks Jim. Jim Osterfoss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmar, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Recently stayed in Cheyenne, the Bed & Breakfast was wonderful, every where in the Mansion there was something to look at so many details in woodwork, ceilings, furnishings. The owner Jim, was very nice. We enjoyed the Cookie Jar, for a late night snack. Enjoyed the slipper tub with the cowboy rubber ducky, then wrap up in the robe and slippers. If you like historic antique surroundings this is the place for you!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfoz, Owner at Nagle Warren Mansion Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank You, Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We were wonderfully surprised by the mansion, the furnishings and the friendly staff. Jim Osterfoss, the owner, gave us a tour of the mansion, and Jane made us feel as if we were home. Every item in the room (Teddy Roosevelt Room) was carefully thought out...from the restoration details to the items that were placed there for our convenience. Items included the traditional ammenities, such as extra blankets and pillows, toiletries, and a hair dryer, but also included a few surprises, such as a shoe shine kit, shoe horns, boot remover, and various office supplies in the desk. In the Dining Room, we met others for breakfast, and enjoyed making new friends. Delicious food! There is also an "office" area for those who may need to work on the computer, send or receive a fax, or just catch up on their emails. The downstairs has a workout room, with various gym equipment. Also, there is a jacuzzi next to the garden.
We thoroughly enjoyed our visit, and will stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waynebarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfoz, Owner at Nagle Warren Mansion Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank You. Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfred, ND USA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The people were wonderful. The room we stayed in was intriguing - well furnished and equipped. We had the afternoon tea which was quaint and delicious but quite expensive we thought. The breakfast was wonderful. Many rooms need some work - wallpaper peeling, etc. A nice sun room on the third floor was a quiet spot to relax early in the morning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arlyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfoz, Owner at Nagle Warren Mansion Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments we always appreciate them.
I went to your room and went over it in detail and could not find anything wrong. Then it occurred to me that you are referring to the wall paper by the thermostat in the Parlour. This has been an intermittent problem for a while but I think I found the cause and fixed it. After the Wyoming Legislature adjourns in early March we will slow down and I can fix the plaster on the wall and replace that sheet of wall paper.
We do take maintaining the mansion seriously. Preventive maintenance is scheduled and the staff is trained to know what is correct. They either fix or I fix things before they become a problem. On the capitol improvement side we have a minimum budget and then schedule what we feel needs to be accomplished, priorities change due to circumstances.. This past year we re-roofed the mansion which was 22,500 pounds of new roofing material due to hail. This year we will be doing the small stone wall that is between the yard and the sidewalk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The Nagle Warren Mansion is an absolute gem that is lovingly managed by Jim. Every possible comfort is provided, and the location is perfect for exploring Cheyenne. We had the 'Black Jack' Pershing room, which was simply outstanding. Jim is a friendly and knowledgable source of Western lore and of the history of the house and its previous occupants. As other reviewers have mentioned, the price is very reasonable and great value for money given the quality provided, so if you want to a true old-West experience with all modern comforts, the Nagle Warren Mansion is a perfect choice.

Room Tip: Some ground floor rooms have a small patio, which is a nice feature.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alaskan_red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfoz, Owner at Nagle Warren Mansion Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you, we all enjoy providing hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This B & B was so interesting. The owner gave us a full tour of the place ( it IS a museum that others can visit), and then he brought us to our rooms upstairs, which are off-limits to visitors. This place is full of antiques that everyone can use. It is the most unique inn I have ever stayed in! The rooms are large and clean, each with their own unique bathroom.We unfortunately had to leave very early, so we didn't get to stay for breakfast. However, Jim did provide us with fresh fruit,coffee, tea, milk and cereal for us to eat before we left for our flight home.It was within walking distance to many restaurants and shops in the center of town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katrina1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfoz, Owner at Nagle Warren Mansion Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cheyenne hotels
0.2 mi away
The Historic Plains Hotel
The Historic Plains Hotel
#13 of 33 in Cheyenne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 33 in Cheyenne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
1.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Cheyenne Southwest/Downtown Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Cheyenne
Hampton Inn Cheyenne
#5 of 33 in Cheyenne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Cheyenne Southwest/Downtown Area
1.4 mi away
My Place Hotel-Cheyenne, WY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nagle Warren Mansion Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nagle Warren Mansion Bed and Breakfast

Property: Nagle Warren Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Address: 222 E 17th St, Cheyenne, WY 82001-4506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cheyenne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Cheyenne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nagle Warren Mansion Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting an ideal location, excellent accommodations, pampering service, and fine food the mansion has been fully restored and includes everything that today's traveler needs. The Nagle Warren Mansion offers guest an opportunity to enjoy Cheyenne and live the life of a Cattle Barron. Allow us to pamper you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Nagle Warren Mansion Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing