We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy family”
Review of Luxury Diner

Luxury Diner
Ranked #7 of 188 Restaurants in Cheyenne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Luxury Diner is the friendliest place in town with the most memorable food!We're one of the most unchanged restaurants in all of America, serving only handmade food. We've also been featured on Food Network's Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very happy family”
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

We've been on the road for 5 weeks and have eaten most meals out. We're frequently dissatisfied with the quality and/or price. We were thrilled to have a delicious and filling home style breakfast for a change. And we were shocked when the bill for our family of four was less than $30! We highly recommend the Luxury Diner for anyone looking for high quality home style breakfast fare at surprisingly low rates. We would definitely come back on any future stays in Cheyene!

Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    99
    36
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
194 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good food but unhappy waitresses”
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

The pancakes and French toast excellent, the scrambled eggs were better than average the coffee was better than average. The restaurant was busy so that's probably why it took awhile to get our food. It would have been a better experience if the waitresses and that young woman cashier smiled even just a little bit.

Helpful?
Thank Luv W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

We read about this diner and thought we would stop for breakfast on our way out of town. We were sadly disappointed. They took our order right away but the food didn't arrive at our table for at least 20 minutes, but they made the toast as soon as they took our order. We saw it sit there and get cold and dry the whole time we were waiting. Then when our breakfast finally came to the table my wife's order was wrong. We didn't want to send it back because we didn't have another 20 minutes to wait for our meal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Norm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Good food, long wait.”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Yes, we agree, the food is yummy. We went here for lunch and had the chicken fried steak and patty melt which were both really tasty. BUT, when we eat at a diner we expect really good food, delivered quickly, and it just wasn’t. We waited quite a long time for our food. So yes, you can get really good, tasty, diner food here, but if you come at a semi-busy time, expect to wait quite a while for it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jules_and_Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Center, Kansas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just Average”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Was a little disappointed. They were out of mashed potatoes, cinnamon rolls and soup. The service was friendly but the place was a bit run down. Wished we had picked a different place for our first visit to Cheyenne.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RRB-KS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John C, Owner at Luxury Diner, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
I want to sincerely apologize that we were out of some of our most popular items during your visit. Our rail car is one of the most unchanged restaurants in America, but we always make sure our small space is spick and span. If you're ever back in Cheyenne, I'd love another opportunity to show you a great meal.

Sincerely,
John Coolbaugh, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luxury Diner also viewed

 

Been to Luxury Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing