We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Place To Eat”
Review of The Albany

The Albany
Ranked #3 of 190 Restaurants in Cheyenne
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Henryetta, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
86 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very Good Place To Eat”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Ate dinner here a couple of times when staying in Cheyenne. Good food and
I like to old style interior in the old downtown building. I enjoyed eating here
and recommend it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Somi Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    182
    52
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
50 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Traditional American Dining”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

I've been going here for years. Hadn't been in a while so I stopped in for dinner with the wife last week. Thankfully, nothing has changed. They offer a wide variety on the menu. there something for everyone. It's best to stick with the American tradition items like steaks, The chicken fried stew is also excellent. Non traditional food, such a Mexican dishes are just so-so in my opinion. Prices are reasonable, and service is always friendly and good. The owner is usually there to greet you and make sure you are being served well. Going here is a bit like stepping back in time, and I mean that in a good way.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChasMartel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
111 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great American Food and Atmosphere”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This is a great restaurant that serves American food, I like the patty melt - Go there often - nice old building and great pictures of the area on the wall.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LegalEagle0907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
80 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cool piece of history and Delicious food”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I decided to do something different for New Year's Eve, so we went to Cheyenne for their NYE Ball Drop and fireworks display. It was a fun evening, and we had a delicious dinner at the Albany Restaurant. This restaurant has been here since 1942, and is just across from the old Train Depot. I had the prime rib, was delicious and came with real horseradish...none of that weakened horseradish sauce so many restaurants serve. The baked potato was cooked perfectly. My husband had the chicken fried steak, and he said it was definitely worth the trip. They have an extensive dessert menu, but we were just too full to try any of the tasty-sounding items. We'd come back!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank pkc57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best in Cheyenne”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

The Albany was recommended to me by a local bookstore merchant and he was right on. Best red trout I've ever eaten! The place is an old tavern with friendly service and reasonable prices.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank chipper002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Albany also viewed

 

Been to The Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing