We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We Followed the Crowd!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Albany

The Albany
Ranked #2 of 186 Restaurants in Cheyenne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
243 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“We Followed the Crowd!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Very nice restaurant and drinking establishment in old downtown Cheyenne. Decor is nice. Crowded restaurant needed more food servers for patrons choosing to sit in the bar area for their meal. Other than that, we enjoyed our meal. There were four in our party and each of us ordered something different. All meals were prepared and served as ordered. My husband's prime rib was outstanding. We would definitely return if in the area again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sewkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    170
    51
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
97 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere OK Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Prices are reasonable and service is good and friendly. Menu is varied and food is only average but still worth a visit. Like the atmosphere with Old West photos decorating the walls.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
161 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Best steak!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

When I visit downtown Cheyenne I have at least one meal at the Albany. The menu is extensive but I think they have great beef. I usually get the large prime rib for dinner and the prime rib sandwich for lunch. For lighter fare - I go for the Greek salad. The bar adjoins the restaurant and is an old style bar with reasonable prices. It's a great place to meet friends or conduct business!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AlanDOHashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Awful! Awful! Awful!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by a member of the front desk staff at our hotel - did he get told off! When we parked the car it didn't feel that good a place to be in after dark. When we entered the place a lady who was sitting eating with others got up from her seat, didn't speak to us but grabbed two mucky menus and showed us way to the back of the room to a booth and left us there, obviously made us feel really welcome! The booth was just big enough for two, had wooden bench seats which had been scratched and gouged over the years and were not at all comfortable. The overhead light was being held up by cobwebs! The place was mucky to say the least but as the hotel staff member had been effusive in his recommendation we thought we would be silly to pass up the opportunity to dine 'local' The waitress needed a personality transplant. We ordered our food and waited and waited and waited. I could see her reflection through a glass divider entering the kitchen and she was standing eating something from a bowl while we still waited. She bought two tired old looking salads and just plonked them down and went back to her eating. The accompanying dressings for the salads were in tiny paper cups - none of it was appetising so we left it. She came back with our steaks put them down and went off to talk with the people that we had seen when we first came in. The food was stone cold and awful - it had obviously been prepared and left whilst she ate her meal. We complained to her and she said - ok - and walked off! We got up and paid the bill - stupidly - and left. DON'T eat here - we were stupid to even try it - don't copy us!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CumbrianPeppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Downtown favorite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

A recent visit proved that the prime rib is always excellent. This has been a hallmark of the Albany for many years. My folks had the prime rib sandwich, split it between them and had plenty to eat. My dad always orders creme brulee for dessert; I sampled and it was excellent. I noticed a recent change is a waiting area with banquette style seating; a welcome addition as previously there was little room and no seating for customers waiting to be seated. The management gave up a couple of booths to better care for their customers. I had salad with the house dressing (Greek/American) and the patty melt. The salad was fresh but on this visit the dressing had too much vinegar. The sandwich could have used more cheese and the patty was dry and unseasoned.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing