We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Good Old Fashioned Ddiner”
Review of Penny's Dinner

Penny's Dinner
Ranked #70 of 190 Restaurants in Cheyenne
Cuisines: Diner
Restaurant details
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
392 reviews
332 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Really Good Old Fashioned Ddiner”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Have been here a few times and just fot around to writing a review. The outside is reminiscent of an old silver streak dining car. Inside there's a 50's vibe to the décor. It's never been busy when I've been there but that's NOT a knock against the place. Service has ALWAYS been good.

My favorite breakfast has been the make it yuourself oemelet. Usually get bacon, peppers, mushrooms and onions. They throw in cheese along with potatoes and toast. I order the potatoes crispy and that's how they come. Coffee is good, pretty ftrong, nefer burnt.

Lunchtime I gravitate towards the patty melt which comes just like you'd expect on grilled rye. Again I get the fries crispy and I ask for the burger medium and that's how they arrive. A hidden treat is the shakes and malts which are really thick and they leave half for you to drink later in the stainless steel mixer on the counter.

The prices arertight. It's open 24 hours so if you have to eat something at an odd hour, this is the place for good cofort food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    19
    7
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California, USA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Complimentary Breakfast”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Penny's is a 50's-style diner operated by Oak Tree Inn. Hotel provides complimentary coupons to its guests for breakfast. There are two free breakfast choices available, or you can order anything on the menu using the coupon as a discount. Service was prompt and friendly. The food is outstanding and makes a stay at this hotel a good deal.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank GroupLeaderSJHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
87 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Try the daily specials!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

You can order the regular diner food from the menu, but I recommend the specials. I had a steak burrito, which was beef steak chopped fine and grilled with onions, peppers, shredded potatoes and egg. This was rolled into a large soft tortilla, covered with cheese, and then you had you choice of sauce: white gravy or green chili sauce. I had the chili sauce, which had a tang to it but was not hot. My husband had a burger, which he liked but was not impressed with the fries. We were there in the early evening hours on Sunday night, not too busy. Fast service and food served quickly. This is a silver sided, long train car-like building, which offers counter seating as well as booths.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pmhb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming, United States
Level Contributor
204 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is one of the stainless steel like train building. They do have a good breakfast and staff are ok. Good location across from pur mall. Fairly clean and good service. Their hamburgers look really good,have not tried them. Not exactly spectacular but different.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Betty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
97 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Diner Food”
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful surprise and well worth the visit. Good old fashioned Diner food with large portions. Watch your food being prepared right behind the counter. Try the Breakfeast Burrito...huge and tasty.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Penny's Dinner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing