We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Japanese and Shushi”
Review of Tokyo Bowl - CLOSED

Tokyo Bowl
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Description: on yelphttp://www.yelp.com/biz/tokyo-bowl-cheyenne
Wyoming
Level Contributor
65 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Japanese and Shushi”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This place is amazing. Always fresh and inventive food. Shushi is fresh and well prepared. Teriyaki salmon is superb. Best Japanese in region.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank spgsaab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    13
    2
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheyenne, Wyoming, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Katsu roll”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Definitely the best Katsu roll I've ever eaten. My chilled sake went well with it. The Udon noodle soup and tempura my parents had was praised by them. Service was prompt and courteous but the server wouldn't wear her glasses and couldn't read the menu to explain items. Also, I believe she may have been a recent immigrant and so there was a language barrier.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food at a reasonable price”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Being a pretty big sushi fan as I am, I seem to be constantly on the lookout for places that serve up a meal that won't break the bank. Enter Tokyo Bowl, a quaint, heavily renovated former Fast Food restaurant-turned-Asian Bistro. Allow me to say that I have sampled little of the menu outside of their sushi and related offerings. The dining room provides a warm, Asian-fusion atmosphere that still carries with it the distinct look and feel of a fast food chain restaurant, as though insisting on maintaining this nod to its former life. The menu is simple enough, offering the owners' own takes on conventional Americanized-Asian food. The sushi menu (the bulk of their offerings) offers a little bit of everything, but is again demonstrative of Americanized Sushi. The fish is about as fresh as one can hope for, considering we are a great distance from any oceans that would provide a steady stream of fresh product. Their sushi rolls range from very simple and conventional to over-the-top. Unfortunately, many of their rolls contain cream cheese, which is problematic for my lactose-intolerant girlfriend, though they never have a problem substituting the cream cheese for something innocuous like avocado, or omitting it altogether. While not particularly unique or "traditional," all rolls are prepared fresh-to-order and are served most commonly on plain white porcelain with the typical wasabi paste and pickled ginger accompaniments. The vegetables and rice are commonly very fresh and flavorful, suggestive (to this eater) that the chefs take the time to compensate with fresh vegetables what they cannot achieve with fish that isn't as fresh as one may find elsewhere (read: "not in Wyoming.") One thing that does concern me, given their varied offerings, is the inclusion of rolls and sushi built around local fishes, such as Rainbow or Cutthroat Trout, which would be a delightful, unique and local experience. Their selection of non-fountain beverages is decent, even including Ramune and several varieties of Sake, our favorite being their unfiltered Pearl Sake. Prices are decent enough, especially for sushi, though with the caveat that their Sake is a bit on the pricy side. The service is always friendly, prompt and attentive albeit with the distinct challenge of the Asian-English language barrier. Overall, Cheyenne's Tokyo Bowl offers a very decent dining experience for the money, though they would do well to improve the feel and atmosphere of their dining room. A menu with more unique offerings, too, would be most welcome to this eater, although I stipulate that it's probably most-adequate for the average diner/palate. I will be returning to Tokyo Bowl, and that soon.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WyoRenegade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
200 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Absolutely Awesome”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

For Cheyenne, Does not get any better for sushi. Very good even if it was on the coast. Small city inland and it is wonderful. Keep it up guys. Only down side is that it can be busy.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tim k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tokyo Bowl also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing