We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nightmare Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cheyenne
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Cheyenne
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nightmare Hotel”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

There is a train that goes by ALL night long from midnight to 7am. It's unbearably loud and disruptive. Our room was saturated with smoke. The plumbing was outdated and worked poorly. The room was stifling (hot). It was small beyond belief and old and poorly maintained. Stay far away!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tipandchimmy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judy c, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cheyenne, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your concerns with your stay at our Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites in Cheyenne,Wyoming. Your feedback is very valuable to us! I am sorry your stay was unsatisfactory; as for the train noises: due to the diligence of the railroad company,the city of Cheyenne,and several of our hotel partners, construction is set to begin soon to help alleviate the noise issues caused by the trains.
As our hotel is a non-smoking facility,I was saddened to hear it smelled of smoke. I wish I had known that,as I would have taken steps to correct that issue for you. We are only a little over nine (9) years old,however,due to the dedication of our management company to give our guests the very best,we are scheduled for a complete remodel starting in November of this year.
Again,I sincerely apologize for your unsatisfactory stay.
Sincerely,
Judy Cuthbertson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    78
    23
    11
    9
See reviews for
48
72
16
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed from July 25-28 for the Frontier Days celebration. Our check-in was smooth and our king mini-suite ready. We were invited to enjoy the little dinner buffet which consisted of spicy wings (very) and BBQ pulled pork along with macaroni salad, potato salad, brownies, cookies, and drinks. It wasn't haute cuisine but it was hot, filling, and flavorful. Ou room was quite spacious and well appointed. The water pressure in the shower was good. The refrigerator kept our drinks really cold. My only negatives would be that on our second day, we had to request towels as the cleaning lady did not leave any(?!?!) and you better get down rather early for breakfast because the early risers wipe it out. We just went to a restaurant and got breakfast instead. Wasn't A big issue to us but might be to others so FYI. The location of the motel is handy to just about everything as it is at the intersection of the interstates and a major thoroughfare of the city.

Would I stay here again? Absolutely. room was spacious,clean,and cool and a shout-out to Travis for taking care of us. But a warning to fellow travelers: be prepared to pay approximately TWICE the normal rate during the rodeo and frontier days. To us it was worth it, but it might not be to others. :-)

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank peastertexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Forest, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We had two rooms reserved during Frontier Days. Both were available when we checked in, they were right next to each other, which we appreciated. Upon checkin we were invited to have some food from the buffet that was available from 5-7 p.m. Very nice! Good breakfast, good shower, clean rooms. Pleasant staff. Nice room with king bed and comfortable chair, coffee maker, microwave and extra sink. All around very positive stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We spend six days here during thé Frontier Days as à family of five.we Côme from Paris every two year in Cheyenne And havé tried many hôtels....untel we found this one !
Huge juge room With plenty of space for us all. Thé only minus was that we took café of asking for à single folding bed for our little boy aged 8 . It was not ready when we arrived And havé been à aimable only thé second day...but the nightshift concierge helped us thé best hé could to fins us à solution (which hé did) .breakfast is great, thé kitchen is ready to be used, thé pool is enough to refresh from à Parade or Rodéo day. We'll definteley return !

Room Tip: Family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyWyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My wife, twins and I were going to Cheyenne to attend a nephew's graduation. We had booked a room with the Holiday Inn Express and later found a suite at another hotel that would allow us to put our baby twins to sleep in the suite portion of the room while we prepared for the next days' activities in the bedroom adjacent. We called up five minutes after booking the room at the Holiday Inn Express to cancel. The front desk said that was fine. They had not processed the transaction on my credit card and they would merely remove the reservation.

A month passes and I receive my credit card statement in the mail with a $164 charge to the Holiday Inn Express. I call up the hotel and speak Chris, the front office manager. I tell him of my situation. He asks if I had filed a dispute with my credit card company. I told him "no, that I was looking first to them to get this resolved."

Chris said that was good because "once you file a dispute, the hotel can't do anything." He said he would credit back my card and that it would take 2 to 3 business days to show up. Nine days later I check my credit card online transactions and it still had not been credited back.

I file a dispute with my credit card company, filling them in on all that had transpired. They credit my account while they look into the matter.

I have heard back from my credit card company today that they are re-assessing the charge because I do not have a cancellation number. The hotel is saying they are charging a "no show" charge and because I do not have a cancellation number for a reservation that, supposedly, had never been processed.

Lessons learned:
1. Always have them process the reservation and then get a cancellation number.
2. Never trust the front desk manager, Chris, to do what he says he is gong to do.
3. Anytime I can bash the Holiday Inn Express to get them to lose a sale because of this incident, do it. Put it all over social media to warn others and hit them in the pocketbook. You may have gotten my $164, but I hope you lose at least one reservation because of this post. That would make up for it!!!!
4. Holiday Inn Express has forever lost my business, and my family and friends business.

You know those commercials that show them saying "......but I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express."
The tag line should read "....but I did get screwed over by a Holiday Inn Express once." I my focus will be forever "ONCE"!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Cheyenne, WY!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cheyenne, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Lauren M,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cheyenne, WY. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Normally, HI Express has been a good chain for our family on road trips across the country. But this one made us start thinking about other properties.

We got a king suite with a hideabed. Both the mattress and the bed were completely worn out. I don't expect great things from hideabeds, but this one was ready for the dump. When I complained to the desk mgr, he seemed apologetic, but didn't really have any alternatives. We wound up putting the mattress on the floor, and piling as many blankets on as possible...a poor fix.

The second big black mark is the room A/C. We didn't discover until about midnite, when we were too tired to have someone in our room fiddling with it. The A/C (both units) would only cycle on when the thermostat was turned down to 60 degrees. And it would only stay on for a few minutes. The room varied between about 75-85 degrees all night. Both units non-working? Its clear this place is run by someone who is trying to save money above all else, and customers come in second.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamD52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judy c, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cheyenne, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding our hotel. I apologize for the inconveniences you had while our guest. The issues you mentioned have been addressed so as to make the next guests stay in that room more enjoyable.
Just a side note: we are doing a total renovation starting in November. This will include the furnishings and AC's in ALL of the rooms.
Again, I am sorry for your bad experience,and I thank you for letting us know about your stay.
Judy Cuthbertson,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

For $144.00 I didn't expect to be kept awake til midnight by my neighbors tv, nor did I expect to be awakened at 5am by my other neighbors alarm clock, but yes I got 5 hours of sleep after driving 700 miles. The room was what was left when when I arrived at 9pm and I was too exhausted to look for another hotel. But there are alot right here. The free breakfast with its plastic flatware and styrofoam plates was typical cheap food. The number one rated hotel is literally next door and not as expensive!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bohemianways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judy c, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cheyenne, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express in Cheyenne. I am sorry we weren't up to our usual high standards. I wish we had known about the noise issues,as we would have addressed them immediately! Our breakfast bar is set up and served to IHG brand standards,so I apologize if you found it lacking. It is my understanding that our BBar may be going through a refresh in the near future.
Again, I apologize for our mediocre service during your stay. Thank you for taking the time to give us your comments.
Judy Cuthbertson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cheyenne hotels
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 32 in Cheyenne
298 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Cheyenne
Days Inn Cheyenne
#3 of 32 in Cheyenne
908 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Cheyenne
Hampton Inn Cheyenne
#4 of 32 in Cheyenne
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Cheyenne Southwest/Downtown Area
0.6 mi away
TownePlace Suites Cheyenne Southwest/Downtown Area
7.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Frontier Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cheyenne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cheyenne

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cheyenne
Address: 1741 Fleischli Pkwy, I-25 Exit 9, Cheyenne, WY 82001-3355
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cheyenne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cheyenne
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cheyenne
#6 Family Hotel in Cheyenne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cheyenne 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Cheyenne s newest and finest lodging accommodations. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is located just minutes from the Frontier Rodeo grounds and just 3 miles from the historic downtown district. All guests can enjoy the indoor pool and spa, spacious fitness center, fully stocked business center, meeting rooms and the Express Start Breakfast with no extra charge. Each oversized guest room comes with a microwave, mini-fridge, iron and ironing board, free wireless, high speed internet access, extra large work desk with ergonomic chair, 2, two line phones, ultra comfortable pillow top mattresses, and a spacious bathroom area. The hotel is conveniently located to a wide variety of shops, restaurant and outdoor entertainment opportunities. Come and enjoy Cheyenne s finest hotel, the Holiday Inn Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cheyenne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Cheyenne
Holiday Inn Cheyenne
Cheyenne Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing