We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice afternoon daytrip...”

Curt Gowdy State Park
Ranked #5 of 46 things to do in Cheyenne
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice afternoon daytrip...”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Had a lot of nice scenery and some good hiking trails. Good place to fish & camp too. It was only $6 for a day

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank JRKCOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    44
    6
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Top ranked for a reason”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

No matter what you want to do, this park can accommodate you and it is not overcrowded.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Angi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place!”
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Wow! This place has hiking, fishing, camping, etc. plus it is breathtaking. The fees are reasonable and it is very clean.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank WyomingRVLiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful view”
Reviewed March 10, 2012

The park is beautiful, clean and even better, close to my house. There is a archery range area for those who would like some practice shooting. The lakes are large and pretty. The roads were very well maintained even with winter snow everywhere.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jenlw24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dirty Lakes and land scape.”
Reviewed January 31, 2012

As I was growing up my family and I used to come to these lakes almost every weekend during the summer. But now that I have my own family I can not even fathom the thought of taking my kids there with all the trash and glas, fishing lines just thrown everywhere. No where to really camp anymore unless you want to camp on top of your neighbor. Crystal lake use to have suclusion when camped now there is absolutely no privacy. I hate it. Along with the fact most of the peop that come here are from Colorado and the people from there don't care how they leave Wyoming parks. I don't even want to get fish from there as I don't know what kind of desease they are caring from all the waste that is being thrown into the lakes. Granite is ok, but again, no where to comfortably camp.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank WyoChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Curt Gowdy State Park also viewed

 

Been to Curt Gowdy State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing