We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of everything”

Wyoming State Museum
Ranked #1 of 44 things to do in Cheyenne
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Wyoming
Level Contributor
78 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A little bit of everything”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

If you want to know about Wyoming then this is the museum for you. Great for the whole family as there is a lot to touch. Strollers welcome or you can get a locker at the front. Free entrance for all. All hands on kids room lets the little ones burn off steam so everyone can enjoy the rest of the museum. This is a favorite of my family and we visit at least once a year because the exhibit s are always changing!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank biancas61886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    117
    18
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Casper, Wyoming
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice for kids”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

The kids museum is a great and cheap spot to take the kids. Our kids always like the dress up area. Also fun to get a taste of Wyoming history.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Keith N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
376 reviews
160 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“A good introduction”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Knowing very little about this area of the states ,we found this museum full of interest .Well laid out ,a reasonably priced shop and very helpful staff.Cheyenne itself is the most enchanting place to visit .One gets a real flavour of America .

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank thepipefishfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Check the Gift Shop Hours”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This place is staffed by volunteers and when we finished touring museum I couldn't wait to visit the gift shop but.....it was closed so the person staffing it could go to lunch. I was kind of surprised that they didn't have anyone else who could have staffed the register for an hour. I was really sad because i wanted to buy stuff but we were traveling with my mom and she needed to eat so we couldn't wait around for an hour. I recommend this museum - just make sure you find out when the gift shop will be closing!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank wellermdfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

First place I went in Cheyenne. It was nice and not crowded. Nice lady in the front. Gave a donation.

Helpful?
1 Thank johnjcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wyoming State Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing