We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but Mighty”

Wyoming State Capitol
Ranked #5 of 44 things to do in Cheyenne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This Corinthian-style edifice was modeled after the Capitol in Washington, D.C. The famous Esther Hobart Morris Statue stands in front of the building, in honor of the first woman to hold judicial office in modern times.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Small but Mighty”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My 10-year-old son and I really enjoyed visiting. This capitol is smaller than others we've visited, but that makes sense--Wyoming is the least populated state in the U.S. They only have one representative and two senators in the U.S. Congress. Although small, it was still beautiful and wonderfully maintained. There are some wonderful pieces of art, busts, and a full-sized buffalo (stuffed) that is not to be missed. We enjoyed being here, and the statues around the exterior of the capitol were also terrific. It's a special place.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Traveling4Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    75
    38
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington State
Level Contributor
110 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wonderful Visit to Cheyenne, Wyoming”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Outstanding selection of restaurants, museums, and capital were very interesting. Also the Wyoming visitor center on College Blvd and I-25 had information and maps for whole state

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank DrSnipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
255 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice grounds”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Very nice area to walk around and just browse. Felt very welcome. After going through the capitol we took a trolley tour that was very informative.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Snickerdoddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
149 reviews
128 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Photography welcomed!”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I enjoyed taking photographs of the Capitol Building for an hour or two one morning with my tripod. The building was beautiful and well worth my visit. I parked on the street next to the building for free. They make things quite easy while visiting Cheyenne!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank gnagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not a lot to see here....”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

This is a small and rather plain capitol building...probably the least impressive of the various capitols I've seen around the country. Drop by only if you're already in the neighborhood.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank classicalfan1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wyoming State Capitol also viewed

 

Been to Wyoming State Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing