We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Wonderful history” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Historic Plains Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Historic Plains Hotel to your Saves list
The Historic Plains Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 Central Avenue, Cheyenne, WY 82001   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Cheyenne
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Travel back in time staying at the hotel which was built two years before the Lincoln Highway pushed thru. It didn't get a 5 because of threadbare stair carpet and a couple of less-than-attentive front desk gals. Another was Very helpful. Built in 1913, the hotel has not parking lot; you stroll two blocks to a lot or building. No big deal, even if it is 0 degrees. Cozy hotel Capitol Bar and Grill is a plus also with wood appointments and good service.

Room Tip: Probably interior would be best in busy times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plainshotel, Sales and Catering Admin at The Historic Plains Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for your input and fantastic review!

We greatly appreciate any and all compliments and concerns!

We hope to see you soon!

Thanks,
The Historic Plains Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    143
    99
    74
    70
See reviews for
107
166
39
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Since all rooms from Cheyenne to Denver were full, The Plains made sure to take full advantage of that and charge me 160.00 to sleep in a single sized bed for 5 hours. I guess they decided to make as much profit as they could. Lucky for me, I have been able to use other lodging in my subsequent Cheyenne visits. I travel for business and this was one of the few time I really felt ripped off.

Room Tip: Stay anyplace else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fmcpeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plainshotel, Sales and Catering Admin at The Historic Plains Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Visitor,

We strive to make everyone's visit to The Historic Plains Hotel a positive stay, surrounded by some of the richest history of the early days of Cheyenne.

We value you and your comments so we can improve on areas that need it. WE are making improvements throughout the hotel and hope you will give us another chance when coming back to Wyoming.

Thank you,
Th Management and Staff of The Historic Plains Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cheyenne hotels

Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

The hotel is an old hotel with that history in mind throughout the hotel. Part of the charm in staying here is the historic rustic feel of the hotel while having modern amenities. Not everything is tighty or in perfect condition, but everything does work if you give it a minute or two. The hotel was built around 1911 and a lot of items are original. It is a fun place to stay if you want the rustic feel. If you like everything having a new feel you might be best to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pdbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plainshotel, Sales and Catering Admin at The Historic Plains Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for the great review! We really pride ourselves with our History!

Thank you again and we hope you stay with us soon!

The Historic Plains Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

This hotel has no parking. The elevator smells like someone died while smoking 17 cigarettes at once. The room was way too hot and the heater was missing a front, making it a danger to small curious children. The couch's fold up bed still had wrinkled used sheets folded up into it. Taking a shower proved impossible, only severely dirty people would choose to take a shower in brown rusty looking water. The pet fee was exorbitant and the staff unenthusiastic. To top it all off they don't even serve any kind of breakfast. Go somewhere else. And if you can't find somewhere else and have to sleep here...well, just sleep in your car. It's a better deal.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plainshotel, Sales and Catering Admin at The Historic Plains Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

We strive to make everyone's visit to The Historic Plains Hotel a positive stay, surrounded by some of the richest history of the early days of Cheyenne.

We value you and your comments so we can improve on areas that need it. We are making improvements throughout the hotel and hope you will give us another chance when coming back to Wyoming.

Thank you so much for your honesty, we greatly appreciate it!

The Management and Staff at The Historic Plains Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Stayed 06/09/2013
Room including breakfast $88.11

Rooms were very clean although basic and old.. Iike stepping into a film really... Which is what you expect when staying here...
Location is fab and easy to find which for us was a bonus whilst on our Route 66 bike trip.. A tad noisy mind...Downside was the parking as we had to leave the bike on the street, having said that it seemed a very safe area.. And we had no probs..
The staff in this hotel are second to none!! Very polite,friendly and helpful... This carries throughout the hotel... Breakfast was good and plentiful..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank step324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plainshotel, Sales and Catering Admin at The Historic Plains Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you SO MUCH for this awesome review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here at The Historic Plains Hotel!

We hope to see you soon!

Thanks again,
The Historic Plains Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

Pros: 1) very friendly, earnest and sincerely accommodating staff 2) Historic Hotel 3). very nice, spacious King bed rooms.

Cons: 1). Very small, slow but uniquely antique elevator; you will be taking the stairs if you are able to walk whenever a large group is in the house 2). non-King rooms are quite small
3). Technology issues seem to challenge staff when billing/room changes need to be adjusted; I've still not received an email copy of my bill as promised when I checked out a few weeks ago
4). Be forewarned that street parking is the quickest alternative to the valet, but you might have to hunt a little to find a space nearby

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WyLo808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plainshotel, Sales and Catering Admin at The Historic Plains Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for your honest review of The Historic Plains Hotel. We greatly appreciate your honesty!

We hope you will stay with us again soon!

Thank you again,
The Historic Plains Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
579 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

*Remind yourself: This is a 1911 Historic Hotel in Cheyenne, WY*

Rooms were relatively clean, large, fridge, microwave, functional heaters, and cost about $100/night.

**Remind yourself: This is a 1911 Historic Hotel in Cheyenne, WY**

Friendly and accommadating front desk staff. The electricity went out in my room so they quickly gave me a new one.

***Remind yourself: This is a 1911 Historic Hotel in Cheyenne, WY***

Central location in downtown Cheyenne, lots of shopping and food within walking distance.

****Remind yourself: This is a 1911 Historic Hotel in Cheyenne, WY****

One night, I rode a tricycle through the hallways. At the end of the hall, I saw two girls in blue dresses . They said, "Come play with us Danny...forever...and ever...and ever..." (Just Kidding!)

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plainshotel, Sales and Catering Admin at The Historic Plains Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Greetings,

Thank you so much for your valuable input!

We greatly appreciate any and all comments regarding our Hotel and what we can do to make guests' experiences one to remember!

Once again thank you and please come stay with us again!

The Historic Plains Hotel Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cheyenne hotels
1.7 mi away
Days Inn Cheyenne
Days Inn Cheyenne
#6 of 32 in Cheyenne
4.0 of 5 stars 751 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 32 in Cheyenne
4.5 of 5 stars 231 reviews
1.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Cheyenne Southwest/Downtown Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
My Place Hotel-Cheyenne, WY
5.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Inn
0.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cheyenne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Plains Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Plains Hotel

Property: The Historic Plains Hotel
Address: 1600 Central Avenue, Cheyenne, WY 82001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cheyenne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Cheyenne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Plains Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a historic hotel of America, The Historic Plains Hotel has been a cultural landmark and society favorite of Presidents, movie stars and cattle barons for more than 90 years. Right in the heart of downtown and surrounded by Cheyenne's greatest attractions, The Historic Plains Hotel celebrates the rich legacy of the American frontier through colors, texture, and the natural materials of the Wyoming plains. Guests can come and experience the spirit of the west. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Historic Plains Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Plains Hotel
Historic Plains Cheyenne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing