We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor at first but our experience improved”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Historic Plains Hotel
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Cheyenne
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This was a great old building but our first impression was really rough especially with service. We called ahead and received a quote of $80 for the night. We were told there was wifi and mini fridge in the room. When we arrived the female 'manager' at the desk was actually rude to me and the staff! We got to our room and there was no refridge or wifi and the bathroom was disgusting. We were told that ice was available in one place and had to look on multiple floors for it. We called the 'manager' to check our rate which was now $89! After another talk we were upgraded to a roomy suite with an updated bathroom at the original $80. A male manager we saw was the opposite of the female mngr. He was friendly and working hard as was the bar staff. Overall a memorable experience in this architecturally outstanding building!

Room Tip: Wifi is weak so if that's important don't be afraid to speak up for a room where it works. A...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathybruceToledo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (749)
There are newer reviews for The Historic Plains Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

492 - 498 of 749 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

The stay here was great except for 1 thing---- the noise from the main intersection coming up into our 2nd floor room. Between the motorcycles and ambulances (hospital is located down the street 3 or 4 blks)...it was a sleepless night.
The Hotel, is clean and a great look at the past...but consider that in the nature of the rooms.
Tyler did awesome on checking us in and advising on the parlor room(since we would have guests visiting us that night)...which was a wise choice.
When booking at this hotel, go straight to Liz, at the hotel, and not the company that takes reservations....a headache dealing with them.

Room Tip: The elevator is teeny-tiny, but the 2nd floor rooms, might gather the street noise, more then likely...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadine80103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

This hotel is a great mixture of convenience and history! The staff was helpful and the service-tremendous! Everything is kept in pristine condition while you can still enjoy modern commodities! It's location is great; although if you are a light sleeper I recommend you find another hotel across town because it is only half a mile from the Union Pacific railroad. Overall a great stay!

Room Tip: The best view is on the South side. The quitest side is on the north.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

My daughter and I loved this hotel but if you are ultra picky and don't love unique, historic properties, don't come to this one and complain! We paid $89 for a LOVELY suite.

The bathroom was small but had a sink inside it plus an additional sink/mirror area near the beds. There was a very spacious living area (full couch, two big chairs, coffee table) open in front of the beds, not separated by a wall. Also, there was a desk by one of the beds. Two big windows looked out onto depot square. There was a fridge and microwave. I moved the coffee maker because the cord was not close to reaching the outlet where it was sitting near the fridge.

I would definitely recommend getting a parlor suite here because it looks like the standard rooms would have no view at all. Also be sure to request the top floor--the traffic noise was even unavoidable on the top floor--. I used ear plugs but others may not need them. I would stay here again though---the things I didn't like were minor to me.

Thank you Karen at the front desk for sharing historical info! She knows some secrets about the hotel!

Hot breakfast was included in the very lovely atmosphere of the dining area--tavern kind of feel in there. Nice bar too. I wasn't happy that I didn't know upon check-in that the dining area would be closed for Mother's Day since they were providing a brunch earlier in the day. There was a quick breakfast earlier but I had wanted to have dinner at the hotel for convenience.

Only other thing worth mentioning is that I took my "do not disturb" sign off my door by 10:30 am and the housekeeping staff did not service the room. I really don't know if they even made it up to the top floor because there was no sign of a cart anywhere that morning except on the 2nd floor.

Room Tip: Get the top floor---choose a parlor suite--it's a great value!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foamergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

When we first arrived, there was a mix up on the reservation and the hotel was totally booked for a convention we were attending. Tyler at the front desk was outstanding! He had to work hard to move stuff around to accomodate us. He was super apologetic and completely made up for the issue. We ate at the restaurant and all the staff there were impressive too. I had just returned from a buisness trip to Maryland and Virginia, staying at the big hotel chains there, before we drove up to Cheyenne for the convention. While the Plains Hotel doesn't offer the great ammenities, the character is magnificent. Truely traveling back in time! The only recommendation i would make is to invest in some new mattresses.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

If you are looking for a typical chain hotel, this is not for you. But if you want to experience an authentic 100 year old western hotel, the Plains has done a good job of retaining it's historic charm with most of the modern conveniences. I grew up in Cheyenne ,but had'nt been in the Plains hotel for many years. On a recent visit our family rented 3 rooms. The standard rooms do have a few cracked bath tiles etc. from years of being the center of activity in downtown Cheyenne, but were certainly comfortable enough for two nights. And the "larger suite " (living room with sofa, coffee table, 2nd TV, & desk area combined with a separate bedroom area) was tastefully decorated and made a good gathering area for our stay. The restaurant is very good, the house-keeping staff helpful, and Tyler was very welcoming at the front desk. Parking is a problem, but overall the Plains hotel exceeded our expectations and I would stay again on our next visit.

Room Tip: The 2 room suites are well worth the added cost.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rca2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

The hotel is at an intersection at the base of a hill that carries a busy road over a long bridge. It seems that in Cheyenne loud racecar-type mufflers are very popular on both cars and pickup trucks. So throughout the night, every couple of minutes when the stoplight outside turned green I was awakened by some very loud vehicle accelerating up the hill. Often I'd hear someone slam on the gas and accelerating as fast as they could in second gear as if they were starting a 3AM version of the Indy 500. Not much the hotel can do about this short of a major renovation to add better sound insulation, but that fact won't help you sleep any better.

Other than that this place was kind of average for an historic hotel - nice in some ways, but rough around the edges. Good were the polite service, fairly clean room, interesting decor, convenient location, and cool building. Bad were the antiquated and poorly-maintained (though clean) bathroom, hard mattress, worn-out/lumpy/smelly pillows, filthy windows, and of course the noise.

Room Tip: Request a room facing away from the street. If they don't have one, stay somewhere else.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cheyenne hotels
1.3 mi away
My Place Hotel-Cheyenne, WY
1.7 mi away
Days Inn Cheyenne
Days Inn Cheyenne
#3 of 32 in Cheyenne
1,041 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 32 in Cheyenne
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Cheyenne
Staybridge Suites Cheyenne
#5 of 32 in Cheyenne
56 reviews
1.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Cheyenne
Radisson Hotel Cheyenne
#19 of 32 in Cheyenne
427 reviews
0.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cheyenne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Plains Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Plains Hotel

Address: 1600 Central Ave, Cheyenne, WY 82001-4693
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cheyenne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Cheyenne
Price Range: $73 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Plains Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a historic hotel of America, The Historic Plains Hotel has been a cultural landmark and society favorite of Presidents, movie stars and cattle barons for more than 90 years. Offering Complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast featuring hot items daily to all guests. Right in the heart of downtown and surrounded by Cheyenne's greatest attractions, The Historic Plains Hotel celebrates the rich legacy of the American frontier through colors, texture, and the natural materials of the Wyoming plains. Guests can come and experience the spirit of the west. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Historic Plains Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Plains Hotel
Historic Plains Cheyenne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing