We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Historic Plains Hotel
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Cheyenne
Reviewed August 11, 2012

This is a fun place to stay. We had room 426 and it was a very large corner unit. It had a good working air conditioner, TV, and refrigerator. It is an older property but it won't matter. The lovely manager who seems to always be around, the water and tea in the lobby with cookies and the yummy well priced restaurant will be all that matters. It is located in the center of town so walking to attractions, movies, restaurants and shops is easy. We were there for Cheyenne Frontier Days and this hotel and town puts on one great show. You must book this hotel in advance and then enjoy.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LOL305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (773)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

582 - 588 of 773 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2012

Our room was filthy, and worn. The sheets were stained, plaster was peeling from the ceiling, window was cracked, mildew growing in the shower, The room was disgusting. It was a room without a view. In the bathroom the water was brown....
They need to know that "historic and quaint" is different than "old, broken and dirty."
The breakfast was terrible : a frozen fruitjuice + one cookie. We've buyed a coffee next door
The Historic Plains Hotel in Cheyenne is a hotel to avoid!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MARC en LUT B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunter O, General Manager at The Historic Plains Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

I would like to apologize for your unpleasant stay. We value each and every comment from our guest and will look into every issue that is brought to us. As the hotel is undergoing a remodel it unfortunately takes time to get to every room while preserving the history. As I have personally seen to having all the old sheets removed and replaced with new ones. I also understand your frustration with the breakfast you were provided. My Sales Manager has been in discussions with the tour providers in bringing this to their attention in hopes to have a change and more adequate options for their groups during their long travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

It's not for everyone. The rooms are dingy, the staff is odd, the parking lot is two blocks away, the elevator is tiny, the coffee is undrinkable, BUT....the lobby has lanterns decorated with buffalo and the chief's eyes on the painting behind the front desk follow you as you move (check it out!) Because of these things, the place is memorable. Other good points: it is a two-minute walk from Sanford's, with an excellent selection of $2 microbrews, and the historic downtown. We were there for Frontier Days and found it a convenient location for that as well: a 30-minute walk from Frontier Park or a short shuttle-bus ride. And they put out pitchers of cold drinks in the lobby every day: iced tea, lemonade, ice water with cucumber, etc. After two weeks traveling, we passed through Cheyenne again and wanted to stay here, but the hotel was full. We ended up at the Holiday Inn...which was perfectly comfortable and equally forgettable. I have a soft spot for the Historic Plains Hotel, flaws and all.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Majnuni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunter O, General Manager at The Historic Plains Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Plains Hotel. As for the cold refreshments in the lobby, this was a new idea that became a huge success which will now be offered regularly .We are now offering all of our guest Free Valet parking during their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

There is no parking but on the street and only 1 handicapped spot.
The elevator is so small that only 4 adults can fit into it very closely.
The window mount AC rattled and only put out warm air and the other window could not be opened for fresh air. A real sweat box.
The linen on the pullout couch was dirty and the sheet was stained.
No complimentary coffee so one will have to go to the coffee shop in the lobby to buy a cup, obviously planned that way.
This hotel IS NOT handicapped friendly. A standard width wheelchair will barely clear the door on the elevator and the door will not close with the footrests on with room for only 1 other adult. One must step up to enter the bathroom. There are no handrails in the bathroom either.
The toilet tank water had a brown tint to it making one wonder what they were showering and brushing teeth with.
Another in our party had water running down the bathroom wall and soaking the towels in the towel rack in their room.
The ooohs && aaahs from the architecture and artsy fartsy in the lobby is a false indication of what the rooms are actually like.
Dont waste your money here.....get a room at the Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: Holiday Inn 970/638-4466
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We didn't stay in the hotel,but we had a meal in the restaurant,our waiter's name was Bill always smiling and very friendly,the rib-eye steak was cooked to perfection,for desert the fryed ice-cream sounded good,although i'm not to sure whether i could recommend it.
Over all the restaurant was very good and i would recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank blott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

A lovely old hotel with a most beautiful lobby awaits you. The rooms are large but on the dingy side. If you are looking for an upscale setting , stop! There are many pluses. The location is across the street from the Union Pacific RR. We stayed during Frontier Days and there were parades, free breakfasts, and The Daddy of Them All, The Rodeo. Great fun.
The Plains has a very good restaurant, with terrific service, especially Nicole and the bar staff. Fun people and attentive and accommodating.
It is a structure , very appealing as a whole, but don't expect modern updates such as bathrooms (adequate) new carpeting, new furniture, or sophisticated toiletries, plush towels, or similar amenities. Don't forget , you are a part of the Old West here. Enjoy it.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Loved the old Hotel, Area was perfect and easy to get around...When checking in they couldn't find us a near enough room to the elevator..We then asked for a wheel chair and they gave us one so I could push my partner around...also used it to go to the near by restaurants and bars.
Room was clean...My only complaint if I have one would be they use flat sheets on the very comfortable bed and in the morning you could see the mattress.

Room Tip: If you have problem walking...get room close to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandymccluskey1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cheyenne hotels
1.3 mi away
My Place Hotel-Cheyenne, WY
1.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Cheyenne
Radisson Hotel Cheyenne
#18 of 32 in Cheyenne
442 reviews
1.7 mi away
Days Inn Cheyenne
Days Inn Cheyenne
#4 of 32 in Cheyenne
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Cheyenne Southwest/Downtown Area
5.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Frontier Inn
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 32 in Cheyenne
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Plains Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Plains Hotel

Address: 1600 Central Ave, Cheyenne, WY 82001-4693
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cheyenne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Cheyenne
Price Range: $87 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Plains Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a historic hotel of America, The Historic Plains Hotel has been a cultural landmark and society favorite of Presidents, movie stars and cattle barons for more than 90 years. Offering Complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast featuring hot items daily to all guests. Right in the heart of downtown and surrounded by Cheyenne's greatest attractions, The Historic Plains Hotel celebrates the rich legacy of the American frontier through colors, texture, and the natural materials of the Wyoming plains. Guests can come and experience the spirit of the west. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Historic Plains Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Plains Hotel
Historic Plains Cheyenne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing