We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Historic Plains Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Atlas Motel(Cheyenne)
View Hotel
Firebird Motel(Cheyenne)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (779)
Filter reviews
779 results
Traveler rating
210
232
137
103
97
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
210
232
137
103
97
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstreet noiseparking garageold westheart of downtownstained glasstrain depotlots of historycookie cutteran older hotelbed was comfortablenight's sleepcheyenne frontier daysroad tripartifactsparadevintagecowboy
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
640 - 645 of 779 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2011

I was concerned because of prior mixed reviews but was very pleasantly surprised by this hotel . Great historic lobby and the restaurant was fantastic.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Omanfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

As a rail buff, I couldn't have chosen a better location than the Plains Hotel. It's just across the street from the Cheyenne depot plaza and museum. The downtown area is very walkable, with a selection of restaurants and pubs within just a couple of blocks and a historic (second-run) movie theater just across the street. The room was big and comfortable with two queen beds and ample warm bedding, and quite clean. We did have a maintenance issue during our stay (broken door latch) which was attended to quickly and professionally as soon as we reported it. The hotel restaurant was very good for breakfast, although understaffed...with just one waitress on duty, service was a bit slow.

A couple of minor nits...the free wireless internet was very hit-and-miss. Sometimes it worked perfectly, but sometimes the signal in our room dropped so low that we lost connection. I could always connect downstairs in the lobby, however. And the one guest elevator is very tiny...two people and a luggage cart fills it completely. The desk clerk, however, said that it was designed that way on purpose...to keep the cowboys from bringing their horses up to their rooms!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steamsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

My husband and I stayed here following the wedding of friends. This is a charming hotel, restored from its original 100+ year old grandure. It is located in the center of Cheyenne.

The lobby is nice, with beautiful stained glass and chandeliers. The elevator is very small (2 people with luggage at one time). There are several seating areas in the lobby, the mezzanine, and upstairs floors. Restaurant and bar accessible thru lobby, open til 9pm.

Our room was -- quaint. The age of the hotel showed in the many (many!) coats of paint, rendering the windows inoperable (i.e., no ventilation in the bathroom). Both the windows had been painted over - no view whatsoever. There was only the basics in the bathroom, sink (no vanity), tub and toilet. Amenities inlcuded soap and shampoo, as well as a "complimentary" washcloth offered to "remove makeup." There was no hair dryer or coffeemaker, but we did have an ample closet with an iron and ironing board. We slept well on the comfortable king bed in our quiet room. Free internet access was available from several locations thruout the hotel.

There is no complimentary breakfast included, but a good restaurant is located downstairs, and offered a good selection for breakfast at a reasonable cost.

One note - parking is a bear! We arrived during the "Beer Fest" and found the solitary handicap parking space in front of the hotel was taken, forcing us to park on the other side of the block!

Room Tip: Get a suite with windows offering a view.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmokieBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Date of stay was 06/13/11 I would preface by saying that I worked in a historic hotel, so my issues with the hotel are not related to its age. Restorations have been made, but not to the extent that one would hope for in relation to the room rate. Our room was not as clean as it should have been and we found a plastic cup full of cigarette butts in the bathroom window. When we arrived and were headed to our 5th floor room, we were twice passed over in the elevator by staff with linen carts. When we did get to use the elevator, we got to our floor to find linen carts blocking our exit from the elevator. Our room phone did not work. On the plus side, the desk staff were very friendly & helpful- that goes a long way.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babieth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This hotel really is historic -- make sure and read about it in the information book left in your room. Public areas are gorgeous. Adjoining restaurant and bar. Hallways, rooms are OLD but furniture was nice, bed was comfortable, hot water took awhile to arrive, but was great when it did. Quiet, comfortable.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank lwofmco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews