We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big mistake staying here!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oak Tree Inn Cheyenne
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in Cheyenne
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
484 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
“Big mistake staying here!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

No customer service at all the reception is in the dinner and the girls in there have no knowledge of the hotel. We booked a 'Quiet and dark! Full XL bed, micro and fridge, lounge chair, desk, coffee, iron and board, hairdryer' please note a full XL bed is smaller than a queen bed - we asked to be changed but they did not offer any other rooms. We also requested a room on the ground floor but they gave us a room on the second floor (no lift) - again they did not offer when I asked a ground floor room. Price of the room $55 plus tax. They do give you a voucher $7 each for a breakfast but the clientele in the dinner was questionable!! The hotel is right next to the airport - my fault I did not check. about 5am a large cargo plane took off we woke me. We mainly booked the hotel as it was near to Chilli's 5/10 min walk

Room Tip: Not sure I can help you here - what you request you don't get!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheScubaDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    19
    17
    8
    10
See reviews for
15
30
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

On our way to CA we stayed overnight at the Oak Tree Inn. We were a little surprised to see that you actually check in for the hotel at the diner just across the parking lot. The staff was very nice and the rooms were clean. Breakfast is free at Penny's diner (or discount towards meal). Penny's is open 24 hours, which is great if you arrive late, since the majority of restaurants in the vicinity are closed. The hotel has a "lounge" area with recliners surrounding a tv, a computer room and a workout room. For the price, I would stay there again. It wasn't fancy, but definitely comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caseyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
125 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at Oak Tree Inn. The rooms were clean and quiet, and we slept well. The best part was the breakfast at the Penny's Diner. If you are tired of the usual Continental Breakfast, you will appreicate the hearty breakfast at the diner.

Room Tip: We had a room in the back of the hotel and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elbrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friedrichshafen, Deutschland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

On the way from the Rocky Mountains National Park to Mount Rushmore, we stayed in Cheyenne. The Oak Tree Inn was OKish, the room was clean, but we had a noisy vending machine just outside the door.
What we did like was the breakfast in the traditional diner next door (where we also picked up the key for the room).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 58RichardM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon City, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

My Step-Son age 16 was traveling with his mother and was put in a situation that caused him to be left alone and stranded in Cheyenne Wyoming at 10:30pm. His father (has legal custody) and I located in Oregon had no way of getting this boy home. While on the phone with our son we were able to get him in a cab and heading to the airport. He found that the local airport was closed and did not open till the next day at 7am. The cab driver took him to the closest hotel and left him. He was told at this hotel that there were no rooms available.
He then walked to the next Hotel (Oak Tree Inn) and was told that he could not get a room. I spoke to the individual that was working at the hotel that night and they stated that they would not take a credit card over the phone and the only way that they would help us is if we faxed a copy of our credit card and photo ID to prove that we owned the card and whatever else.
I explained that we did not have a fax machine (not sure how many average families have a fax machine in their homes but I know that we do not and not sure if we would find use in something like that these days) I proceeded to ask if we could email a scanned copy of these thing to them. He explained that he did not have access to the company email and that would not work. I explained that my son was only 16 and we were in Oregon and had no way of getting him and he needed a place to stay that would be safe until he could get to the airport the next morning. I did not want him to continue to walk around on the streets in the late hours of the day. This man proceeded to tell me that he would not help us and that even the police could not help us.
Our son sat in a booth at the 24 hour diner that was attached to this hotel all night until 6am the next morning. He then called a shuttle to pick him up and take him to the airport. During the time he was at this diner he says many scary people (hookers and sketchy looking people) coming in and out. So this place was most certainly not a place for a child to be and even more so not by himself.
This was the worst experience in our lives and hope that no one ever has to be left alone in the town of Cheyenne Wyoming. If you are traveling near this town Please do not stop!!! I can only hope that this town does not treat their locals this way.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimmlie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cheyenne hotels

Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

There was nothing really special about the hotel. The room was very plain. It seemed pretty clean, but our dogs were very busy sniffing. We figured that the very cool temp of the room was to help mask smells. This was the only room in a 6000 mile road trip that our dogs behaved this way. I can't imagine that they were the first animals to stay in any of the other rooms along our route. That being said, this hotel is right next to a walking path that made taking the dogs out a great experience. There were a lot of families and really nice people along the walk. Breakfast at Penny's diner (vouchers provided to people who stay at the hotel) was very good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
169 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

The oak tree inn is not 4 star but the rooms are excellent would appear to be recently renolvated. Service and amenities are very good as well. Penny diner provides great breakfast, this is attached to hotel. Very pleased with our stay. Had a great night sleep, windows are double glazed.

Room Tip: We did not have dinner at diner but we think that we should have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cheyenne hotels
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Cheyenne
Staybridge Suites Cheyenne
#10 of 32 in Cheyenne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cheyenne
2.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cheyenne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel Cheyenne
Radisson Hotel Cheyenne
#17 of 32 in Cheyenne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
2.9 mi away
My Place Hotel-Cheyenne, WY
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cheyenne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Tree Inn Cheyenne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Tree Inn Cheyenne

Property: Oak Tree Inn Cheyenne
Address: 1625 Stillwater Ave, Cheyenne, WY 82009
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cheyenne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in Cheyenne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Oak Tree Inn Cheyenne 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oak Tree Inn Cheyenne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing