We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The worst Weekend in my life!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oak Tree Inn Cheyenne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Oak Tree Inn Cheyenne
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in Cheyenne
Oregon City, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The worst Weekend in my life!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

My Step-Son age 16 was traveling with his mother and was put in a situation that caused him to be left alone and stranded in Cheyenne Wyoming at 10:30pm. His father (has legal custody) and I located in Oregon had no way of getting this boy home. While on the phone with our son we were able to get him in a cab and heading to the airport. He found that the local airport was closed and did not open till the next day at 7am. The cab driver took him to the closest hotel and left him. He was told at this hotel that there were no rooms available.
He then walked to the next Hotel (Oak Tree Inn) and was told that he could not get a room. I spoke to the individual that was working at the hotel that night and they stated that they would not take a credit card over the phone and the only way that they would help us is if we faxed a copy of our credit card and photo ID to prove that we owned the card and whatever else.
I explained that we did not have a fax machine (not sure how many average families have a fax machine in their homes but I know that we do not and not sure if we would find use in something like that these days) I proceeded to ask if we could email a scanned copy of these thing to them. He explained that he did not have access to the company email and that would not work. I explained that my son was only 16 and we were in Oregon and had no way of getting him and he needed a place to stay that would be safe until he could get to the airport the next morning. I did not want him to continue to walk around on the streets in the late hours of the day. This man proceeded to tell me that he would not help us and that even the police could not help us.
Our son sat in a booth at the 24 hour diner that was attached to this hotel all night until 6am the next morning. He then called a shuttle to pick him up and take him to the airport. During the time he was at this diner he says many scary people (hookers and sketchy looking people) coming in and out. So this place was most certainly not a place for a child to be and even more so not by himself.
This was the worst experience in our lives and hope that no one ever has to be left alone in the town of Cheyenne Wyoming. If you are traveling near this town Please do not stop!!! I can only hope that this town does not treat their locals this way.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimmlie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    19
    17
    8
    10
See reviews for
15
30
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

There was nothing really special about the hotel. The room was very plain. It seemed pretty clean, but our dogs were very busy sniffing. We figured that the very cool temp of the room was to help mask smells. This was the only room in a 6000 mile road trip that our dogs behaved this way. I can't imagine that they were the first animals to stay in any of the other rooms along our route. That being said, this hotel is right next to a walking path that made taking the dogs out a great experience. There were a lot of families and really nice people along the walk. Breakfast at Penny's diner (vouchers provided to people who stay at the hotel) was very good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
167 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

The oak tree inn is not 4 star but the rooms are excellent would appear to be recently renolvated. Service and amenities are very good as well. Penny diner provides great breakfast, this is attached to hotel. Very pleased with our stay. Had a great night sleep, windows are double glazed.

Room Tip: We did not have dinner at diner but we think that we should have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peter e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Haven, PA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

I like this place a lot. Nothing really stands out but the people, who are very friendly and make sure you are taken care of. Convenient location, walking distance to lots of stores and restaurants. Stayed in two different rooms on consecutive nights. Had my cat with me, manager never questioned it, and zero signs of other pets having been in the room. Both were clean, comfortable beds, cable, fairly reliable wifi, not the Ritz but I felt welcome, and the diner is great. Excellent food, friendly service and for us was FREE breakfast both days with vouchers they gave us at check-in. Why are people complaining about the Oak Tree? Lighten up or go pay a lot more.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taviii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

stopped for one night on our way to rapid city wanted quiete night and got it as it is set back from highway. was clean and tidy and suited our overnight stay.Breafast was in the ajoining Penny's Dinner with a voucher (very good it was to), The penny's Dinner also acted as Hotel Reception.
Had no complaints with this hotel would stay again and recomend

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johngwyn_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reno
Level Contributor
87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

I was on a speed run cross country to make 1000+ mile days on the infamous I-80. There were a couple negative reviews but figured I would chance it anyway. After the end of a very long day I was dragged to the Oak Tree Inn by the mistress GPS. GPS did not help me find the lobby. After walking into the motel lounge and back out, I noticed a sign to "check in at the diner", which was across the driveway. Since I had made a reservation online I didn't even have to show my credit card. Nice quick check in! Finding the stairs up to the second floor was a bit of a challenge especially at the late hour and after a long drive. At the room there was no chocolate on the pillow nor was there special shampoo or other extras... Just a clean neat comfortable room that fit my purpose well. I was just there to catch a few zzzz's, shower and get back on the road. Bed was comfortable. Don't know about the TV since I didn't turn it on. Shower worked as expected without any "surprises". Also got a free breakfast in the diner next door. Budget priced nice clean place. I would stay there again should I be making a no frills quick run by there.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gwwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, England
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2011

We stayed June 2011. Reason we picked it was that it was not in downtown area backing onto railway lines.

Also, just across road from Mall with dining places in abundance.

Room was comfortable, did not experience any odd noises, and whewn we discovered hair dryer was not working, Manager had it replaced immediately.

Actually loved the Diner for breakfast, as it was just like those I visited in 60's

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicol05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cheyenne hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cheyenne
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Cheyenne
Staybridge Suites Cheyenne
#12 of 32 in Cheyenne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
3.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn Cheyenne
La Quinta Inn Cheyenne
#22 of 32 in Cheyenne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cheyenne
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cheyenne
2.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel Cheyenne
Radisson Hotel Cheyenne
#17 of 32 in Cheyenne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Tree Inn Cheyenne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Tree Inn Cheyenne

Property: Oak Tree Inn Cheyenne
Address: 1625 Stillwater Ave, Cheyenne, WY 82009
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cheyenne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in Cheyenne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Oak Tree Inn Cheyenne 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Oak Tree Inn Cheyenne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing