We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Went there for the campground” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Terry Bison Ranch

Terry Bison Ranch
Ranked #9 of 44 things to do in Cheyenne
Attraction details
Key Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Went there for the campground”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Lots of Bison in this state. We stopped for the campground as it was recommended as a good place for the night, but it turned out to be just another trailer park where many occupants looked like permanent residents. Sites were somewhat tightly packed, but did have full hookups. OK for a one night stay.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart38KLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    66
    27
    14
    12
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Kids loved it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We didn't stay here, it was just a spontaneous thing we decided to do. We did the train tour plus we walked around the grounds to see some of the animals. The whole staff was very friendly. All the ranch workers that we came across were also very nice. We felt very welcome and comfortable. The kids loved the train ride that took us out to feed the bison. Next time we go, I'm thinking we might fish in their pond. :-)

Helpful?
1 Thank dlogan2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bison, bison and more bison!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

I cannot recommend Terry Bison Ranch enough. We totally enjoyed our visit and early dinner at the Senator’s Steakhouse. You must try the bison short ribs they were absolutely amazing.

People must keep in mind that this is a working ranch. All of the staff that we encountered were very friendly and very knowledgeable. John the train operator really took his time and answered all the questions the group I was with had.

I am not sure where else you could go and be able to get so up close to the bison and photograph them. We took so many photos. It was so much fun to watch everyone feed the bison. We also saw camels, horses, ponies, lamas, ostrich and prairie dogs.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Littlebean23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Campgrounds in dire need of attention”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We are currently spending the night after reviewing the location on Passport America. They accept the PA for one night and we were told there is no spot available past our one night. The clerk was not very friendly and we left the office with a map to get to our "spot". The pull through sites are not very level and the grass (and weeds) are sparse. There are weeds or grass on the pull through sites and rocks on top of the sewer spots. For all I thought this would be I am truly disappointed. Would NOT come again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Cynthia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very memorable train ride, for sure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were so glad we stopped at the ranch. We had just missed the 12:00 train, but the trading post was a great place to wait for the 1:30 train. They have a huge stuffed jackalope and a huge stuffed bison to climb up on for pictures, along with lots of souvenirs to look at and possibly purchase.

Our 'engineer/guide' for the train was very engaging and helped us get used to hand-feeding these huge animals. About 10-15 bison started towards the train as we approached and stayed til all our feed bags were empty. We learned that they have to get up courage to come close enough to be fed, and that they have no top teeth, so there was not chance of being bitten by mistake. The little ones that came up to the train liked to rub their necks/shoulders on the train, and they were content to pick up the pieces if food fell to the ground.

We had a special once-in-a-lifetime surprise when we rolled past a mama bison and her VERY newborn baby. The mama was licking it off and the baby was trying very hard to stand up for the first time. I'll never forget that moment!

The animals we saw after the ride: goats, llamas, huge hogs, donkeys, an ostrich, camels, horses.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank springsgirlColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terry Bison Ranch also viewed

 

Been to Terry Bison Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing