We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A sad ending to a historic tradition.”
Review of Hitching Post Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hitching Post Inn
Ranked #31 of 33 Hotels in Cheyenne
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“A sad ending to a historic tradition.”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Let's face it. The rooms needed a little updating ten years ago. At one time this was THE spot in Cheyenne and all the legislators stayed there (Wyoming has a citizens government so they are only in town a month or so).

The restaurant was great food, and the rooms were spacious and well cared for. It is near the train tracks but so are most of the hotels in town, and Cheyenne is after a UNion Pacific kinda town (go see the depot for some fun).

Then the fire. Ahh. This is now a run down, dive. It is sad to say, but only the back building is left, and there is speculation as to how the fire occurred. Move on people, trust the recent reviews. You will be glad you did.

A sad ending to a fabulous old school property.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mabollinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    11
    9
    16
    40
See reviews for
31
18
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I stayed at the hitching post last month, it is a work in progress from the fire that was at that location a few years back. The rooms were huge and clean, the service was great, front desk was very polite. Overall the staff i had contact with were very helpful. I enjoyed my stay

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samberson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Let's start with arrival: You can't see the functional part of this property from the highway: You see an old sign and a fenced-off building that looks like "out of business." Only a drive around that building reveals another part that is not condemned. "Office" was locked and without a room key you push a buzzer. The lady who answered this went to get the Manager/Owner.

OK: Bedding and general cleanliness, of the room. Otherwise, shabby.
NOT OK: Phone did not work, calling "O" to the "24-hour front desk" recycled again and again and to get the phone turn on I walked down to the office and asked. The connection, which they claim is VOiP was so poor I could not make a call with my calling card. Dim inside he room, many of the outlets do not work.

BIG NOT OK: Booking.com advertises refund if you "find a better rate elsewhere." I did, and Booking.com C/S referred me back to the hotel, which said no, they will not honor since they had paid Booking.com a commission. Advertised refund policy worthless. Suggestion: If you DID use Booking.com, track prices elsewhere and request a refund or just re-book. I could have gotten for $10 less by using Priceline's retail side. The lesson to me: avoid Booking.com, which is a part of Priceline, which should be ashamed of itself.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mike110742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cheyenne hotels

Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The vast majority of this motel burnt down. Just a small section remains. Used to be a highly rated Best Western, but alas ... not more. Not good at all. I was extremely disappointed to have booked one of my favorite hotels to arrive at an empty lot with but a few rooms.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tim k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Don't be fooled by the pictures. We stayed here during Cheyenne Frontier Days and booked through priceline. The reviews on priceline were mixed and we couldn't find another hotel in town with an available room so we took a chance. BAD MOVE! The main part of the hotel burned down several years ago ( we were told by locals at the rodeo) and the lobby and available rooms occupy what used to be the restaurant and lounge in the back building. So when we first drove by we couldn't believe our eyes. All we saw was a big, abandoned hotel with metal fencing around it. Then we saw the sign pointing to the back of the building and saw the "Lobby" sign lit up. YIKES!! The girl at the front desk was very polite, but we couldn't believe our room: furniture broken, the chairs were tattered, the toilet didn't flush well, the floors and bathroom area dirty, and we were paying close to $200 a night!! (Obviously they were taking advantage of the fact that the rodeo was in town and rooms were scarce). The hotel is located right next to the train tracks and the train passes by quite frequently so we were awakened several times during the night.
We booked two nights but begged priceline to get us out of the second night and refund us, which they did (thank you priceline!!!). All I can say is, don't "hitch yourself to this post".

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jack2621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Whatever you do do not book this place. It is dirty, half codemed, overpriced and run by the rudest people on e face of the earth. You would be better off sleeping in your car.

Room Tip: Stay in any other place in Cheyenne. There is nothing worse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ColoradoKid4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

The room was not cleaned, there was a broken toilet in the first room, the second room had spit in the sink, filthy bathroom floor, smelled horrible, filth in the garbage bins, no garbage liners, scum in the tub! This was not hygienic! We quickly got a refund and are staying elsewhere!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Estaschmott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cheyenne hotels
2.7 mi away
Oak Tree Inn Cheyenne
Oak Tree Inn Cheyenne
#21 of 33 in Cheyenne
68 reviews
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cheyenne
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Cheyenne Southwest/Downtown Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Cheyenne
Candlewood Suites Cheyenne
#19 of 33 in Cheyenne
108 reviews
0.3 mi away
My Place Hotel-Cheyenne, WY
1.0 mi away
The Historic Plains Hotel
The Historic Plains Hotel
#13 of 33 in Cheyenne
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hitching Post Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hitching Post Inn

Property: Hitching Post Inn
Address: 1600 W Lincolnway, Cheyenne, WY 82001-3313
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cheyenne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 33 Hotels in Cheyenne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hitching Post Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is conveniently located 2 miles off I-25 on exit 9 (Lincolnway) and is about 2.5 miles from Cheyenne Downtown which offers a wide variety of restaurants and tourist sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hitching Post Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing