We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Scary Bad” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hitching Post Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hitching Post Inn
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Cheyenne
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Scary Bad”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Don't be fooled by the pictures. We stayed here during Cheyenne Frontier Days and booked through priceline. The reviews on priceline were mixed and we couldn't find another hotel in town with an available room so we took a chance. BAD MOVE! The main part of the hotel burned down several years ago ( we were told by locals at the rodeo) and the lobby and available rooms occupy what used to be the restaurant and lounge in the back building. So when we first drove by we couldn't believe our eyes. All we saw was a big, abandoned hotel with metal fencing around it. Then we saw the sign pointing to the back of the building and saw the "Lobby" sign lit up. YIKES!! The girl at the front desk was very polite, but we couldn't believe our room: furniture broken, the chairs were tattered, the toilet didn't flush well, the floors and bathroom area dirty, and we were paying close to $200 a night!! (Obviously they were taking advantage of the fact that the rodeo was in town and rooms were scarce). The hotel is located right next to the train tracks and the train passes by quite frequently so we were awakened several times during the night.
We booked two nights but begged priceline to get us out of the second night and refund us, which they did (thank you priceline!!!). All I can say is, don't "hitch yourself to this post".

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jack2621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    11
    8
    16
    32
See reviews for
25
15
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Whatever you do do not book this place. It is dirty, half codemed, overpriced and run by the rudest people on e face of the earth. You would be better off sleeping in your car.

Room Tip: Stay in any other place in Cheyenne. There is nothing worse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ColoradoKid4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

The room was not cleaned, there was a broken toilet in the first room, the second room had spit in the sink, filthy bathroom floor, smelled horrible, filth in the garbage bins, no garbage liners, scum in the tub! This was not hygienic! We quickly got a refund and are staying elsewhere!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Estaschmott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Kansas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

Ok, it looked a bit dodgy when I pulled in but once I got into the lobby and met the hostess and got to my room I was very pleased. The room was large, spotless and homey. I have seen apartments smaller than my room. The beds were comfortable, there was a sitting area , and the bathroom was larger than one in my house. It looked like they have been doing updating in the bathrooms. I found it funny that there was a phone jack in the bathroom. Remember when that was cool?. If they can continue with their up dating, this place can be a great retreat. I would make one suggestion: put trash can in the bathroom so women don't have to walk into room with used female products. The hostess was very pleasant but the poor gal had working very long hours. Regardless of her being tired I still enjoyed her company to talk to. I stayed July 3rd 2012. This was a "don't judge a book by its cover" place. It was well worth the price for Cheyenne.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draper, UT
Level Contributor
185 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

These are very modest accommodations at this old style motel, where the rooms are accessed from outside. My room, while large, appeared to have been vacuumed only in the main part of the room. What I mean is that there was a considerable amount of dust built up between the bed and the desk and to show I am not being picky the area I speak of was about 12" x 18" and it was grey from the thick layer of dust on it (yuck). Obviously the furniture had not been moved in quite some time. The mattress and pillows were old and in need of replacement and the a/c cycled continuously all night (it would not stay on). The shower in my room had virtually no pressure but my associate staying next door said he had plenty of water pressure, so your experience may vary. The cold breakfast is very basic: danish or cereal plus coffee and juice. The staff is very nice and friendly though.

Room Tip: In all candor, stay at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaltaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Please before you book a room in this "hotel" read the news about it and how the owners true to burn it down to collect insurance money. The rooms are disgusting, there wasn't hot water on our room, the carpets were wet and torn and the room smelled like smoke even though we booked a none smoking room. Yes staff was very friendly and nice but unfortunately I'd rathe stay pay more and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamjay10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Most of the buildings on this property are abandoned so driving up at night you see only one building with lights on. While the service was great, and the room was nice and comfortable, the hotel location was creepy. It didn't help that I checked in at night, and when I got to my room, most of the lights in the room didn't work, and I had to walk to the other end of the room to get a working light. I stayed here on my travels east, and avoided Cheyenne altogether when I came back through.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anyamare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cheyenne hotels
0.2 mi away
My Place Hotel-Cheyenne, WY
1.1 mi away
The Historic Plains Hotel
The Historic Plains Hotel
#14 of 32 in Cheyenne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cheyenne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn Cheyenne
La Quinta Inn Cheyenne
#22 of 32 in Cheyenne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Cheyenne
Hampton Inn Cheyenne
#4 of 32 in Cheyenne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Cheyenne
Days Inn Cheyenne
#3 of 32 in Cheyenne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hitching Post Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hitching Post Inn

Property: Hitching Post Inn
Address: 1600 W Lincolnway, Cheyenne, WY 82001-3313
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cheyenne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Cheyenne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hitching Post Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is conveniently located 2 miles off I-25 on exit 9 (Lincolnway) and is about 2.5 miles from Cheyenne Downtown which offers a wide variety of restaurants and tourist sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hitching Post Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing