We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Friendly staff, Clean room, just a bit older so nothing fancy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Guest Ranch Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cheyenne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Guest Ranch Motel
Save
You added Guest Ranch Motel to your Saves list
Ranked #30 of 32 Hotels in Cheyenne
Snead, Alabama
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, Clean room, just a bit older so nothing fancy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I stayed here during the Cheyenne Frontier Days, of course the rates were higher than normal because of the rodeo, but we needed a place to stay at the last minute. The staff was super friendly when we checked in, they gave us a two bedroom "suite" with a King bed and Double bed, which worked out great for out crew. At first glance, the place didn't look very night, not super clean on the outside and the room is very out of date. Looks like the wall paper has been there since the place opened, nothing matched like the comforter and curtains. BUT turns out the room was VERY VERY clean, the beds were comfortable and we had a refrigerator in our room. Perfect place to stay on a rodeo trip. Nothing fancy, but clean and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mgs0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    5
    5
    7
See reviews for
1
3
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Loveland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

So they jack hotel prices up during Cheyenne Frontier Days. Our dilemma...pay 3 times the normal cost for 1 room with 2 beds at a lower end chain, OR stay at a mom and pop place, get 2 rooms for $100 less. Guest Ranch is a typical single level hotel in need of some upgrades. BUT...the bathroom was clean, sheets were clean and new. People running it were friendly as were all of our neighbors staying there. We needed a place to sleep and shower--we got it.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank COmomma77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

I guess you can spend a couple of dollars more, and be in a nicer part of Cheyenne. I didn't realize that there were nicer hotels for the same amount of money (or $10 more) just about 5 miles away.

But it was a cool little roadside motel. Things were clean, the clerk was very funny and friendly, and across the street was a cool restaurant that was in a converted train caboose.

If you're into hanging around cheap motels, then you'll do fine here. I thought the neighborhood was a bit sketchy, and honestly it looked like it was 2 levels up from being a hooker's motel, but I slept soundly, had no complaints, and left without any problems whatsoever.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before you pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANTHONYROBERSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

For a frankly incredible $40 I got a night here (only about $10 more than a camp site might have cost). There's loads of parking here right outside your room and the main centre of Cheyenne is a short walk away (including the excellent 2 Doors Down burger cafe).
Downsides were housekeeping seemed to have developed selective blindness when preparing the room as I found full bins, a pair of boxer shorts from the previous resident on the dresser and a half-finished soft drink container in the bathroom. The place also smelled strongly of disinfectant.
It's an old, unloved motel and it shows, the rooms have certainly seen better days, but all I wanted was a wireless connection, a bed and a shower. If you're not precious this cheap motel should entirely suffice and at that price, the shortcomings (whilst not excusable) are perhaps to be expected.

Room Tip: If you need wireless, ask to be closer to the reception where the main router is
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brotherharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Level Contributor
70 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

Since we're "budget travellers" arriving in Cheyenne late on a Thursday night we checked out Motel 6, then the inausupicious Luxury Inn - both full. We looked into probably 7 other hotels in the area and they, too were all full. The desk clerk at the Days Inn told us that construction workers filled all the hotels. We went "deeper" into town and finally found space for us at the Guest Ranch.
This place is old and in a run-down area of town. Although the room had old panelling and old, dated furnishings, it was fairly clean. It's also old style where you can drive up to your door. Basically our type of place except for the price - dang near $100! That's outrageous for a 50 year old, un-refurbished motel with absolutely no amenities - zilch. The lady at the desk was nice enough and put us into a "family room" but, frankly, we were gouged - big time!
Had I not been charged double the actual value of that room, it would have recieved a much better review. I find out later that this is the "culture" of hotels in Cheyenne - the prices go up as the rooms fill up - I can only imagine what it's like during their Frontier Days. Guess I won't be finding out first hand becuase I won't be coming back to Cheyenne - good riddance to the whole cheating town.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodeguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WYO
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2009

I was stranded because of weather. Owner was very nice. Room was smelly, old and there wasn't one toiletry... not even a bar of soap! Because I was stranded only 45 minutes away from my home, I didn't have a thing! When I called the front desk, he said, "really, there's nothing at all?". With that I thought he would stock the room with the usual things, but all he brought was 2 bars of soap... gee, thanks...
There was a hair comb under the bed and other areas that had been deserted by the cleaners.
It took more than a day for the smell to get out of my things.
Only stay here is there is NOTHING else open!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WYOStudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

Overall, had a great experience. This hotel is older, yet it is kept in good condition. We enjoyed our stay. Our room was clean. Bed was comfortable. Older bedding on bed, but yet clean. We were in Cheyenne during Frontier Days so everything was booked. We were happy to find an open room here. Surprisingly, expensive. We were told that it is the going rate during this festival.
We had a van full of camera equipment and we felt secure parking here. We liked that our car was parked in front of our hotel door.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sierragoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cheyenne hotels
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cheyenne
0.6 mi away
My Place Hotel-Cheyenne, WY
1.0 mi away
Days Inn Cheyenne
Days Inn Cheyenne
#3 of 32 in Cheyenne
4.0 of 5 stars 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Cheyenne
Candlewood Suites Cheyenne
#18 of 32 in Cheyenne
4.0 of 5 stars 99 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Historic Plains Hotel
The Historic Plains Hotel
#14 of 32 in Cheyenne
3.5 of 5 stars 563 reviews
1.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Cheyenne
SpringHill Suites Cheyenne
#13 of 32 in Cheyenne
4.0 of 5 stars 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guest Ranch Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest Ranch Motel

Property: Guest Ranch Motel
Address: 1100 W Lincolnway, Cheyenne, WY 82001-4208
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cheyenne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 32 Hotels in Cheyenne
Number of rooms: 33

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing