We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Why stay any place else?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Little America Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Little America Hotel & Resort
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Cheyenne
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, CO, USA
Level Contributor
100 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Why stay any place else?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

To some of the other reviewer's points: yes, the hotel is older and the rooms are a bit dated, but the maintenance is fine, and everything works properly. The shower head is a bit low, but at 5'10", it was still above my head.

The price of the rooms is tremendous for the value that one receives. The furniture is lovely (think french-style desk & chair, and lamps with actual pleated shades), the bed is comfortable with lots of nice fresh linens, there's a huge bath area, and the closet has an automatic lighting system. The hotel was tremendously quiet for as close to the interstate as it is. My room faced I-80, and I heard absolutely no road noise. I requested a second-floor room, as I was originally offered a first-floor room for more convenience, and was very happy to walk up the short flight of stairs. One of the "lodges" has a weather-shielded walkway that links it directly with the main lobby, if walking outdoors does not appeal.

In the main lobby, there's an actual wood-burning fireplace which I enjoyed for quite some time. There is a coffee bar as well as a full-service restaurant, and a lovely gift shop with interesting merchandise.

For the price, these hotels can't be beat. I've stayed at another Little America property in Flagstaff, Arizona, and it was also very memorable (in a positive way). I'll make a point of staying in these hotels whenever possible.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3dvizwiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    183
    81
    30
    16
See reviews for
107
169
31
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
DC
Level Contributor
364 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

Nice flat screen TV, large king sized room and large bathroom and decent bathroom products. now the bad, the shower head is low. so if you are under 5'8'' you may be okay. Long walk from your room to the main building for dinner or the bar but the cold will sober you up as you walk back from the bar. it is kind of sketchy as you drive in because you have to pass by a gas station that always seems to have 10 or more trucks parked in their lot. no free usa today outside your door or in the lobby, you must pay for it. not sure when i paid for my last paper at a hotel. while we were there the key did not work for the gym. had to reach through the window and unlatch the door. last bad news, don't look for your bill under your door. you have to go to the lobby and check out! i guess it is even too cold for them to walk over to the buildings and slide the bills under the doors.

Room Tip: try and get in building 1 if you are staying during the winter months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mad155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, MT
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

I arrived late and the staff was extremely accommodating. If keys are a problem, this is not the place for you as they have electronic keys, not cards, for your room. Quite spendy if you lose it.

Room Tip: Last minute booking. The property is huge and was almost empty when I was there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Montana_Sailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

While the main building and restaurant are very nice and well appointed, the room we had was very dated. Heat was very inefficient and difficult to regulate. Bathroom, particularly the shower very dated. They really need to invest some money and update the rooms to match the main building and sevice.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JSES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
162 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

Nice room and comfortable beds. Surprisingly nice property for the price paid. If you arrive in winter, be careful of the steps to the second floor units as they can be slippery. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VanVlietTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY/NJ
Level Contributor
422 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

The whole complex looks like something from the 1960's. And while clean, it kind of feels that way. I thought the check-in was akward, in that there was no signs I saw directing you to check in or front desk. Eventually I saw what looked like a check-in counter and got lucky.

The rooms still have keys versus card swipes, and I had to shoulder my door to get it to. open. While the room is spacious, the A/C is very noisy. Thus, I'm going to crank it up real cold before turning in, and then turn down the fan, hoping its quieter.

If my meeting wasn't here tomorrow, I'd probably have passed by and looked for something else.

Overall, I've been in a lot better places for not that much more, if any.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pensfan58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

I stayed in this hotel as part of a tour around the National Parks of America I would say that this was my favourite hotel of the trip. The room I was given was light and roomy with a huge double bed and a pleasant view from the little verandah outside but it was the tranquility of the place that appealed most. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandAmerica, Employee at Little America Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete an online review about your resent stay at our property.

It is our continuing goal to provide memorable experiences and the best guest service possible. We deeply value our guest’s comments, questions, and concerns and use them to provide a better overall experience.

I am very pleased to know that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and look forward to your return to Little America Cheyenne soon.


Warmest Regards,

Frank Harris
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cheyenne hotels
2.4 mi away
The Historic Plains Hotel
The Historic Plains Hotel
#14 of 32 in Cheyenne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Cheyenne
Days Inn Cheyenne
#3 of 32 in Cheyenne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
8.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Frontier Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Cheyenne
Hampton Inn Cheyenne
#4 of 32 in Cheyenne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
1.2 mi away
My Place Hotel-Cheyenne, WY
1.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Cheyenne Southwest/Downtown Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little America Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little America Hotel & Resort

Property: Little America Hotel & Resort
Address: 2800 W Lincolnway, Cheyenne, WY 82001-3302
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cheyenne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cheyenne
#4 Family Hotel in Cheyenne
#5 Business Hotel in Cheyenne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Little America Hotel & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little America Hotel & Resort in Cheyenne is conveniently located at the junction of Interstate 80 and Interstate 25 within minutes of downtown Cheyenne, the state capitol building, F.E. Warren Air Force Base and Cheyenne Frontier Days Park. The Little America Hotel in Cheyenne offers 188 luxurious, oversized guestrooms, each with 42" flat screen televisions, down pillows and other luxury amenities. The grounds provide lovely views of the Wyoming prairie and are beautifully landscaped with flower gardens. Attended to by an eager and friendly staff, you will be impressed by the quality of service and commitment to excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Little America Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little America Hotel Cheyenne
Little America Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing