We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Breathtaking

We were fortunate this past week to have perfect sunny weather with clear skies, fresh air, and... read more

Reviewed September 21, 2018
b-n-wm-n
,
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Retracing an route that we brought our boys to visit many years ago!!

So much has changed over the many years back when we would bring our sons up to this beautiful... read more

Reviewed September 20, 2018
Sharon M
Read all 146 reviews
  
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveler rating
131
14
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
131
14
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful drive mirror lake lake marie medicine bow snowy range numerous hiking trails snow capped mountains visitor centers few hours great road views are spectacular miner's cabin off road beetle kill national forest pretty drive bring your camera
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 146 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2018

We drove the byway and really enjoyed it. But if the trees hadn't been changing colors, and the dramatic forest fire two mountain ranges over hadn't been affecting the sky, I'm not sure we would have agreed it was worth the 1.5 hour drive to get there. Best part was lunch in Centennial!

Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2018

We were fortunate this past week to have perfect sunny weather with clear skies, fresh air, and fall color just starting. We stayed overnight in Centennial then on the other side in Saratoga--giving us a full day to enjoy all that the range had to offer. We picnicked, hiked a little, just sat and took it all in. Although it was a Saturday we had much of it to ourselves.

Thank b-n-wm-n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2018

So much has changed over the many years back when we would bring our sons up to this beautiful area! It is still gorgeous! We shared the sweet memories, and laughed wondering if we really remembered or if we had created the way the memories were in both of our minds. We spent 3 days roaming around and enjoying the beauty of this area.

Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2018

Moose!! Saw a huge one before we had traveled 3 miles on the Byway. Awesome sight. He sauntered across the road in front of us, taking his time, allowing us ample time for photos. The mountains are beautiful, awesome, majestic. The mountain lakes are pristine. I believe the silence would be an unaccustomed delight for most, it sure was for me. My favorite spot was the Libby Lake stop. We sat there for a long time, just taking in the beauty and experiencing the quietness. We went back the second day and sat for another golden hour. Don't miss the trail to the miner's cabin at the Libby Lake stop. It is well worth the short walk.

Thank NSCRFN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2018 via mobile

If you are in the area, be sure to take a drive on this scenic byway & stop at the points of interest. The reflection of the mountains on the lake at the Sugarloaf campground area was fantastic. The elevation is 12,000 feet so be keep that in mind before you take off on a long hike unless you are used to the altitude. I hiked about a mile there & because of the altitude, it felt like 5 miles. It was worth it because was beautiful. What makes this place even better is that it isn’t overrun with tourists like Yellowstone. The little town of Centinniel is worth a stop also.

1  Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2018

Experience the Rocky Mountains via an hour paved but curvy drive over 'the range'; a summer experience only -it is closed in winter. Stretch your legs at any of several breathtakingly beautiful lakes.

Take a sober moment to ponder the ill-fated United flight 409 that crashed into Medicine Bow Peak just 20 ft below its peak of 12,009' in Oct 1955. It was our nation's worst civil aviation disaster at the time, killing all 66 people. From the tiny bits in the debris field it is supposed that the plane hit a down-draft just before impact. Engine parts may still remain in the mountain.

1  Thank bd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2018

Beautiful area with plentiful hiking, OVR riding and fishing opportunities in the summer and cross country skiing, downhill skiing, snow shoeing and snowmobiling in the winter. During our stay we saw deer, marmots, elk, bald eagles and lots of moose. The wildflowers were spectacular. The only negative is all the beetle kill and dead trees.

1  Thank JoyfulExcursionist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2018

I was not sure what to expect but I was not disappointed. Beautiful scenery and lots of hiking opportunities

Thank Darla W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2018

July was our first visit to the area, and we were so excited to see so much snow still on the peaks. The wildflowers were plentiful, the lakes impressive. We took a hike starting out at Brooklyn Lake with stops at East and West Glacier Lakes - so much scenery!

2  Thank Cindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2018 via mobile

Visiting in early July means wonderful mountain vistas and peaking wildflowers galore! We also look forward to a return trip in autumn for some amazing leaf peeping.

Thank 96Dreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews