We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good ....”
Review of Famous Dave's Barbeque - CLOSED

Famous Dave's Barbeque
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
CASPER
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good ....”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We went here to say we tried it, and we actually loved it and will be going back I'm sure. The food and the service were very good. The menu is much more expanded than I expected - something for everyone

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Subylvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    30
    13
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not up to Famous Dave's standard”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We have eaten at Famous Dave's else where and loved it. Arrived tonight at 5:30 to standing room only & a 45 minute wait. First observation was the revolving door - takes up space that could be used for additional seating for those waiting for a table. It was also used as entertainment by kids who did not seem to care that customers were trying to use it. We did get seated in about 45 minutes; server was very friendly and did a great job. Kitchen staff, however, needs improving. We ordered an appetizer but were told they just ran out. It was nearly 40 minutes from the time we ordered out meal until the food arrived. Our server was very apologetic explaining the kitchen was behind because "they got slammed". It's Saturday, what did they expect. The food was warm, not hot, and some was cold. Two managers also apologized and we were offered a free dessert. Thank you but again - your have been open for several months and should be prepared to be " slammed" on Saturday. Training at a successful location may be beneficial to learn how to improve this store.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BHntn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WY
Level Contributor
138 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great Service, Great BBQ”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We were looking forward to the opening of Famous Dave's in Casper, since we had eaten at so many across the country. Granted, we waited for a while after it opened, because we knew it would be crowded. But we went the other night at 4:30 on a Friday night. Got right in, the waitress was FABULOUS!!!, cheerful, knew her job and was helpful in helping us choose from the menu. We ended up ordering the Feast - which is enough food for 6 people - and gives you a taste of many of their options. My husband loved the ribs and brisket, I enjoyed the chicken, baked beans and muffins. Our friends liked everything!!! If you are going with a couple, or more, order the feast. It saves a few $$, and you can sample many of BBQ, so you will know what your favorite is for next time!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelinggrandmaWy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casper, Wyoming
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Order the ribs”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I asked our waiter what they were famous for and he did not hesitate: "Ribs." I've eaten ribs in several areas of the USA, and these are the best I've had outside of Texas. They use a rib rub, smoke them with hickory, and serve with a selection of sauces from sweet to hot. The ribs have a nice bark and a very good flavor. These are St. Louis cut pork ribs. We also tried the wings as an appetizer and a few slices of the brisket. The wings were differently spiced than I've had before, but they grew on me and I liked them. The brisket was a little dry but probably because I finished off the wings, then the ribs before cutting into the brisket. No room for desert but I have it on good authority that the bread pudding is to die for. Excellent service and decor; no mistaking you're in a BBQ place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mlbraley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
163 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Visited wrong day, wrong time”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We've used Famous Dave's in So California and Denver. Love their BBQ and specials so were looking forward to the opening of Casper in mid December 2012.
Circumstances prevented us from getting there till just after 9pm on 31st December. New Year's Eve and we were pointedly told on arrival that the doors would close at 10pm.

Well, guess that's life and a shame we were not told that when we phoned to try to make a reservation for 9.30 - instead we were told they do not do reservations.
OK we were shown to a table by a pleasant hostess but when we expressed a preference for a different table (due to her choice being close to some noisy children) it was to be told "we don't have a server for that area".

No problem we sat where directed.
Our server was perfectly pleasant in taking our order. It was a little off-putting when she pointed out "the feast" menu item as <warm and ready to just heat up so would be pretty quick>
Needless to say that went unordered by our group.
Drinks were served quickly and efficiently and the starter of nachos was there almost immediately.
And the main courses, all different, were there before we had finished eating the nachos.
No huge problem but hey.

Two of our party were little more than half way through their entree when our server placed the bill on the table. A few minutes later she reappeared to collect it.
It was then one of our party told her quite firmly that she seemed to be pressuring us to eat and leave.
Although she assured us this was not the case the restaurant was very much in the winding down state and very clearly the staff wanted to leave. Who knows they probably had places to go but the whole episode left an unpleasant taste.

When you go to a restaurant, eat and feel under pressure to leave all well within the hour this is not dining. It's fast food and you might as well go to Wendy's and save a load of $$.

There are plenty other places to eat in Casper and Famous Dave needs to ensure that his new staff either work happily and willingly or not at all - they're in the hospitality business after all and that involves working anti-social hours.

Disappointing and we will likely not return for a few months until they have smoothed out the wrinkles. That will be my recommendation to my friends who want to try it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David82605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing