We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Must-stay historic option in Buffalo”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Buffalo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Historic Occidental Hotel & Saloon and The Virginian Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 16, 2010

This historic hotel delivers on everything. Style, furnishings (even with displays of clothing etc. from the days of the Wild West), an old style saloon and an excellent restaurant. They have complete registration records so when they say Buffalo Bill, Calamity Jane, Butch and Sundance and others stay there, they can prove it. The reception area alone had us fascinated. The room decor was wonderful and it was a lot of fun experiencing the style of the old west with modern plumbing and services.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prattlecette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (443)
There are newer reviews for The Historic Occidental Hotel & Saloon and The Virginian Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

353 - 359 of 443 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2010

This is a fine hotel, with two great restaurants attached to it. Friendly service, comfortable rooms, and memorabilia which could keep you occupied for weeks. Wonderful place for a visit.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ramblingman49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

This place was awesome and we can't wait to go back again. The people were so nice and friendly. We had a blast!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boogaboo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

We are two ladies in our late sixties on a 6000 mile road trip just for the fun of it. We found the Occidental on line and decided to stay there. We got there on Thursday night and went to the Blue Grass Jam fest in the historic bar. Local talent perform and it was wonderful. They were better than many well known performers who earn millions. Everyone was so friendly. Both young and old people came and spoke with us at the jam fest.

The hotel was right out of the old west. It is something to climb the same stairs to your room that were climbed by Teddy Roosevelt, Butch Cassidy and others. The authentic Victorian furnishings in the rooms added just the right touch.

What we liked the least, We could not get a room with two beds. We have not had to sleep together since we were little girls, at least it was a king size bed.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rambler42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

We stayed several nights while on a western vacation. This place is like staying in a museum. We found everything to be wonderful. Each room is equipped with a working tube radio and the hotel broadcasts it's own period music 24 hours. Yes the floors squeak, yes there's working transoms over the doors, if you want a cookie cutter hotel just keep moving. To us this place was priceless.

If you're lucky enough to be there on Thursday night, go to the saloon that night for a blue grass jam. Make sure you're early as the place fills up quick. A real highlight of our stay. We had a ball and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snugdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

Remember, this hotel is over 100 years old. We had a great stay. We dropped off our bags at the front door and were instructed to park across the street. The restaurant was closed for the season (staff had gone back to college) so we ate in the bar and had a wonderful meal (try the B-B-Q ribs). Rooms are large and old, but clean and comfortable. Remember you are in Buffalo, Wyoming a great part of the old West. The staff was friendly and helpful. Enjoy a pice of history. There is no nightlife except the hotels bar.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DenverDenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

The hotel has a real romantic feel from the street and the lobby is fasinating. However, I'd like to warn you that it is noisey. The floors in the rooms are so creaky that one step on the floor will wake up your partner. Even worse, you can hear every word that other guests are saying as they walk down the hallway. The walls and doors are so paper thin (think 1900s) that, if you are at all a light sleeper, you won't be able to get a good nights rest. Even my husband, who is very easy going, was ready to leave first thing in the morning....we couldn't get out of there fast enough.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank retiredtraveller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
279.0 mi away
Buffalo Inn
Buffalo Inn
#2 of 17 in Buffalo
309 reviews
0.5 mi away
Z-Bar Motel
Z-Bar Motel
#6 of 17 in Buffalo
173 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#7 of 17 in Buffalo
292 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Buffalo
0.8 mi away
SureStay Plus Hotel Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Occidental Hotel & Saloon and The Virginian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Occidental Hotel & Saloon and The Virginian Restaurant

Address: 10 N Main St, Buffalo, WY 82834-1815
Location: United States > Wyoming > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
#7 Family Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range: $75 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1880 Historical Hotel, Saloon, Cafe and Western Dining Restaurant Living museum, outdoor green area along Clear Creek ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Historic Occidental Hotel And Saloon And The Virginian Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing