We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Buffalo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Historic Occidental Hotel & Saloon and The Virginian Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“NOT a good time!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2007

Well, after reading the other reviews I feel like we stayed at a parallel hotel as we had a completely different experience and it wasn’t a good one!

We were excited when we pulled up outside the Occidental, (my husband and me and our two teenage daughters) and were all looking forward to staying in something with more character than the motels we had stayed at the nights before. My husband came out beaming after he had been to the front desk saying how wonderfully authentic the lobby looked. However, that smile soon faded as we lugged our bags up the stairs (no lift – authentic you see!) and were then shown into the ‘Bordello Suite’. This consisted of three rooms and a bathroom. The place was filthy – you could write in the dust – honest! - and the floor needed a vacuum – bits of white stuff all over (we kept our shoes on). Even the toilet needed a wipe. We decided as we were only staying the one night just to deal with it and go and have dinner in the Virginian.

The Virginian was good, lovely waitress and very tasty steak.

After fortifying ourselves with some wine we returned to the rooms to play cards. When one got dropped on the floor, we discovered some dirty shorts under the bed. Further exploring also found a dirty towel under one of the other beds. After a pretty restless night, we left as early as possible the next morning. I noticed that my husband had, unusually, slept with his watch on. He told me he was worried that one of us would find bugs and wanted to be prepared to leave immediately!

As well, both the mantelpiece and the sink in the master bedroom were loose from the wall – dangerous to put anything on or lean on. In the end it has become something of a joke on the trip with the girls referring to it as the ‘Accidental’ and all of us saying that it hadn’t been cleaned since Butch Cassidy stayed there!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — dirty
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank pipslon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    100
    17
    13
    6
See reviews for
76
232
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2007

Buffalo is a cute small town in the shadow of the Big Horn mountains. The Occidental is in the "downtown" district. This is an historic hotel and does have significant amounts of charm. However, you get the feeling at times that "history" is an excuse for not keeping up with some needed renovations and for some slightly less than professional staff that always seemed to be missing in action. To get ice for your room, you need to go to the bar and hope the bartender can be found. To speak with someone at the front desk, you usually have to track them down. Some of the usual pet peeves such as insufficient reading light, and poor shower pressure applied. You can brush this off by saying it's an historic property, or they can add more lighting and put in better showerheads which wouldn't seem to offend historians. In short, plenty of character here, but also plenty overpriced.

  • Liked — Charm and history
  • Disliked — Aging infrastructure
  • Stayed August 2007
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AZtourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allerød
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2007

We stayed 1 night in this wonderful historic hotel. There were some problems with our booking, but all problems were solved by Dawn in a very kind and professional way. It was a very hot day and Dawn recommended the very large swimmingpool only 5 min. walk from the hotel - a very nice experience.
We were there a Sunday, where The virginian Restaurant is closed, so we were sent up to a beautiful place in the mountains, where we had a lovely dinner. Would definitely go back, if we come to this area again.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Hood, Texas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2007

I'm a fan of Teddy Roosevelt. Read some of his books, most of his recent bios. So, on a road trip from Texas to Calgary, I figured it'd be great to stay in the TR Suite at The Occidental Hotel in Buffalo WY. Well, it wasn't.
We got in after dark, delayed by an hellacious storm between Gillette and Buffalo. The hotel restaurant was just closing, but they wouldn't cough up a sandwich for us, nor room service either.
The desk clerk looked a little anorexic herself, and studiously ignored me while she kept nodding and murmuring "Uh-huh" to some Minnesota woman who nattered on about a wedding the next week. A simple "I'll be with you in a moment, sir," would've sufficed; after all, what else might I have been doing at that hour, standing in front of her desk and all?
There was no parking. We had to park across the street and drag our luggage over the asphalt to the hotel steps, up the front steps, and then up a long L-shaped staircase that was creaking like my lumbar-sacral spine by the time I reached the top. Then more creak-creak-creak down a long dark hallway to the room.
The only thing that distinguished the room from any other, I suppose, and thereby justified the exorbitant sum we paid to stay there, was a cheap framed copy of the same TR painting that graces the cover of Edmund Morris' THE RISE OF THEODORE ROOSEVELT; I've got the book at home, might've saved $171.20 if I'd stayed there and stared at it.
The bed sagged and chirpy voices of little children guests down the hall drifted over the transom all night.
Finally, the parting breakfast on the patio was bland, and like the rest of the place, cost more than it was worth.
An honest cowboy wouldn't be caught dead there.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BrooklynSheldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2007

What can I say. The other reviews will tell you, this is like stepping back to the 1800's and staying in a museum, but a very comfortable museum. Each of the suites and rooms are unique and redone with the original materials. The bathrooms, although having some of the original clawfoot tubs are updated.
If you are weary of siteseeing, just spend the afternoon in the lobby looking around and reading all the historical material that is there. Or wander over to the Saloon, also originally part of this hotel, or have a delightful dinner at the Virginian Restaurant.

This is the most wonderful, restful hotel I have ever stayed in and hope to go back someday so I can stay in a different suite--I would love to try them all.

  • Liked — Elegant, relaxed
  • Disliked — I liked everything
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sue1426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2007

Buffalo, WY: Historic Occidental Hotel: Full of character
If you like historic Inns, this is the place. You can imagine cowboys swinging through the doors. Small former rooms, have been converted to comfortable, spacious suites. There are many antiques and the original flavor is definitely restored. We stopped on the way out to Yellowstone. The proprietor is also very friendly and knowledgable about the area.

  • Liked — The character of the place and the down home, friendly atmosphere.
  • Disliked — It was a little pricey.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnyWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2007

Very well run hotel in small town Wyoming. Service was good and the accomodations were unique. Neat set-up with the saloon attached next door and the restaurant attached next door to the saloon. Stayed with four kids and they all thought the stay there was fun as well. Good place to stop on your way to Yellowstone/Tetons. Not sure if there is much else to do in Buffalo but, reasonable price for something a little different. Food at the Virginian was above average but expensive.

  • Liked — Old time look and feel
  • Disliked — Parking may be an issue during high season
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AvgFamTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
1.2 mi away
Buffalo Inn
Buffalo Inn
#2 of 17 in Buffalo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo
0.5 mi away
Z-Bar Motel
Z-Bar Motel
#6 of 17 in Buffalo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#5 of 17 in Buffalo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Buffalo WY
Days Inn Buffalo WY
#10 of 17 in Buffalo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 17 in Buffalo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Occidental Hotel & Saloon and The Virginian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Occidental Hotel & Saloon and The Virginian Restaurant

Property: The Historic Occidental Hotel & Saloon and The Virginian Restaurant
Address: 10 N Main St, Buffalo, WY 82834-1815
Location: United States > Wyoming > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
#7 Family Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1880 Historical Hotel, Saloon, Cafe and Western Dining Restaurant Living museum, outdoor green area along Clear Creek ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Historic Occidental Hotel And Saloon And The Virginian Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing