We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is it a Hotel or a Museum?”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Buffalo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Historic Occidental Hotel & Saloon and The Virginian Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2010

We booked for two nights at the Occidental and it was a very strange experience. The room was cluttered, one of the lamps was too dangerous to switch on and the basin was cracked. The whole place creaks, the floorboards, the bed. There were non guests wandering about all the time, rooms not let are left open for them to view! The restaurant was disappointing, we booked for 8pm but where told to come back in 20mins as they where running behind. The service was slow and chaotic, a lot a running about but nothing happening! They even started to vacuum before we finished our meal. When we discovered that the restaurant is closed on Sunday nights (Not that this is covered in their advertising) and after a very un-comfortable night we decided to cut our loses and move on rather than stay a further night. When we left the charming receptionist did have the good grace not to charge us for the second night, although come the think of it she was surprised we had booked for 2 nights! Finally when we asked about breakfast we were told that they were not serving that day due to a private party. Glad to get out!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OldWomanBitGrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (453)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

370 - 376 of 453 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2010

We are a very well-travelled mature couple living in the US. The Occidental is a genuinely fascinating hotel with real authenticity in structure, furnishings and memorabilia. However we were disappointed with the cleanliness of the room and the quality of the basics such as bedding, towels and bathroom facilities. Yes, it is important to retain as much of the original features as possible but that should not include worn-out sheets, threadbare towels, and cheap guest products etc. There is a lot of historic hype attached to this hotel and quite rightly so but I doubt many guests return for reasons of comfort or value for money. That said the staff were very pleasant and most welcoming, and the restaurant was good. Bottom line, you are sleeping in a museum, but what a shame that the experience is tainted for lack of`upkeep (good housekeeping staff), quality products and attention to detail. By the way, sadly Buffalo is on its knees as a town with few facilities available to the visitor, its saving grace is its proximity to the Bighorn National Forest and Yellowstone, and winter sports.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveller1157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

The Occidental Hotel is a great place to experience the Old West. This hotel is very authentic. The lobby and rooms are very large (including the bathroom) and charmingly decorated with antiques. The atmosphere and service was very nice at the Virginian Restaurant, but the food was a bit of a disappointment.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellover5717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

This is a very old historic place which would be better served as a museum than a hotel. Room quality: we stayed on the second floor suite with a king bed: the bed was very comfortable. The door goes to the top of a glass portion that is open that allows all the hall light and noise to filter into the room. The room is not darken at night and if you can sleep through the light filtering in the room from the hallway good luck. There is complimentary tea/coffee and animal crackers in a room off the main hallway: be foreworn everyone can place their hand in the universal cookie jar: yuck!! The room is over the the hotel lobby/bar/restaurant: very noisy. Parking is non-existent. A good review is an honest review and besides this place "being charming": you won't get a comfortable night's sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ontheroadagain33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

This place is worth a stop its historical perspective. The hotel was built in the 1800s and hosted all the famous names I.e. Buffalo bill, butch cassidy and many more. Rooms are still decorated as they were at that time. Really nice experience if you are ok with comfort as it was defined 100 years ago.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
Thank Cyrille-Revel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

We found this hotel through Tripadvisor. It has been lovingly restored and was so much fun! We rented the Boudoir Suite. It had three bedrooms and a bath, complete with an old fashion toilet that has a pull chain and a claw-footed tub. Service was great. Check out the bar, which is full of beautiful stained glass. A must stay if you are in Buffalo.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tarheelgirl1032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

We stayed for one night in the Clear Creek Suite on our way from Deadwood to Yellowstone and wished we could have stayed longer. We received a very warm welcome and even though we had to park across the street (it was a Thursday night), this was absolutely no problem at all and we were offered help with our luggage. The hotel is a delight and has been refurbished to a very high standard. What a good idea to leave unoccupied rooms open so that people can see. There is a myriad of memorabilia in the hotel, all of which is fascinating and you could literally spend many hours just looking at all these objects. We ate in the Virginian Restaurant and had probably the best meal on our trip - we particularly enjoyed the fish. The music in the bar just added to the wonderful atmosphere, and we couldn't hear it from our room. We loved the 1940's radio, original bath & basin, (and we also liked the air conditioning and the comfortable mattress). Although we live in England, we would go out of our way to stay here again and when we plan our next trip to the US, we will be sure to stay at the Occidental for more than 1 night - the Bighorn Mountains are beautiful - that is surely a good enough excuse!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank normacott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo
1.2 mi away
Buffalo Inn
Buffalo Inn
#3 of 16 in Buffalo
317 reviews
0.8 mi away
SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Buffalo
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Buffalo WY
Days Inn Buffalo WY
#11 of 16 in Buffalo
205 reviews
0.5 mi away
Z-Bar Motel
Z-Bar Motel
#6 of 16 in Buffalo
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Occidental Hotel & Saloon and The Virginian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Occidental Hotel & Saloon and The Virginian Restaurant

Address: 10 N Main St, Buffalo, WY 82834-1815
Location: United States > Wyoming > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
#6 Family Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range: $75 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1880 Historical Hotel, Saloon, Cafe and Western Dining Restaurant Living museum, outdoor green area along Clear Creek ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Historic Occidental Hotel And Saloon And The Virginian Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing