We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Buffalo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Historic Occidental Hotel & Saloon and The Virginian Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2009

Its old, its fascinating, it has great staff, it creaks a little (all part of the character) and I would stay there again in a heartbeat.
We had to stay somewhere on our way between South Dakota and Montana. By pure luck we picked the Occidental Hotel.
We were lucky and arrived on a Thursday when all the locals bring their guitars, banjos, violins, and voices, and have a really good blue grass/ country music evening. We were also there on Friday to see their resident singer Chris, who gave a great show.
Breakfast is taken at a great little diner across the road, and although we didn't eat in the Virginian Restaurant we did eat in the Bar on the Friday evening, and the food was good. The waitresses were friendly and efficient, and eye contact was enough to get another round of drinks, and even though we were two Brits surrounded by a roomful of locals we didn't have to wait for service, and the locals around us chatted to us and updated us on who was singing at any one time, etc.
Not only is the hotel great, but Buffalo itself is a great little town, very friendly, with a lovely air about it.
The rooms were in character with the age of the hotel, spotlessly clean. We even had an old style radio in the room.
Whilst I was in the lounge/reception area waiting to leave I heard somebody trying to get a weekend stay (they had visited before) and my advise to anyone who wants to stay here is to book early - its popular.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Englishlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (453)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

395 - 401 of 453 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2009

This was a highlight of our 3 week trip west. We arrived early, the staff was helpful and personable. They were full of suggestions and knowledgeable and seemed to take pride in their hotel. The rooms' doors are left open before arrival, and guests are encouraged to "tour" the rooms and suites. We wandered the halls, looking at the memorabilia, we sat in the lobby, had a beer in the saloon. The whole place is like a museum. I'm not an expert on antiques, I'm not sure if everything in the hotel was a true period piece, but it suited my wife and I just fine. We stayed in the "Hole in the Wall" room, it was comfortable (had a bathtub, which just seemed to lend to the whole experience of old-timeyness) and quiet - the creek alongside the room lulled us to sleep. Did not come for the wireless internet - but it worked quite well in the library (impressive) down the hall. Be sure you arrive here early so you can look around the place, poke your head in all the rooms, and just soak in the atmosphere. Last but not least, the price was cheaper than some of the chain motels up by the highway.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holley3618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2009

We stayed here on the way from Custer State Park to the east enterance to Yellowstone. The hotel, bar and restaurant actually exceeded the positive reviews. We truly felt as if we stepped back in time. We stayed in the 2 bedroom Butch Cassiday and Sundance Kid suite which is great for families. The beds were comfortable and the room had a working old fashion radio. We had great steaks at the restaurant and enjoyed drinks at the saloon beforehand where the bartender showed us the bullet holes in the ceiling and wall. Although I am not a big western movie or book fan, I read The Virginian based upon comments of an earlier reviewer and really recommend that you read this great book before your visit - the author lived at the hotel for a period of 3 years while writing the book. This place is a hidden gem and I hope I am able to return.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petemaravich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2009

The owners of this hotel truly love what they do, and it shows. We were greeted by one of them, who explained that her husband is the author of Zoo Books for kids. She proceeded to take the kids by hand and let them pick out books to take home. That set the tone.

The building itself has been beautifully restored. The lobby has walls full of old photos of the place and photos of famous people who have stayed there over the years. We felt like we were staying in a museum, but one where we were made to feel welcome at every turn. It was clean and quiet, and lots of extras were provided (like coffee/tea/cookies at all hours). We stayed in the Bordello Suite, and had a TON of room (3 queen size beds each in separate bedroom). They also have a library and free WiFi. Parking is on the street (not a problem, as there was plenty of parking right across the street).

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IowaMV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2009

Both historic and restful. Part hotel and museum. Rooms range from single bed and small TV with bathroom/shower across the hallway to plush suites/rooms. Great staff and restaurant. (The Buffalo steaks were tremendous!) They even have a library. Bar stays open as late as the crowd allows. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VetteDrivingFool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2009

the Occidental provides an excellent combination of historic interest but with a plush style and feel more in keeping with the current day - we stayed at the Teddy Roosevelt Suite, which was one of the most lovely suites we have ever stayed in, the staff are really pleasant, the owner goes out of her way to give visitors advice and to make sure they are feeling welcome. The bar is superb, with lots of live music, one bartender lady in particular worked like a trojan to ensure everyone was served as quickly as possible, the food is great in the restaurant too. No breakfast facility is provided but a butler's pantry is available to guests which is well stocked with drinks and cookies - we would make a detour to Buffalo to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cag65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2009

Stayed one night while traveling from Oregon to South Dakota. This is a 'must stay' for anyone who is into history. It's wonderful.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laberna1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo
1.2 mi away
Buffalo Inn
Buffalo Inn
#3 of 16 in Buffalo
317 reviews
0.8 mi away
SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Buffalo
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Buffalo WY
Days Inn Buffalo WY
#11 of 16 in Buffalo
205 reviews
0.5 mi away
Z-Bar Motel
Z-Bar Motel
#6 of 16 in Buffalo
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Occidental Hotel & Saloon and The Virginian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Occidental Hotel & Saloon and The Virginian Restaurant

Address: 10 N Main St, Buffalo, WY 82834-1815
Location: United States > Wyoming > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
#6 Family Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range: $75 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1880 Historical Hotel, Saloon, Cafe and Western Dining Restaurant Living museum, outdoor green area along Clear Creek ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Historic Occidental Hotel And Saloon And The Virginian Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing