We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Historic Occidental Hotel & Saloon and The Virginian Restaurant
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Buffalo
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Z-Bar Motel(Buffalo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodeway Inn(Buffalo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Buffalo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (459)
Filter reviews
459 results
Traveler rating
305
115
19
14
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
305
115
19
14
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsteddy rooseveltold westbusy beestep back in timethursday nightbutch cassidybuffalo billthe ownerantique furniturehole in the wallliving museumblue grassherbert hooverclear creekfloors creakclaw foot tubsundance kid
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
209 - 214 of 459 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Other reviews were a bit mixed so we decided only to stay one night instead of the two originally planned. We should have stayed the two nights. This hotel is absolutely fantastic. We stayed in the clear creek suite at the back, which was a lovely big room full of antique furniture and full of character. The saloon is world class - we have been in bars, pubs and saloons around the world and this one is in the top ten. The bartender was friendly, the locals were great and the atmosphere was great. The room itself is just amazing. The restaurant was equally fabulous, but as it was a Sunday night, it was closed and we had to eat in the cafe. We would have loved to have tried the restaurant, for the atmosphere and decor alone... One point of advice, if you are staying on a night when the restaurant is closed, do eat in the saloon. It is much nicer and has more atmosphere than the cafe. (The only downside we found is that the cafe service is poor and the food not so good - which applied to both dinner and breakfast. The cafe isn't to the standard of the rest of the hotel.)
For anyone from Europe, who likes something historic with class, this place is an absolute must.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

The Occidental is one of the more historic hotels in the West. It's right on the main street of Buffalo, next to a pretty creek. During the day the hotel also serves as a museum, as there are several historic displays. We had one issue---front desk staff were not particularly friendly. When we checked in, they were not that welcoming, and twisted my arm to pay with VISA instead of Amex. When I checked out, the tall gentleman (perhaps the owner, never introduced himself) was brusque and had no thank you or anything, just gave me the receipt without a comment. Because of this issue, I would have given them a 3 rating, but the restaurant and bar staff were fine, and it's worth a few hassles to be part of the history here.

Our Cottonwood Suite was large and generally well furnished, with two separate sinks and antique furniture. The bathroom had a neat cedar bathtub. When you stay in a historic spot like this one, you're not going to have all the luxuries of a new, contemporary hotel, but the room was comfortable. One plus was that the room had good lighting, often not the case in historic properties. The rooms are on the second floor, and be advised that there is a long climb up from the first floor. The room rate is about what you expect given the historical setting. We found the service and food in their restaurant, The Virginian, to be very good. There is also a very large bar next to the lobby which has comfort food, good drinks, and a band on the night we were there. Although we would have liked to see friendlier staff at the hotel, it's well worth staying here to be a part of history (and you might see a ghost!).

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lchjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We could just duplicate the review of KrmiNetherlands. We stayed in the Owen Wister also - yes, the floors are uneven and creaky, but great (you can hear the ghost coming !) Met some really nice locals in the pub. All in all a fun evening.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ja45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

My husband and I stayed in this hotel on our tour trough SD an WY. Don't miss this opportunity to step back in time if you're ever within 50 miles of Buffalo! The welcome from the staff is genuine, warm and helpful. The building itself is a wonderful old building and all the rooms are furnished with period pieces. Our suite (Owen Wister) was large, comfortable and clean but do remember that this is an old building and the stairs do creak and sounds do carry. We had a lot of fun with looking at all the old photos and exhibits around the hotel. We had a great evening In the saloon with live music and good food. Don't forget your camera!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank KrmiNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

If you love antiques....this is your place to stay. My husband & I arrived late and the staff(owner) was so very gracious. Our room was clean, comfortable and so welcoming. We had a small porch beside the creek where we had coffee the next morning. The entire staff was nothing but gracious, answering every question, delightfully showing us around the hotel and restaurant . Antique pictures, clothing, furniture,quilts everywhere you looked. I would definitely recommend it to any of my friends coming through Buffalo Wy.
I only wish we had arrived in time to eat at the restaurant. It was lovely

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank MarieS244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews