We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Buffalo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Historic Occidental Hotel & Saloon and The Virginian Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Syracuse, NY
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here because of where it came up on our trip and the reviews. We stayed in the Cloud Peak room and it was just like the pics but more so. After many very cool days on out trip this day was lovely so sitting on the deck was sheer delight. The main restaurant was closed (Monday night) we ate at the bar and had somewhat dry hamburgers. The atmosphere though was perfect-quite western. My husband went on a bike ride and liked the trails while I hit the quilt shop.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PetuniaPig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    109
    19
    14
    6
See reviews for
85
244
20
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
La Quinta
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

First this is a old historic hotel... From the time we walked through the front doors we were greeted by very friendly staff. Love the lobby with all the antiques and photos on all the walls. Upstairs there is lots of old vintage items from the era. And if the room isn't booked the doors are open so you can look in. They all are different. We stayed in the Hemingway room downstairs which had a small deck attached to it. Enjoyed watching the creek run by and the plastic chairs ;) Room had a coffee pot and a flat screen tv, internet is strong in building. Bathroom is small but modern and clean with soft new towels. Bed was queen and comfortable wish they had better pillows. The bar is beautiful and has a good selection of liqueurs, bartender was friendly. We ate at the Virginian not very busy that night were seated in a private table in a window. We had the chef choice meal for 2 very good lamb shank ribeye was good but a bit charred tasting. Very good service an enjoyable evening. For breakfast ate at the Busy Bee loved the back bar and service was very good. Would go back and stay in another room to experience a different space. Would recommend to anyone going to buffalo.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wskigrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Maries, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

The Occidental Hotel is one of my favorites out of all the historic hotels we have stayed at. Our room was the Hole in the Wall- referring to Butch Cassidy and his Gang. The room as well as the whole hotel had great antique furnishings- our room had a "water closet" with a great small claw foot tub - the walls of the hotel had photos and stories from the past- the winter rates were great!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theraglady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We hosted friends from Brazil and decided to stay at the Historic Occidental on Thursday evening when the local Jam Fest is held is the saloon. It was a perfectly delightful experience. The rooms provided a trip back in time experience, the dinner in the Virginian was delicious and the jam fest was a highlight. What a perfect way to provide our guests with a taste of the local culture and talent. Service couldn't have been better. Angela at the front desk took care of every detail. How lucky the Occidental is to have her service. The entire experience was terrific. I highly recommend the Occidental, especially on a Thursday evening when you can enjoy the entertainment in the Saloon.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hagonanag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We had business in Wyoming so thought we would check out the Occidental. So much history here it is like sleeping in a museum. Very cozy, casual and friendly. Sundays the restaurant is closed so we ate in the saloon. Wonderful people, friendly but will leave you alone if that is what you want. Front desk staff was more than accommodating. We really enjoyed the stay. Ate breakfast next door at the Busy Bee. Food was fantastic. All in all we cannot wait to come back!

Room Tip: They do not have a pool or a fitness center. They allow dogs, we brought ours and they recommended...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emelie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

I give this hotel an excellent rating for what it is: a quaint, well-cared-for piece of western history. The rooms are cozy and authentic, the staff wonderfully friendly. The food? For the middle nowhere in a small, non-touristy town, it's pretty good. And every Thursday night the local talent (real ranchers with musical instruments) gets together to play bluegrass in the saloon. This isn't the Ritz in New York. Don't expect that. Expect the opportunity to spend a night in history, and enjoy it. There are few places like this left, anywhere. And co-proprietor, David Stewart is a gem in this western town. His music will make YOU sing!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

The Occidental and Buffalo have become an annual family tradition. We love the historical charm, the comfortable beds, the saloon, and Dawn is a gracious host. The library is filled with treasures for members of the entire family to explore and the mix of room arrangements are great for families, groups, our couples. Don't expect big screen televisions and micro fridges in the rooms, instead you can enjoy coffee, hot chocolate, and animal crackers from the butler's pantry; antique radios with vintage music, original furnishings, and an opportunity to step back in time. Buffalo offers marvelous art galleries, museums, shopping, and dining options just a few steps away. The Big Horns are a short drive. Don't forget to ask Dawn and the staff about the resident ghosts - you may just encounter one of them during your stay! We can't wait to return again this year!

Room Tip: We have stayed in several rooms - the Owen Wister is spacious and charming. It has a very comfy quee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieSmoragiewicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
1.2 mi away
Buffalo Inn
Buffalo Inn
#2 of 17 in Buffalo
296 reviews
0.5 mi away
Z-Bar Motel
Z-Bar Motel
#5 of 17 in Buffalo
168 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Buffalo WY
Days Inn Buffalo WY
#10 of 17 in Buffalo
191 reviews
0.8 mi away
SureStay Plus Hotel Buffalo
0.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#7 of 17 in Buffalo
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Occidental Hotel & Saloon and The Virginian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Occidental Hotel & Saloon and The Virginian Restaurant

Property: The Historic Occidental Hotel & Saloon and The Virginian Restaurant
Address: 10 N Main St, Buffalo, WY 82834-1815
Location: United States > Wyoming > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
#7 Family Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1880 Historical Hotel, Saloon, Cafe and Western Dining Restaurant Living museum, outdoor green area along Clear Creek ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Historic Occidental Hotel And Saloon And The Virginian Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing