We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Buffalo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Historic Occidental Hotel & Saloon and The Virginian Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2013

A truly amazing place .. it seemed we had stepped into a time machine. Everything has been restored to original and you expect at any moment to see an old cowboy covered in trail dust walk into the room. From the phone call for reservations, to check-in, to bumping into her on the street, to literally bumping into her in the bar, Dawn (the owner) was most friendly and helpful. We had the 40's apartment in the back and had a small yard for our dogs. Be sure to check out the bullet holes in the bar area.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pogonip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (453)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 453 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2013

Last month for our 5th anniversary we decided to spend the night at the Occidental. What a wonderful old hotel this is. From authentic period furnishings it's hard to imagine comfortable accomodations, but the Occidental seems to have found a way to do that. We had a great pillowtop king size bed, a very large bath room, and an old time radio that actually worked. The old floors creaked, which we loved, it seemed to bring that old time flavor to everything. The lobby was appropriately decorated beautifully for Christmas. We were able to pick the room we wanted. We chose the Clear Creek Suite. Each room is different and all are charming. Makes you want to come back again and stay in a different one. You can feel the history and imagine the famous visitors from a past era walking the old halls. In spite of its age, the whole place is very clean. Plenty of charm from the owner, Dawn. She is half the reason we go. She always offers a unique historical story about the place. You can see she loves it as much as anyone that visits. I guess that's why it's such a wonderful experience. I can't say enough good about the owner.

We often eat in the Virginian, which I would rate a 4 or 5 star, from the quality of the food and wine to the quality of the wait staff. Gabbie is especially good. We seem to sit in her section each time we are there but I know the other staff are equally good. We travel often and eat in fine restaurants alot and the Virginian can hold up to any of them. Try the sauted scallops, best I have ever eaten. The whole experience was wonderful. We ate in the Busy Bee Cafe next door for breakfast. It is equally charming with very good eats, from omelets to buffalo burgers. Yum!!!
If you are looking for a unique experience try the Occidental. It's not a cookie cutter hotel, no big chain name to rely on no swimming pool or fitness room, but the charm of Buffalo and the Occidental will stay with you for a very long time, you will leave wanting to come back for more.

Room Tip: All rooms are unique and charming. All have good beds, good baths and wonderful furnishings. We wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wysnowbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is an amazing place. The hotel is truly a piece of the Old West. It is one of the most authentic historic hotels we've ever seen. Everyone was very hospitable. Dawn (the owner) was extremely friendly and informative. The Virginian was closed the night we were there so we ate in the bar and it was very good. Great old bar-we loved it!! Our favorite part, though, is the library. It is full of wonderful old books and artifacts. We could have spent all afternoon there and, in fact, when we go back (which we certainly will!) we may. All in all a real find and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: All of the rooms looked great-there are a couple that share a bathroom so may want to make sure to c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We have heard from friends that this was THE PLACE to stay on the way to or from Sturgis...WOW...Great place to spend a relaxing night before getting to Sturgis...only 180 miles or so... We have already booked next years room (2013) and this time we will be there Sat night so we get to try the steakhouse!! I am already looking forward to the ride and friends just booked the last room that night so 2 from our party need to stay somewhere else :( ....I told them all to book quickly...they fill up fast

Room Tip: Look online and see what each room looks like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We had the great good fortune to stay at this hotel and it is the most interesting place I have ever stayed in. Our room was the "clear creek" room one of the museum rooms. The hotel is filled with original antiques from the old west and takes a while to see it all. Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you can get the "clear creek" room or any of the museum room you will not be sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were tired from the drive from Indiana to Yellowstone and over nighted here due to the trip advisor reviews. What a great find - good food from the saloon, great room and a fascinating hotel. Our interactions with one of the owners and the desk manager made us feel very welcomed and comfortable. Buffalo is a quaint, western town. Perfect for what we needed. Highly recommend the Occidental and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bowmanca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Highly recommend this hotel in your lifetime.

The Occidental Hotel Buffalo, Wyoming

Interior Decor: Classic western style - historically preserved to the best to earn the National Register of Historic Places honor. Excellent!
Exterior Appearance: Brick hotel building beautifully preserved from 100 years ago.
Outside view from the room: Clear Creek in the city - commendable
Room size; Approximately 40 suare meters. Adequate.
Price value: Excellent - off season rate
Service: Excellent. Great personal attention of the hotel staffs. They let me play piano in the lobby!
Bed: Soft - King Size.

Room Tip: Try any of the suites for comfort, antiques and well care.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank setotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo
1.2 mi away
Buffalo Inn
Buffalo Inn
#3 of 17 in Buffalo
316 reviews
0.5 mi away
Z-Bar Motel
Z-Bar Motel
#6 of 17 in Buffalo
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Buffalo
0.8 mi away
SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Buffalo
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Buffalo WY
Days Inn Buffalo WY
#12 of 17 in Buffalo
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Occidental Hotel & Saloon and The Virginian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Occidental Hotel & Saloon and The Virginian Restaurant

Address: 10 N Main St, Buffalo, WY 82834-1815
Location: United States > Wyoming > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
#7 Family Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range: $75 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1880 Historical Hotel, Saloon, Cafe and Western Dining Restaurant Living museum, outdoor green area along Clear Creek ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Historic Occidental Hotel And Saloon And The Virginian Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing